We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bratwurst and More!”

Whetstone Station Restaurant and Brewery
Ranked #1 of 111 Restaurants in Brattleboro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: American, Contemporary, Pub, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Whetstone Station Restaurant and Brewery combines a large casual restaurant and open air rooftop bier garten, with a small experimental nano-brewery, all located right on the Connecticut River in Vermont. We offer an "inspired pub fare" style menu, with everything from small bites for a few bucks to full entrees. Along with one, always changing unique craft beer of their own they offer dozens of guest craft beers on draft and specialty drinks, all in an amazing waterfront location. The unique round building has been restored into a beautiful fire-lit space with a contemporary and industrial vibe. Indoor and outdoor dining, perched above the river, alongside a steel bridge and nestled between the green mountains make the amazing location a "don't miss" on any visit through Vermont.
MA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Bratwurst and More!”
Reviewed August 2, 2014

What a fabulous gem in Brattelboro! Ate inside one Monday evening on our way to northern NH. I had the chicken sandwich on pretzel roll while hubby had the Brats. We are still talking about both. Looking forward to returning for dinner on the rooftop bar.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Longmeadow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

868 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    412
    311
    92
    38
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
53 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great venue, good food”
Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

Really nice river views. Nice rooftop bar if weather is nice. Pretzel bread appetizer was a nice homemade breadstick but was not a soft pretzel. Cheddar ale soup good. Lobster mac and cheese had really huge chunks of lobster and nice smokey guyere cheese but could be more creamy. French fries were a nice homemade with parmesan. Flatbread pizza was tomato slices with solid mozzarella on it...would have liked more seasoning or sauce. Did not try beer. All in all very nice, would go back.

Helpful?
Thank 27LynnR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
508 reviews
306 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Fine Bratwurst and Beer on the rooftop bar over the Conn River”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

We had beer, Brats, salads on the roof as the restaurant's balcony was full with a 45 min wait. The bar menu is limited, but fine for a bar bite.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank tremm298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
143 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Fantastic spot with gorgeous view on the water”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Fantastic beer menu, very diverse food options. Everything was excellent. An amazing find right on the water. We lucked in to outside seating on the water - if you want to sit outside go earlier as the outside seating is popular and for good reason! Can't say enough good things about the meal and we shared a couple desserts (blueberry pie and peanut butter chocolate pie) both of which were amazing. If you are happening through town you would be remiss to skip this gem !!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank S_travels4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutland, Vermont
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Who knew?!?!”
Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

Traveling south on 91 and came across this unbelievable spot! Huge beer menu and unbelievable food. Tons of Gluten Free items on the menu and even a few beers! I was very surprised by the food quality and the service. A+ in my book. As if it couldn't be any better, the staff was unbelievable! Take the time to visit, have a brew, and eat away. A must if you are in the area! We'll be back! Very kid friendly.

Helpful?
Thank Patorti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whetstone Station Restaurant and Brewery also viewed

 

Been to Whetstone Station Restaurant and Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing