We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful B&B with all the amenities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Inn on Putney Road Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Brattleboro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Beautiful B&B with all the amenities”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

I wife and I stayed at the fort putney road B&B last night. The house is beautiful and the owner Rhonda very gracious. The room was clean and large And very comfortable. The bathroom was immaculate. The grounds were beautiful and the pool table and hot tub a plus. We left early and skip breakfast although it looked delicious. There was a very cute pub for guests. We would not hesitate to return

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanielJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FortyPutneyRoad, Owner at Inn on Putney Road Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Next time you're staying for breakfast! Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    460
    29
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
38
372
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

The Forty Putney Road B&B was situation on a lovely piece of property, even though directly on a very busy road. The Innkeeper was extremely helpful and very welcoming. The feedback I provided her included allowing guests to check in at 3pm instead of 4pm (which is kind of late) and offer breakfast a little earlier than 8am. Although she requested the feedback I've not heard back.

As for the town, it's a little odd. Certainly is busy for such a small piece of real estate and as it hosts a large drug rehab centre it makes for a diverse and colourful community. Not sure I'll go back but was a beautiful area, just not a lot to do.

Room Tip: We stayed in the "hummingbird room" which is part of the carriage house...felt nice and in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ketchwave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FortyPutneyRoad, Owner at Inn on Putney Road Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thanks so much for your comments. The few hours between check outs and check ins are critical for us to prepare the inn from breakfast service, run errands, complete housekeeping, paperwork, and laundry. We always tell those that arrive before 4:00 p.m. that they are more than welcome to park their car in our driveway and explore Brattleboro. As for breakfast service, we are always happy to try to accommodate those early risers upon request. Hope you will visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Our stay at 40 puttney Road was arguably one of our bests B&B experiences ever. The property is absolutely gorgeous. It is nestled on a quite section of Putney road with a backyard that is only steps away from hiking trails and the lake. The landscaping is absolutely gorgeous with plenty of lounge chairs to soak up the afternoon sun. The interior of the inn is also exquisite. The common living room is lined with antique furniture and has a state of the art pool table, piano and fireplace. The room is so welcoming that you just want to kick back with a beer and read your favorite book. Speaking of Beer, the Inn has a small pub with local brews on tap (and it’s reasonably priced). They also have a very decent wine selection at the Inn. We stayed at the Rippley room which was a mixture of old school charm with modern ameneties. The bed was amazing with plenty of pillows. I don’t know what the sheets were made off but it felt very silky and pleasant to the skin. The room also had a “living room” and a fridge stocked with complimentary sodas as well as a few complimentary snacks. So basically the Inn is an amazing experience in and of itself but it’s the innkeeper that brings it all together. It felt that she really wanted to make our stay more than amazing. It really mattered to her that our expectations were surpassed at every turn. She gave us a tour of the Inn, spent at least thirty minutes discussing local restaurants with us and then made reservations for us at the restaurant of our choice. Who does that anymore? It was such a welcome surprise to have someone really take an interest in not just your stay, but in your vacation. So I am saving the best part for last: Breakfast. It was truly a breathtaking experience. I thought I have tasted everything there is too taste. I love food, I love cooking, and I love dinning. I try everything from hole in the wall places to Michelin rated joints. I thought I could not be surprised with food anymore. I was dead wrong. The breakfast was to die for. Fresh squeezed blueberry juice, crepes that are made just right, French toast with a mixture of banana and strawberry stuffing. I cannot do it justice by describing it. It has to be experienced. It is that good. I dare you to come up with a better breakfast. My only regret is that our stay was short… wish there was a bonus night included ☺

Room Tip: Go for the rippley room if you can. Also try the beer/wine selection available at the pub. There is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FortyPutneyRoad, Owner at Inn on Putney Road Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments. I loved your both being able to relax a bit! You have truly made my day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Dave and I came here as part of our honeymoon in 2007.. and couldn't have faulted this lovely business.. We had the little coach room adjacent to the main house to ourselves.. Newly renovated and absolutely charming.. As a new business, the upstairs rooms in the main house were still not finished, but the little pub, lounge and snooker table, breakfasting room and gardens with summer house were all impeccable.. the smell of the pancakes in the morning, and coffee provided on tap..

We came back here for our 5th anniversary last year.. and stayed this time in the main house.. what a treat.. even better!!

The lovely maple tree still standing and the garden running down to the Connecticut River.. Only this time as a Scot in a strange place, with my American husband... running 24 hours ahead of Hurricane Sandy..

Into Newark, and CT .. only to realise our holiday would be running ahead of the storm.. this place gave us a haven.. as the Mass Pike and the other New England states highways closed and battened down..

We crossed into VT with a half hour to spare.. shops, banks, atms, stores and petrol stations shutting down and losing power behind us -to find the wee pub open.. and the car park full of other escapees.. The rain and wind grew amidst black skies, and the maple tree vivid red in brief moments of sunshine.. Standing defiant on the north eastern edge of the storm..Then the rain came down in sheets.. A veritable downpour! a little like I am used to in Scotland..

The morning maple a different sight.. survived the night and the sun came out to a red carpet of leaves glistening, still wet on the ground, the smell of pancakes, and concern for all the others in New England who had not been so lucky..

Vermont in the Fall is a must place to see in a lifetime.. and this wee establishment excels in hospitality and cooking in this long established collegiate town on the banks of this most impressive river. A port in a storm indeed. xx Wishing Tim and Amy all the best in their new restaurant in the town.. and the new owners every success in their new business at Putney Road. x All the Best x

Room Tip: We loved the blue one and the little annex. And I am sure the rest must be just as good x
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sleepiegenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyside, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

My wife and I stayed here in March for a few days after our wedding. This was the perfect place to relax and unwind after an amazing weekend of celebration with family and friends. We stayed in a suite with two rooms and enjoyed the sitting area to watch movies (good selection of DVDs in the house), play scrabble, and sample the great selection of craft beers from the pub downstairs (along with some excellent free snacks). We also enjoyed the spa/jacuzzi room on the well kept grounds behind the house. The town of Brattleboro has some excellent restaurants, two of which were total standouts: TJ Buckley's and Whetstone Station Brewery. The former is a chef's table menu in a small settng that from the outside looks like your average diner, but inside is a warm atmosphere with an open kitchen. The latter is a new brewpub with a large selection of craft beers, amazing burgers, and a fun trivia night that they let us join in on even though we were late. We also wandered around Everyone's Books, a great social-justice oriented bookstore, had coffee at Mocha Joes, and sampled a lot of cheese at Grafton Village Cheese Co. The surronding area is beautiful for some scenic drives and one spot not far away worth checking out is the Weston Priory, the home of a community of Benedictine Monks who live a life of prayer and work according to the rule of St. Benedict. They live sustainably off the land and are very welcoming to all who want to join them for payer and liturgy, There is also a great book and gift shop as well as a small art gallery with all of their handmade crafts for sale. This was our second trip back to this part of VT and our first stay at Forty Putney. We hope to come back for another quick escape from NYC (about a 3 hour drive) to a place that feels like a cozy home away from home.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FortyPutneyRoad, Owner at Inn on Putney Road Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
My pleasure...look forward to your next "getaway" from the City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in March and had to come back for another visit. This trip we stayed four nights and we were pampered by Rhonda and her staff.

The rooms are clean and the breakfast is outstanding. We visited the pub for a glass of wine and beer.

We went on a hike at Black Mountain one day then went back out the next day on the Retreat Trails. We hiked up to the ski jump and saw some amazing views.

The backyard has several places to sit and just relax. The grounds are beautiful to look at.

We will be back in October for leaf peeping and the pumpkin festival.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia.Ron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FortyPutneyRoad, Owner at Inn on Putney Road Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Definitely looking forward to seeing you both in October. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauderhill, Florida
Level Contributor
89 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I have stayed at numerous bed & breakfasts in Vermont over the past 25 years and this Inn has moved to the top of our list!! Every creature comfort of home was provided on this lovely property. Enjoy a glass of fine wine or a mug of beer in the late afternoon as you relax in the hot tub or overlooking the lovely lake view. Each room is appointed beautifully and the breakfast, carefully prepared by the gracious innkeeper Rhonda, was superb. This Inn will be the highlight of your trip as it was ours.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cliffy_lynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FortyPutneyRoad, Owner at Inn on Putney Road Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
It was my pleasure to host you and your husband here at Forty Putney. Looking forward to seeing you both again VERY soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brattleboro
0.7 mi away
Latchis Hotel
Latchis Hotel
#3 of 10 in Brattleboro
341 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
#1 of 10 in Brattleboro
565 reviews
1.2 mi away
Colonial Motel & Spa
Colonial Motel & Spa
#4 of 10 in Brattleboro
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Brattleboro
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
1.6 mi away
Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel...
#2 of 2 in West Chesterfield
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on Putney Road Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on Putney Road Bed and Breakfast

Property: Inn on Putney Road Bed and Breakfast
Address: 192 Putney Rd, Brattleboro, VT 05301-6010 (Formerly Forty Putney Road Bed and Breakfast)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Brattleboro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Brattleboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn on Putney Road Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walk to lively downtown Brattleboro from this comfortably elegant 6 room waterside B&B. Enjoy a complimentary 2 or 3 course gourmet breakfast each morning made fresh with local ingredients. Hiking trails on property and close to all southeastern Vermont educational campuses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Inn on Putney Road Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forty Putney Road b&b
Forty Putney Road Hotel Brattleboro
40 Putney Road Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing