We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Another cheap motel” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Black Mountain Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Black Mountain Inn
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Brattleboro
Bluffton, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Another cheap motel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

Wow!! What a hole! It measures up to a lot of these independently owned motels with thread bare towels, smells and cleanliness. It6's cheap and that's the best you can say.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank lorin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    28
    18
    13
    20
See reviews for
35
29
13
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was nothing special but clean and completely useable. Good enough for the one night stay we needed it for. The bed was reasonably comfortable and the heater/AC worked well.

The bathroom was, again, nothing special but clean and useable. Would have been nice if there was some shampoo provided - kind of a normal expectation in a hotel.

The location was great for us. Near by to a nice restaurant.
Breakfast in the am was fine.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with cheaprooms.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abibratt, Front Office Manager at Black Mountain Inn, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for review. We are pleased to hear that you found the heat/ac unit to work well as we have recently replaced half the hotels' units with these new, made in the US, energy efficient units that run quiet! We do provide shampoo and conditioner in our guest rooms in environmentally friendly dispensers in lieu of paper and plastic individual packets. I am sorry your guestroom lacked the shampoo as it must have been a housekeeping oversight. It is important for us to provide our guests useful amenities in an environmentally conscious way as we are a certified green hotel. Thank you again for your review, we look forward to serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

Checked in at 1am with a friendly and accommodating gentleman. Bathrooms needed a good scrub, uncomfortable beds. A nice mini fridge to store our cooler food. Lame continental breakfast (mini bagels, the end), though the lady who put out said bagels was sweet. 77bucks total, so we got what we paid for but won't stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StillaBenningtongirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

I found no problems with my stay at this motel and it was my second visit. From what I could see the room was clean with no unpleasant odors and the rooms even have little air filter units you can turn on and off. Can't speak for the continental breakfast as I was in the mood for eggs & bacon, so we went out for that. The rates here seem to vary somewhat depending on the weekend but are still reasonable for the area. There's a sign out front that says something like Rooms From $45.99/night ... maybe for a single room in the winter, but whatever. It was clean and suitable for a night's stay and I will be back.

This isn't the Hilton, so if you're expecting 4 or 5 star accommodations, there are other places you can try. But if you are on a budget, this motel is just fine.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woonsocket, Rhode Island, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

I'm sorry but this is not America's BEST Inn ! The carpet in the room was damp, the lower part of the bathroom wall was falling apart, apparent water damage hence the damp carpet. the shower had a broken shampoo/ conditioner dispenser that mold was building up inside. The towels were stained and not white. The bed was made with layers of sheets and blankets, I guess that makes it easier to "change " for the next guest? The coffee pot was falling apart......My suggestion GO SOMEPLACE ELSE!! p.s. it's not run by americans

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Fran B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Brattleboro hotels

ROCHESTER
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

I was concerned about the reasonable price when we stopped, but was pleasantly surprised at the large, clean room with micro & fridge, decent breakfast and the staff went above and beyond to make us comfortable. Easy internet access.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DOROTHY G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abibratt, Front Office Manager at Black Mountain Inn, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Thank you for complimenting our inn. We are pleased that your stay was comfortable and you found the guest room and staff accomodating. We strive to keep our rates extremely competitive for the area, and off season, it is especially important that they remain reasonable. America's Best Inns are a mid economy franchise, with useful amenities at no extra charge like micorwave and fridge, wifi, NESN and Encore movie channels! We are happy to hear you found the breakfast adequate,as we provide much more than the standard coffee and donuts. Once again, thank you for your review and we look forward to serving you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

There were a lot of spiders the heater air conditioner was falling apart. Found the spiders when my fiancé and came back from dinner. It wasn't a clean place to stay. We checked out and got half our money back and stayed at quality hotel by choice hotels down the road which was alot nicer with a nice breakfast and better service. My fiancé wrote spider beware. Do not stay at that hotel best value inn. They offered me another room I said no. And stayed at quality hotel by choice hotels down the road.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Burton1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abibratt, Front Office Manager at Black Mountain Inn, responded to this review, March 23, 2012
Thank you for your review. Again, we apologize that you and your husband did not find your guest room to your satisfaction. We do our best to accomodate all our guest and we tried to do so for you and your husband to no avail. Although the guestroom was occupied for several hours and used, we refunded half the room rate and offered to upgrade or have the housekeeping return to remove any spiders. Its is unfortunate we were not able to appease you and your husband,although we did try everything in our power to rectify the issue once it was brought to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brattleboro
0.2 mi away
Colonial Motel & Spa
Colonial Motel & Spa
#5 of 11 in Brattleboro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
#1 of 11 in Brattleboro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
2.0 mi away
Latchis Hotel
Latchis Hotel
#2 of 11 in Brattleboro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Brattleboro
0.4 mi away
Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel...
#2 of 2 in West Chesterfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Mountain Inn

Property: Black Mountain Inn
Address: 959 Putney Rd, Brattleboro, VT 05301-9048 (Formerly America's Best Inn Brattleboro)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Brattleboro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Brattleboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Black Mountain Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just yards from Interstate 91, Route 5 and 9 intersection, we are in the heart of the tri state area and gateway to beautiful Vermont. Our rooms have been renovated recently and are well equipped with microwave, refridgerators,free wifi,32 inch LED TV's with several great channels including HBO and Cinamax. We also feauture Evergreen rooms-with water and air filtration. Our continental breakfast is also free and includes bagels and cream cheese, fresh fruit,and hard boiled eggs. We are an outstanding value and strive to provide our guests clean and comfortable rooms with thought and care. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Black Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brattleboro Best Inn
Best Inn Brattleboro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing