We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meh, some promise but I wouldn't return”

Top of the Hill Grill
Ranked #4 of 111 Restaurants in Brattleboro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Reviewed July 8, 2013

My wife and I stopped by for dinner on the way north. The brisket and chicken were good to very good...but then doused with way too much sauce that pretty much killed them. The pulled pork wasn't bad but had quite a lot of dried out chunks. The roasted veggies should be a great alternative as a side but suffered by inconsistent doneness - some mushy pieces and some still very hard. Nice location but the view would be a lot better if they removed the huge planter on the corner of the patio.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ed a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (307)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

214 - 218 of 307 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Farbeit for this unlearned one to claim to be an expert in how Burnt Ends should taste...
If these succulent morsels of melt in your mouth goodness are how they are supposed to be, the bar has been set incredibly high for every other burnt end I might pass across my lips.
The management's tactful rebuttal to a fellow TripAdvisor reviewer who recently posted a poor review, though entitled to their oppinion, was correct on every point. Mr. Julian and his dedicated staff are obviously passionate about what they do and so far has been the best bit of nosh on my trip to the East Coast.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank thevinoboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Nothing about this place is BBQ. They must cook in ovens because not one item had a smoke ring on the food. EVERYTHING was terrible, flavorless or just plain bad. Even the Snapple was warm The brisket looks and tasted like it was cooked and reheated many times. Ribs were bland and the BBQ chicken was not bbq just plain chicken, way over cooked with a dribble of sauce on it. Check out the picture of the Burnt Ends. I guess what keeps this place open is it's outdoor view and the fact that all but one of the many vehicles had out of state plates. So with tourists as the main customer why try?

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Faloughi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chef317, Owner at Top of the Hill Grill, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

First and foremost, as owner of Top of the HIll Grill, let me say that we are sincerely sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations. Self appointed "experts" such as yourself, present a challenge, but we always try to do our best. If a customer is not happy with their meal for any reason, we will cheerfully refund their money. Your comments, particularly "just plain bad" are offensive and not particularly helpful as to how we can improve our product and service. We cook to a New England palate-generally milder sauces and spice rubs- we have available spicier versions of our sauce if requested. For your continued education in "all things Q" purists would say that chicken is never "bar-b-que. True bar-b-que" is considered to be pork, beef, or other animal,slowly cooked for many hours in a low heat, smokey environment. This process tenderizes tough cuts by slowly breaking down muscle and connective tissue. All of our "Q" is low and slow smoked in our Cookshack smokers. Your "Burnt Ends" photo is a cheap shot. 95% of the folks out there have no idea what "Burnt Ends" are.The tough,fatty point of the brisket is hickory smoked for many hours. We coax a lot of flavor out of this cut with a special dry rub-hints of coffee, cocoa and cumin are pervasive. It is deeply flavorful, fork tender, and yes-almost"black" with a pronounced crusty bark. As burnt ends go, these look good,though most readers would not understand these seemingly charred pieces of meat are bursting with flavor.Finally, look at your own photo-there is evidence of a smoke ring on the clearly fork tender brisket. The chicken has a golden, crispy skin. Finally, you ask why we try. Now in our 17th year, we have been driven by our passion for food and for providing our loyal customers a unique dining experience. We have garnered numerous awards, get overwhelming positive reviews from locals and travelers alike. We work hard. We try because we love it. Jon Julian (owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We love BBQ, and were surprised to see this highly rated place in Brattleboro. We ate there twice, the first time we both had the BBQ ribs, along with the collard greens and roasted root veggies. These was really excellent, and would have rated an "Excellent" review, but the next day we had Red Beans & Rice with Jerked Chicken Sausage, also excellent, and a dish of Jambalaya. The last was insanely hot, and we could only eat it by diluting it down with the Red Beans & Rice.

They have an outdoor deck and seating, with a great view. There is also enclosed seating for the colder months. They only take cash - no credit cards, so be prepared.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bern666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The Top of the Hill Grill offers simple food but it is delicious. It's never occurred to me that a burrito place could be a viable seasonal business, but obviously Top of the Hill Grill is making it work. We ordered a variety of burritos and one order of mac and cheese for a child in our group - everyone ate everything.

Me and one other person ordered the Steve-O Wrap, which has rice, cheese, greens ,black beans, tomatoes,slaw and chipotle-lime sauce. The slaw makes it, adding just the right amount of tang. My husband ordered Heidi's Special Wrap, which has grilled tempeh,peppers & onions, potatoes, cheese and slaw. It was very filling. A friend got the Kelsey's Katfish Wrap, which has
Cajun catfish, sauteed peppers & onions, tomato and chipotle-lime sauce. I don't think I could possibly say which was the best dish. I think it was the sort of meal where we all were full afterwards but could have kept on eating just because it tasted so good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Top of the Hill Grill also viewed

 

Been to Top of the Hill Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing