We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst room ever!”
Review of Black Mountain Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Black Mountain Inn
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Brattleboro
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Stayed there this weekend July 13-15. If it wasn't for the fact that we had 20 of us all there I would've left. The room was dirty, carpets looked like they never vacuumed,weird smell coming from the AC unit, at least it ran and the room was cool since it was 87 out side. My daughter took a towel off the rack and it fell off. Bed cover had burn holes in it. Only redemption they let us stay by the pool till 9:30,pool closes at 9. The lady at the counter was really nice. My other daughter stayed in a different room didn't like the smell opened the window which fell out and hit her in the eye. Paid $92 per night for it. Not worth it at all. At least we were there with our family which made it fun. Bathroom had no plugs in the tub or sink. It was the tough mudder weekend so finding another place would've been difficult at the last moment. Put stuff in mini frig and rack fell off. Good thing was Dominos delivered pizzas to us at the pool! Pool time was a good time. The remote control for the tv Was duct taped so the batteries wouldn't fall out!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else. Talking with our family and friends they all had issues with their rooms. My co...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Serena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abibratt, Front Office Manager at Black Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2012

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. The guest room you were in had the rugs shampooed recently, perhaps that was the smell that you noted. We are pleased that your room was cool upon check in as it has been extremely hot and we have turned on our air conditioners prior to check in for our guests' comfort. The towel rack in your guestroom has been repaired. Customer service is our hallmark,and had we known of any issues you experienced we would have attended to them immediately. Our manager held off closing the pool on time so that you and your family could enjoy it on that hot evening-we are happy to hear it was appreciated. Considering it was a special event weekend,many of our franchise competitors raised rates to astronomical heights,we did not do this. Many guests arrived that weekend,explaining to our staff that hotels close by were charging up to 40% more with no pool and several other accomadations we have free of charge including microwve,refriderator,Directv with Encore and wifi. Although we were not able to accomodate you fully, we do appreciate the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
There are newer reviews for Black Mountain Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

92 - 98 of 122 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2012

Wow!! What a hole! It measures up to a lot of these independently owned motels with thread bare towels, smells and cleanliness. It6's cheap and that's the best you can say.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank lorin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
1
Reviewed June 14, 2012

The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was nothing special but clean and completely useable. Good enough for the one night stay we needed it for. The bed was reasonably comfortable and the heater/AC worked well.

The bathroom was, again, nothing special but clean and useable. Would have been nice if there was some shampoo provided - kind of a normal expectation in a hotel.

The location was great for us. Near by to a nice restaurant.
Breakfast in the am was fine.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with cheaprooms.com
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abibratt, Front Office Manager at Black Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thank you for review. We are pleased to hear that you found the heat/ac unit to work well as we have recently replaced half the hotels' units with these new, made in the US, energy efficient units that run quiet! We do provide shampoo and conditioner in our guest rooms in environmentally friendly dispensers in lieu of paper and plastic individual packets. I am sorry your guestroom lacked the shampoo as it must have been a housekeeping oversight. It is important for us to provide our guests useful amenities in an environmentally conscious way as we are a certified green hotel. Thank you again for your review, we look forward to serving you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Checked in at 1am with a friendly and accommodating gentleman. Bathrooms needed a good scrub, uncomfortable beds. A nice mini fridge to store our cooler food. Lame continental breakfast (mini bagels, the end), though the lady who put out said bagels was sweet. 77bucks total, so we got what we paid for but won't stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StillaBenningtongirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

I found no problems with my stay at this motel and it was my second visit. From what I could see the room was clean with no unpleasant odors and the rooms even have little air filter units you can turn on and off. Can't speak for the continental breakfast as I was in the mood for eggs & bacon, so we went out for that. The rates here seem to vary somewhat depending on the weekend but are still reasonable for the area. There's a sign out front that says something like Rooms From $45.99/night ... maybe for a single room in the winter, but whatever. It was clean and suitable for a night's stay and I will be back.

This isn't the Hilton, so if you're expecting 4 or 5 star accommodations, there are other places you can try. But if you are on a budget, this motel is just fine.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glenn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

I'm sorry but this is not America's BEST Inn ! The carpet in the room was damp, the lower part of the bathroom wall was falling apart, apparent water damage hence the damp carpet. the shower had a broken shampoo/ conditioner dispenser that mold was building up inside. The towels were stained and not white. The bed was made with layers of sheets and blankets, I guess that makes it easier to "change " for the next guest? The coffee pot was falling apart......My suggestion GO SOMEPLACE ELSE!! p.s. it's not run by americans

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Fran B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

I was concerned about the reasonable price when we stopped, but was pleasantly surprised at the large, clean room with micro & fridge, decent breakfast and the staff went above and beyond to make us comfortable. Easy internet access.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DOROTHY G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abibratt, Front Office Manager at Black Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2012

Thank you for complimenting our inn. We are pleased that your stay was comfortable and you found the guest room and staff accomodating. We strive to keep our rates extremely competitive for the area, and off season, it is especially important that they remain reasonable. America's Best Inns are a mid economy franchise, with useful amenities at no extra charge like micorwave and fridge, wifi, NESN and Encore movie channels! We are happy to hear you found the breakfast adequate,as we provide much more than the standard coffee and donuts. Once again, thank you for your review and we look forward to serving you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brattleboro hotels
0.1 mi away
Colonial Motel & Spa
Colonial Motel & Spa
#4 of 10 in Brattleboro
286 reviews
2.0 mi away
Latchis Hotel
Latchis Hotel
#3 of 10 in Brattleboro
352 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Brattleboro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
#1 of 10 in Brattleboro
586 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 10 in Brattleboro
413 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Mountain Inn

Address: 959 Putney Rd, Brattleboro, VT 05301-9048 (Formerly America's Best Inn Brattleboro)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Brattleboro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Brattleboro
Price Range: $76 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Black Mountain Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just yards from Interstate 91, Route 5 and 9 intersection, we are in the heart of the tri state area and gateway to beautiful Vermont. Our rooms have been renovated recently and are well equipped with microwave, refridgerators,free wifi,32 inch LED TV's with several great channels including HBO and Cinamax. We also feauture Evergreen rooms-with water and air filtration. Our continental breakfast is also free and includes bagels and cream cheese, fresh fruit,and hard boiled eggs. We are an outstanding value and strive to provide our guests clean and comfortable rooms with thought and care. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Black Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brattleboro Best Inn
Best Inn Brattleboro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing