We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious food, wonderfully staffed, and a bit of culture”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Milagros Mexican Kitchen - CLOSED

Milagros Mexican Kitchen
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Spanish
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delicious food, wonderfully staffed, and a bit of culture”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2014

What a wonderful restaurant. I went twice within five days of visiting Brattleboro, Vermont. The service is organized and is well appreciated. The salas available are varied in their taste and color. The food is delicious and the environment enjoyable. Go eat and Enjoy!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    9
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Joshua Tree, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Very Bright Spot on Main Street”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014

Having only a couple of days to spend in Brattleboro after having moved away a couple of years ago,I had to make some tough decisions on where to eat. It was good to see many snappy new beginnings popping up all along the main street that acts as the spine of Brattleboro's downtown district.

Brattleboro has experienced physical community trauma of late from both floods and fires, and yet, like a phoenix rising from the ashes, two colleges are moving into the downtown district, while new shops seem to be moving in,and the already existing shops are the anchors visitors can rely on being there. Add to this, Milagros, a brilliant new Mexican restaurant that is true to the spirit of Mexican cuisine and this makes for one great small town's downtown!


Milagros's menu features the type of Mexican food many of us dream of finding in our travels, it's the kind of Mexican cooking that includes marinating meats in citrus and spices, and then slow roasting it in it's juices, kind of place. I had a couple of tacos and a glass of sangria but as I ate, I vowed to come back with a big appetite the next time I am in Vermont.

If you are a fan of fresh and bright ingredients, made from scratch homemade Mexican food, you will find this downtown eatery heavenly.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Xcacel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mishawaka, Indiana
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great chips & salsa!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

I love Mexican food and I was delighted with this new Mexican restaurant in Brattleboro. It has a casual atmosphere with a friendly staff. There are no waitresses so you order your food at the counter as soon as you walked in. The menu is written on a large blackboard or you can step to the side and read off a paper menu. We were hungry pigs so I ordered the taco plate, my husband ordered the huge basic burrito and a basket of chips and salsa, 2 frozen margaritas (which I was thrilled that they offered booze) some extra guac and a diet coke and the bill came to $40.00. When your food and drinks are ready they will yell out your name. The food portions are large and perhaps next time we will share a plate. There's also a self-service soda machine as well as a variety of self-serve salsa. We loved the chips and salsa, they are not free as some Mexican restaurants offer but it was well worth the small price. There is a dining area in the back of the restaurant and well as extra seating in the basement level which is very nice and quaint. All in all we were very happy with the food and atmosphere and we will definitely come back the next time we are craving Mexican food.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ccc1055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brattleboro, Vermont
Level Contributor
143 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good food, nice vibe, decent value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

I really enjoyed the "hopping" atmosphere at this place. Not sure how long it will last. It's new so people are still intrigued. The food, value and atmosphere are pretty much the best in town if you're looking for "relaxed and very casual". The food and value are better at Kiplings but Kiplings is a bar so if you're not into the bar scene this is the 2nd best choice for this category in Brattleboro.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“best of the southwest in the eastnorth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

hey! goshdarn cheap-n-easy, fast, great secret sauces, kinetic in a good way, this restaurant may be my alter ego.

close your eyes and you are in san diego, hitting your favourite food truck.

do it! take your kids! and take other people's kids!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cindy a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Milagros Mexican Kitchen also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing