We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint, Beautiful and delicious! Your own little paradise!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Inn on Putney Road Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Brattleboro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 18, 2008

Forty Putney Road B&B was just exceptional. My companion and I were returning to Brattleboro to attend our 25th college reunion for the School for International Training in early August 2008. We were referred to the Inn by a classmate and booked our room. When we arrived, we were pleasantly surprised at how warm and classy the Inn was and how much restoration detail the Innkeepers had accomplished in the short time they have been managing the Inn. Tim's attention to interior design, beautiful colors and room decor as well as little details from the china with chocolates on the night stands to the light jazz playing in our room when we arrived were all wonderful.

Tim and Amy were absolutely terrific, always attentive and focused on our needs. Amy is a fabulous cook both at breakfast and appetizers in their quaint little pub where one can enjoy a range of micro brews that are hand selected by Tim. This couple is delightful and warm as well as clearly proud of what they have built together--a lovely bed and breakfast that we will now make our home away from home when visiting our friends in Brattleboro.

We highly recommend this Inn for folks who want to get away to a lovely, clean, and well run Inn by a couple who really cares about their guests.

Marialane and Ella

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank WIPBrattleboro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (515)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

467 - 473 of 515 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2008

We had a perfectly wonderful experience at Forty Putney Bed and Breakfast. Tim and Amy offered a warm welcome and beautiful accommodations. Everything was spotless, comfortable, and relaxing. Amy's home cooked breakfasts are magnificent and her willingness to make special provision for our son's nut allergy and aversion to eggs with equally delicious alternatives was amazing and so appreciated. We have family in the area so we will be returning many times. We highly recommend Forty Putney B+B to folks who are looking for a lovely Vermont experience.

Stayed: August 2008
Thank EMEOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2008

Tim and Amy were the best host! Especially with the catering towards picky vegan eaters. The breakfast was most delicious!

The location of Forty Putney was also very closed to a lot of interesting things to do where you don't really require a car. We rode our bikes to the Farmers Market (the best!!) and walk into town for dinner or movie.

Tim gave us loads of tips on where to go to entertain ourselves. Biking, walking, galleries, eating... The waterhole nearby was to die for!

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank missmei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2008

The only thing that could have made our stay with Tim and Amy better is more time. Their B&B is beautiful inside and out. We took the trail down to the lake, which was an easy walk, even after the rain soaked the leaves and rocks. Our room was amazing. We stayed in three other B&B's on our trip, and this one by far was great. The little pub, the way Amy remembered how picky of an eater I was and served me the most delicious dish in the morning, the conversation and the entire property made it the most amazing experience.

Even my boyfriend, who has always said he would never live outside of Texas, blurted out that he could live in a place like this B&B. He even called his father and told him that he needed to bring his mom up to stay at Fort Putney Road B&B because it was that amazing.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Becky A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2008

What a fabulous bed and breakfast! Snacks and sodas stocked the fridge, excellent recommendations for dinner in town and a library of books and movies on hand for settling in late at night. While we didn't take advantage of the bar downstairs, Amy and Gary offered an excellent wine and beer list with value and splurge items alike, a fantastic pool table and den with a fireplace. We can't wait to go back when it's cold outside so we can take full advantage of the den.

Breakfast was incredible, local yogurt, granola and homemade applesauce, followed by the most incredible egg soufflé! We got to choose from blueberry juice or fresh OJ and of course excellent coffee. The grounds were delightful, and packed with local history.

The inn itself having been built for a member of the Ripley family of 'Ripley's believe it or not' was amazing, just the details alone of the French country style it was built on were stunning. We can't wait to see you again!

Thanks for a great stay,
Michael & Michele

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank wineshopchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2008

My husband and I don't really care for Victorian Bed and Breakfasts so it was quite a challenge to find one that fit our style. After searching through approximately 100 B&B's in Vermont I immediately knew that Forty Putney Road was exactly what we wanted in our stay. Upon our arrival, to our surprise, Tim upgraded us to a Suite since another couple staying there decided to stay another day. The suite was extremely luxurious with a leather recliner couch, flat screen t.v., mini fridge stocked with water and snacks and when we walked in the room there was music playing in the background. The linens were of the highest quality and in the beautifully decorated Art Deco washroom there were robes and luxury soaps.

Tim and Amy even have a special drawer where there are extra toiletries for guests to use so they don't have to go out in the town to buy them.

There is a sunny porch with Internet access and was a great place to just kick back and read. I could have stayed in that porch all day long.

In the evening, my husband and I went to the Pub for a beer and had a great conversation with Tim and heard about how he and Amy decided to buy the property. Since my husband is an architect and loves Bungalows I think he would have kept Tim there all night long.

The next morning we had a wonderful breakfast in the formal dining room with three other couples. Amy started the morning out with yogurt parfaits that included her grandmother's homemade applesauce. My husband doesn't like eggs and Amy went out of her way to make him French Toast. We were asked before our stay if we had any food preferences also.

We have stayed at a number of Bed & Breakfast establishments over the years and I have to say that the Forty Putney Road was the most effecient and comfortable B&B of them all. I would recommend it to anyone who is traveling through Brattleboro.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank BungalowFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2008

The only thing more charming than this B&B is the innkeeper team of Tim and Amy. From breakfast on the rear porch to billiards in the sitting room to guest rooms that seamlessly combine the allure of original bathroom fixtures with the modern convenience of flat-screen TVs and DVD players, Forty Putney has it all. The in-house pub is a must; get Tim to give you an orientation to Belgian beers and the best micro-brews that Vermont has to offer.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank PHLguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brattleboro
0.7 mi away
Latchis Hotel
Latchis Hotel
#3 of 10 in Brattleboro
358 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
#2 of 10 in Brattleboro
612 reviews
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Brattleboro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Chesterfield Inn
Chesterfield Inn
#1 of 2 in West Chesterfield
315 reviews
1.2 mi away
Colonial Motel & Spa
Colonial Motel & Spa
#4 of 10 in Brattleboro
309 reviews
1.0 mi away
1868 Crosby House
1868 Crosby House
#2 of 4 in Brattleboro
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on Putney Road Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on Putney Road Bed and Breakfast

Address: 192 Putney Rd, Brattleboro, VT 05301-6010 (Formerly Forty Putney Road Bed and Breakfast)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Brattleboro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Brattleboro
Price Range: $189 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn on Putney Road Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walk to lively downtown Brattleboro from this comfortably elegant 6 room waterside B&B. Enjoy a complimentary 2 or 3 course gourmet breakfast each morning made fresh with local ingredients. Hiking trails on property and close to all southeastern Vermont educational campuses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Inn on Putney Road Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forty Putney Road b&b
40 Putney Road Bed And Breakfast
Forty Putney Road Hotel Brattleboro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing