We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B / Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Inn on Putney Road Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Brattleboro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B / Inn”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We arrived a little late in the evening and had a bit of difficulty seeing the entrance to this lovely spot. But once in, and warmly welcomed by Rhonda, a wonderful weekend began. We stayed in the coach house and were delighted with the room and all the amenities. Clearly someone put a lot of thought to ensure that all needs had been considered. Six others from our extended family also stayed at this Inn as we had all come to Vermont to attend a wedding nearby. We really appreciated having the in-house pub and the very attractive spacious living room - we made great use of both as we caught up on news.
Others have already commented on the gourmet breakfasts ( brunches!) but truly they are deliciously impressive and served with elegance. My husband and I will definitely look for another opportunity to stay here. In fact, I want to see that fabulous Japanese maple in full summer.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    463
    29
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
38
374
18
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wallingford, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

We have stayed at Forty Putney Road twice this year, once in the Summer and again in the Fall. This residence is clean and very homey. Innkeeper, Rhonda is very welcoming and serves a killer breakfast, We had a great time in the Tavern right on the first floor,there are some great beers and vine available at very modest prices. We shot a few games of pool and did a splash in the huge hot tube. Its within walking distance of the many downtown Brattleboro restaurants. Rhonda, we weill be back.

Ed and Kate
Wallingford CT

Room Tip: Each room has its own special charm, we have stayed in both the carriage house and the main house, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Loved it! The inn was comfortable, nicely decorated, and had all the amenities. We stayed in the Ripley Suite. The bed was very comfortable, the sheets luxurious. The innkeeper was the perfect combination of welcoming, informative, and personable without being intrusive. The food was imaginative, well prepared, and delicious. The walking trails adjoining the property were just right for a stroll to the Grafton Cheese Factory without having to take the car. Centrally located for easy access to highway, restaurants, and shopping. Make sure to try the hot tub! We will visit again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neenee2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

This is a stunning boutique B&B, with exquisite rooms and fantastic service - including a gourmet breakfast. I was only in Brattleboro for one night and while it's not the biggest town, I certainly felt like I should stay a little longer to enjoy the scenery and hospitality. It's no cheap B&B, but it's not marketed as such. It's a special retreat with a great host in Rhonda and her team.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Our room (the Maple Room) was utterly charming, clean, and well-stocked with everything from snacks to toothbrushes! The breakfasts were an absolute treat: always two courses, and Rhonda, the innkeeper, is certainly one of the more creative and enthusiastic cooks I've encountered in a B&B.

The common areas were homey but not frilly, and the pub (open late afternoon to early evening) is welcoming; a great place for wine or beer, and for chatting with fellow guests. A variety of coffees and teas are always available, plus there's a pool table and, in its own little building, a hot tub room (our trip was too quick to try this out, but it looked nice and clean). Rhonda was always available to attend to our needs, and she and her small staff were welcoming and helpful to everybody there, in our experience.

My partner and I had had a civil union ceremony elsewhere in Vermont ten years ago (we're from PA), but we chose Brattleboro as the place to finally become husbands. Rhonda was so gracious in allowing the two of us to have our wedding ceremony on the lovely grounds of the B&B, by the gazebo, on what turned out to be a surprisingly warm November day. Her recommendations for local dining (in this very walkable town) all turned out great for our two-day stay, which made it all the more special.

We could not have been more pleased with our experience here!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 649 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Forty Putney Road is a first class Inn that is elegant, comfortable, and very well run. We were in Brattleboro for a few days on business and just didn't want to stay in a hotel when there were nice B&B's in the area. I had never stayed in a B&B before thinking that they don't have some of the amenities that business travelers need. However, Forty Putney Road does have it all. In our work, we get up early and get home late - and the work is intense. It was an amazing experience to come home in the evening to Forty Putney Road into a place with a roaring fire, comfortable bed, deep tub, plush towels, great WiFi, work desk, comfortable reading chairs, great bar with draught beer, quiet reading room, and much more. Rhonda, one of the innkeepers, was so willing to get up before us and make breakfast for us, and it took a day or two to convince her that we really were okay getting out to work by 6:30 and not requiring breakfast. It was rough leaving Forty Putney Road. We were so pampered there. It is a beautiful and comfortable place for pleasure or business trips. It is going to be hard getting back to sterile, generic hotel rooms now. I really love Forty Putney Road, I think you will too.

Room Tip: The Ripley Suite is supposedly the suite with the most space, but I stayed in the Maple Room and :LO...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rwaites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We stayed at Forty Putney Road for two nights in mid-November and wish we could have stayed longer!

We were warmly greeted by Rhonda, who took us for a short intro tour of her house, first ensuring she poured us a drink from the fully stocked bar, which is open of an evening (and you can purchase bottles of wine to take back to your room if you'd like to drink later in the evening).

Our room (the Mountainveiw Room) was so very comfortable, it is clear that Rhonda has put a lot of work into the B&B since she took it over (about a year ago I think). All the rooms were tastefully decorated, each in a different style, are very spacious and are spotlessly clean. The overstuffed chair in the Mountainview room is extremely comfortable and just right for curling up with a book and a nice glass of red wine.

Rhonda provides excellent facilities at Forty Putney Road, which I think place it over and above most B&Bs - a great DVD selection, pool table, bar, complimentary bathroom products, snacks at any time and hot tub!

And that's not even touching on the breakfasts Rhonda cooks! Something different every day, inventive, and substantial but not too filling. Rhonda was happy to cater for a vegetarian diet. Highlights were blueberry pancakes, apples with peanut butter (sounded weird to me but I went with it and wasn't disappointed!), an asparagus and artichoke souffle, fruit - all fresh and locally sourced.

Rhonda helped us out with some hiking trails nearby which we loved, and with local restaurant and pub recommendations (which we also loved). All in all, I was left with the impression that nothing was too much trouble. I honestly couldn't think of a single thing I would change to improve our stay at Forty Putney Road.

Thanks again Rhonda.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brattleboro
0.7 mi away
Latchis Hotel
Latchis Hotel
#3 of 10 in Brattleboro
345 reviews
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Brattleboro
1.2 mi away
Colonial Motel & Spa
Colonial Motel & Spa
#4 of 10 in Brattleboro
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
#1 of 10 in Brattleboro
571 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
1.6 mi away
Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel...
#2 of 2 in West Chesterfield
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on Putney Road Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on Putney Road Bed and Breakfast

Property: Inn on Putney Road Bed and Breakfast
Address: 192 Putney Rd, Brattleboro, VT 05301-6010 (Formerly Forty Putney Road Bed and Breakfast)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Brattleboro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Brattleboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn on Putney Road Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walk to lively downtown Brattleboro from this comfortably elegant 6 room waterside B&B. Enjoy a complimentary 2 or 3 course gourmet breakfast each morning made fresh with local ingredients. Hiking trails on property and close to all southeastern Vermont educational campuses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Inn on Putney Road Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forty Putney Road b&b
40 Putney Road Bed And Breakfast
Forty Putney Road Hotel Brattleboro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing