We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A basic room. Hot and cold water, functional bathroom, bed, refrigerator, A/C & Heat.”
Review of Black Mountain Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Black Mountain Inn
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Brattleboro
Reviewed July 30, 2009

For a night's stay, the price was right. The free continental breakfast was adequate. Certainly, there were things that could have been improved upon, but with campground rates as high as they are, it beats sleeping in a tent.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BuddyEm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABIBrattleboro, Front Office Manager at Black Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2011

I would like to thank you for your review. Our single economy room is exactly what you described-a clean,comfortable basic room for the budget minded. The 1 double bed room can, and often does sleep two, but designed to be a small, efficient room with free wireless, microwave and refridgerator, desk/credenza combination and ofcourse full tub bathroom. Thank you again for your honest review, and perhaps next time you can try our kind deluxe bed or the private hot tub room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (127)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

118 - 124 of 127 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2009

This hotel has wonderful staff, comfortable beds, and affordable rate. It isn't a luxury hotel but rather a budget hotel. It is a good hotel if you are on a budget.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Throst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABIBrattleboro, Front Office Manager at Black Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2011

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I appreciate your compliments of our accomodating staff. Customer service is of the utmost importance here at America's Best Inn Brattleboro. I am also glad that you found our beds comfortable-they are plush King Koil company mattresses and boxsprings, and we have received such positive feedback on them. A comfortable, affordable sleep is what we strive to achieve every time. Thank you again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2008

This place was pure filth. The refrigerator handle in the room was held together with BANDAIDS! We didn't even unpack our shampoo. We had our dogs with us and I wouldn't even let them get up on the bed. We stood frozen in the filth of room, turned around and told the woman at the desk we could not stay. She was the only saving thing about the experience. She gave us a refund right away. We booked that hotel because they take dogs. But there are plenty of other places in Brattleboro that take dogs, like the Putney Inn, which is where we went next. Fantastic place --- clean, pretty, wonderful. Thank God for the Putney Inn.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Service
2  Thank WebSurfinTravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2008

NEVER STAY HERE!!!!! I was visiting cousins with my family and this was the only hotel in the area that was not booked. For the expensive price we paid, it was the worst hotel I have ever seen. The room was full of bugs and disgusting. Furthermore the floor was dirty and the beds were so filthy that we slept fully clothed and my father slept out in the car. Our bathroom was dirty and smelly and the air conditioner was broken and kept shrieking when you turned it on. The floors were dirty and the mattresses were so unclean my family slept fully clothed. After looking at our filthy bathroom my dad went to use the lobby bathroom, and said there was cat liter in the bathroom. In fact my dad was so miserable in our hotel room, he slept in the car, and we were out of that room at the crack of dawn the next morning. The only reason we stayed at this dump, was because we got here late at night and did not see the hotel right. But if you drive by this place in broad day light you would never want to see it again.

Stayed: July 2006
4  Thank agmlexus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2007

This hotel is pure filth. Slept fully clothed on top of sheet because all bedding was stained with something (looked like blood and/or body fluids), towels were stained & discolored, may not have even been laundered. We couldn't even bring ourselves to use the bathroom it had mold and mildew in all crevices, hair in tub and on toilet. Windows painted shut, not able to open......room smelled. Heating unit very noisy. Spoke to front desk about the conditions of the room, she acted as though we were crazy. Refused to give us our money back, refused to give us the managers phone number and told us to call on Monday to speak to the manager. If it wasn't so late at night and we didn't live so far away, we would have just left. It would have been less traumatizing. Called 6 times, the manager / owner was never available, but would call me back (NEVER DID). Wrote a letter to corporate office also to no avail. There is no way anyone in there right mind could possibly right a positive review for this hotel. It really should be condemned.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank yojoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank vita663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackmtninn, Front Office Manager at Black Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2015, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LIANE F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abibratt, Front Office Manager at Black Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brattleboro hotels
0.1 mi away
Colonial Motel & Spa
Colonial Motel & Spa
#4 of 10 in Brattleboro
309 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 10 in Brattleboro
419 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
#2 of 10 in Brattleboro
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Brattleboro
2.0 mi away
Latchis Hotel
Latchis Hotel
#3 of 10 in Brattleboro
358 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Mountain Inn

Address: 959 Putney Rd, Brattleboro, VT 05301-9048 (Formerly America's Best Inn Brattleboro)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Brattleboro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Brattleboro
Price Range: $64 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Black Mountain Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just yards from Interstate 91, Route 5 and 9 intersection, we are in the heart of the tri state area and gateway to beautiful Vermont. Our rooms have been renovated recently and are well equipped with microwave, refridgerators,free wifi,32 inch LED TV's with several great channels including HBO and Cinamax. We also feauture Evergreen rooms-with water and air filtration. Our continental breakfast is also free and includes bagels and cream cheese, fresh fruit,and hard boiled eggs. We are an outstanding value and strive to provide our guests clean and comfortable rooms with thought and care. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Black Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brattleboro Best Inn
Best Inn Brattleboro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing