We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Many amenities and conveniences”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Inn on Putney Road Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Brattleboro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Forty Putney Road Bed & Breakfast in February 2013. This B&B has every amenity and convenience you can imagine. The property has a pub, hot tub, and pool table. Guests have access to snacks, beverages, and in-room mini fridge. Rhonda did a wonderful job with the breakfast and hospitality. The location is close to downtown and was quiet. I would highly recommend this property.

Room Tip: We were told Room 4 may be a little cold in the winter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FortyPutneyRoad, Owner at Inn on Putney Road Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

My pleasure!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (512)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

254 - 260 of 512 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2013

My wife and I booked Forty Putney Road from the reviews we saw on Tripadvisor. It did not disappoint. The house has alot of character and charm. It is spotless. Rhonda welcomed us and showed us around the home and showed us to our room and made us feel welcome from the moment we walked in the door. We had the Mountainview room, the bed was very comfortable and the room was cozy and roomy. The house has a nice big main room on the first floor that has a pool table and a fireplace which is great to relax in. The pub is fun and Rhonda serves beer and wine in the evenings. There is a sunroom on the second floor that is nice to relax in. The grounds will be great in the nice weather, the yard is huge and the views are great. There is a hot tub outside in an enclosed building. The breakfasts were outstanding. The staff is very warm and friendly and very helpful. It is a short walk to downtown Brattleboro. This is a great place to get away and relax. The area has some outstanding scenery. Rhonda and her staff are doing a great job. We have already booked our return visit.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RonPatricia23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FortyPutneyRoad, Owner at Inn on Putney Road Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Thank you! You should see the backyard today!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We wish we could of stayed at least one more night. You know it is a wonderful place when you are not ready to leave. The room was great, nicely decorated with just the right comforts at your fingertips. The gas fireplace heated the room to more than toasty, such a nice luxury. We were ablr to have a wonderful visit with a friend in the living room. There was enough to do at the bed and breakfast that you didn't need to leave for entertainment.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Diana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FortyPutneyRoad, Owner at Inn on Putney Road Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

I'm so pleased to know that you would have enjoyed more time with us here at Forty Putney Road. Next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Earlier in March my wife and I travelled to the Putney/Brattleboro area to visit our son in college. I searched online for a B&B or Country Inn in the area and I narrowed down the list to three places that had great reviews. The first place to get back to me was the Forty Putney Road B&B. It is located north of Brattleboro, about a 12 minute walk from the center of downtown. The innkeeper Rhonda was very pleasant and accommodating with our needs. She offered to call a local restaurant to setup a dinner reservation for us on the evening of our arrival. She asked us about our breakfast preferences and because we were having a very late check-in she left a note for us with information about our stay and how to get access to our room keys.

We reserved the Garden Room in the 2nd floor facing the rear garden. The room was very well appointed with a medium size LCD TV, 2 large comfy chairs and table, a small fridge with two local carbonated juice/soda drinks, a basket with several different kind of chips and power bars and a wonderfully soft Queen size four post bed. The linens were of very high thread count (I think they are made in VT), very soft to the touch. The bed has a pillow top mattress that seems to be made with memory foam. The bathroom vanity had emergency toothpaste, toothbrush and other necessary sundry items. The toiletries were of high quality and the towels were large and soft. At the foot of the bed was a trunk with a couple of plush cotton robes and slippers on top for us to use. The robes and the linens are available for purchase if desired.

The room is beautifully decorated with "antiques" that evoke the time period of the early 20's. The room has three windows that face the beautiful garden now covered with snow. The room has an original cast iron hot water heater and a gas fireplace to keep the room cozy. The shower has a nice rain type shower head and there is a medium size window that brings daylight in to the bathroom.

From the bedroom windows at distance beyond the garden you can see the Connecticut River. In the middle of the garden you will see a large tree that happens to be one of the largest Japanese Maples in the US. During the warmer months you can use the trails at the back of the garden that meander all the way down to the river. I have seen photos of the garden taken in the spring and it looks really beautiful.

In the morning we went downstairs to the dining room to start our breakfast. We were warmly greeted by Rhonda and she gave us a history account of how she came to own the B&B since last December. The previous owners built a great reputation and brand name. They actually opened a restaurant in downtown Brattleboro called Whetstone Station; see my review.

As for the breakfast, the first thing was a glass of delicious fresh-squeezed orange juice. Then we were served a poached pear with granola and a sweet sauce. Then a yummy freshly-baked cranberry muffin. The third dish was vegetarian quiche with a side of bacon and sliced tomato. The fixed menu breakfast was excellent.

There is free wireless throughout the house. In the garden there is a small building that houses a hot tub with a fireplace overlooking the river. We did not use the hot tub this time. The garden offers an extensive selection of perennials and several fountains that are conducive to wildlife watching. Upstairs there is a large selection of books and DVD's. There is a pub room downstairs that is about to open soon. Rhonda is awaiting the completion of the permit process. The previous owners were known for their high quality craft beers provided at the pub. Rhonda is going to continue that tradition. The Forty Putney Road offers six rooms, four in the main house and two in the former carriage house on the opposite side of the driveway.

The daily rates range from mid $100's to mid $300's depending on the room. It is not cheap but very well with it. I do not think you will be disappointed. It has a great location, quiet surroundings and the combination of country charm and elegance are very enticing. Thank you Rhonda for a great experience.

Room Tip: The Garden Room offers a great view of the gardens from the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Febco57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FortyPutneyRoad, Owner at Inn on Putney Road Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

THANK YOU! for sharing your time here in Brattleboro here at Forty Putney Road.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

My wife and I were looking for a weekend getaway and we found the best BB we ever stayed at. The staff was awesome very friendly and outgoing. The house was spotless and the breakfast was great. I would defiantly recommend it to everyone.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank joep1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FortyPutneyRoad, Owner at Inn on Putney Road Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

So happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Looking forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a lovely stay at 40 Putney Road. As I am seven months pregnant, we were looking for the perfect "babymoon" -- a relaxing weekend away before our lives get turned upside down. Innkeeper, Rhonda, made this possible! We accidentally booked the inn for Saturday/Sunday evenings and were shocked when we made this discovery upon check-in on a Friday evening. The inn was booked to capacity and Rhonda did everything to make sure we would get a decent accommodation elsewhere that evening. She ended up booking us at the Putney Inn. Rhonda was very concerned about our comfort -- I think she felt more badly than we did about the mistake. Putney Inn was fine but we were excited to "really" check in to 40 Putney on Saturday. Rhonda made sure our room, The New Room, was the first to be cleaned and we were able to check in two hours early. The room was soooo comfortable -- take this from a pregnant woman who has to sleep propped up on four pillows. The common spaces were relaxing. We enjoyed tea and a beer by the fire on Saturday afternoon. Sunday's breakfast was amazing. Rhonda is a talented chef and she was thorough in making sure that she accommodated guests with allergies. With a baby on the way, I don't know when, but we WILL be back!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Courtney O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FortyPutneyRoad, Owner at Inn on Putney Road Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Next time, you're coming for three days!! Thank you both. You were a pleasure to meet. Don't forget to send me baby pictures!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

My girlfriend and I spent three nights in the Ripley Suite this past weekend. The myriad glowing reviews of 40 Putney Road are not overstated.

I booked the trip as a birthday gift a few months ago and was concerned when the property was sold in the interim, as our choice of venue was based in large part on reviews under prior ownership. Not to worry -- Rhonda is a spectacular an innkeeper as you could ever hope to encounter. Her hospitality and her breakfasts are outstanding.

The photos of the accommodations speak for themselves. The Ripley Suite is spacious yet cozy, and was well worth the added cost. The separate hot tub building at the rear of the property, overlooking the Retreat Meadow, is a nice touch (and has its own fireplace, too).

The hiking trail through the woods behind the property is a pleasant outdoor excursion. It gets a little hilly to the right (and eventually dead-ends), but the trail is certainly within the purview of a novice hiker. The view through the Retreat Meadow to the farm on the other side is quite peaceful.

For nearby restaurants, don't miss T.J. Buckley's, Three Stones, or Fireworks. We also had drinks at The Metropolis, Fireworks, and the former innkeepers' establishment, Whetstone Station -- all excellent.

Mount Snow is about a 30-minute drive away for skiing, snowboarding, tubing, and snowmobiling. The two-hour snowmobile tour is a blast -- until you're on the way back down, you don't even realize how far up into the mountains you've gone.

We will be back, and hopefully soon.

Room Tip: The additional luxury and space of the Ripley Suite is well worth the added cost. The other rooms i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FortyPutneyRoad, Owner at Inn on Putney Road Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

It was my pleasure! Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brattleboro
0.7 mi away
Latchis Hotel
Latchis Hotel
#3 of 10 in Brattleboro
356 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
#1 of 10 in Brattleboro
598 reviews
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Brattleboro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Colonial Motel & Spa
Colonial Motel & Spa
#4 of 10 in Brattleboro
298 reviews
3.1 mi away
Chesterfield Inn
Chesterfield Inn
#1 of 2 in West Chesterfield
313 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on Putney Road Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on Putney Road Bed and Breakfast

Address: 192 Putney Rd, Brattleboro, VT 05301-6010 (Formerly Forty Putney Road Bed and Breakfast)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Brattleboro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Brattleboro
Price Range: $189 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn on Putney Road Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walk to lively downtown Brattleboro from this comfortably elegant 6 room waterside B&B. Enjoy a complimentary 2 or 3 course gourmet breakfast each morning made fresh with local ingredients. Hiking trails on property and close to all southeastern Vermont educational campuses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Inn on Putney Road Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
40 Putney Road Bed And Breakfast
Forty Putney Road b&b
Forty Putney Road Hotel Brattleboro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing