We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Shin La

Shin La
Ranked #31 of 111 Restaurants in Brattleboro
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Korean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Keene, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
92 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Poor service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012

If they are busy, walk away. Rude waitstaff. However, the food is very good.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank martyr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther K, Guest Relations Manager at Shin La, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
I am so sorry to hear you had an unpleasant experience with your server. We believe our servers should always be hospitable and kind. We will continue to train and provide feedback to our servers to ensure that this does not reoccur. Please see this experience as an extreme outlier as our current waitstaff is very friendly and accommodating.

Thank you for your kind words on our food! We hope that this incident is something you can look past and come back for great food and friendly staff.

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback for our restaurant. We really do appreciate it and hope that you will give us another try.

P.S. -- My apologies for the incredibly late response, but better late than never, right? :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    20
    0
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vermont
Level Contributor
103 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Best Korean food in Vermont!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

Have been visiting this restaurant for YEARS... how many?? ever since they opened! Always have the same shared dishes: Jap Chae, Cold Spinach Salad, and pan-fried Pork Dumplings.

Never disappoints! Try it, you'll love it. Ambiance is not top priority... just the FOOD!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sovernet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther K, Guest Relations Manager at Shin La, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Mmm! Those dishes are wonderful for sharing. You are right, ambiance is not our top priority, it is the delicious food! Who needs trendy seats and lighting, anyway? ;)

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback for our restaurant. We really do appreciate it and hope to see you again soon!

P.S. -- My apologies for the incredibly late response, but better late than never, right? :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A favorite”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

Low key local place, usually uncrowded, fairly quiet except some weekend nights. Decent sushi. Lovely copper table top booths. The traditional Korean dishes are exceptional, especially the bi bim boup, a rice and vegetable dish that's my longtime favorite. Beer and wine available.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JerseyTM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther K, Guest Relations Manager at Shin La, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
So happy to hear you love our Bibimbap and copper table top booths!

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback for our restaurant. We really do appreciate it and hope to see you again soon!

P.S. -- My apologies for the incredibly late response, but better late than never, right? :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamaica, Vermont
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fresh and delisouse!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2012

The Korean food at the shin la is wonderful! We have tried several different dishes from the menu and have loved everything! The service is good, the ambiance is lacking. Once your meal arrives you won't give your surroundings a seconds thought though!
A must try!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank occasionaltraveler76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther K, Guest Relations Manager at Shin La, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
So glad you have enjoyed everything you've tried! Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback for our restaurant. We really do appreciate it and hope to see you again soon!

P.S. -- My apologies for the incredibly late response, but better late than never, right? :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston,MASS
Level Contributor
105 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Don't believe the hype....”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2012

Visited on a weeknight ...not busy at all...Server recommended Korean Octopus. Food was quick and hot. Octopus was very rubbery - and the octopus was lacking in the dish for $14.50. Server inattentive throughout the meal. No checkback at all.

Chicken soup for an appetizer was hot but lacked any creative flair.

Interior is tired and dated ...no music ... seemed even more stale as a result.

I would not go back or recommend.

All in with tip ... $26.....

Not worth it.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank familymanBoston_MASS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther K, Guest Relations Manager at Shin La, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Typical weeknights are not very busy for us. It is Brattleboro, Vermont, afterall!

I am sorry you did not like our spicy octopus dish. It is normally a highly popular dish! I am also sorry you did not like our Korean chicken and rice soup. It is widely known in town to be the best medicine for a cold around! The recipe is home-style and was passed from (the owner) Mrs. Kim's late mother.

If I may, I suggest you try our spicy pork or chicken dish (Daeji Gogi Bokeum) or our miso soup with spinach and extra firm tofu.

I apologize for your server's inattentiveness. That is simply unacceptable. We will continue to provide feedback and training to our staff.

Our interiors are dated because, well, we have not changed up our decor for YEARS! Can't argue with you on that one! :) Our focus is on serving great food and providing our guests with a memorable and home-y experience. We have chosen to not have music, which some might not fancy, but so far it has not been an issue. Delicious food and great conversation makes up for the lack of music!

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback for our restaurant. We really do appreciate it and hope that you will give us another try.

P.S. -- My apologies for the incredibly late response, but better late than never, right? :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shin La also viewed

 

Been to Shin La? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing