We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Million dollar view”

Whetstone Station Restaurant and Brewery
Ranked #1 of 111 Restaurants in Brattleboro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Brew Pub, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Whetstone Station Restaurant and Brewery combines a large casual restaurant and open air rooftop bier garten, with a small experimental nano-brewery, all located right on the Connecticut River in Vermont. We offer an "inspired pub fare" style menu, with everything from small bites for a few bucks to full entrees. Along with one, always changing unique craft beer of their own they offer dozens of guest craft beers on draft and specialty drinks, all in an amazing waterfront location. The unique round building has been restored into a beautiful fire-lit space with a contemporary and industrial vibe. Indoor and outdoor dining, perched above the river, alongside a steel bridge and nestled between the green mountains make the amazing location a "don't miss" on any visit through Vermont.
Stratford Ct
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Million dollar view”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

This is an average food and beverage venue with decent service.If you are looking for a beer and bar food venue you will not be disappointed. What makes this operation better than most is the fantastic view of the Connecticut River.You are literally at water's edge. The views across the river are unspoiled wilderness. Foliage season must provide a spectacular panorama.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank peterStratfordCt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

855 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    407
    307
    89
    37
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Springfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
90 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“This Just Keeps Getting Better!”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stopped by the Whetstone Station when they first opened. There was no beer garden, no outside seating and no brewery. They did have a great view of the river, wonderful food, a cheerful staff and a delightful selection of craft brews from other places. We loved it! When we went back the next year, in the winter, the brewery was still being built and the outside was covered in snow. They still had a great view of the river, a cheerful staff, a delightful selection of craft brews and a roaring fire. Today, and a year or so later, everything was up and running. Outside seating, rooftop beer garden, a selection on tap from their now fully operational nano brewery and all the rest. We picked the upstairs beer garden, drank in the view of the fall foliage as well as a couple of delightful pints of their own beer, feasted on duck nachos and a prime burger and decided, this place just keeps getting better. We wonder what next year will bring. Check out their web site for current menus and beer listings. The beer prices are about the best anywhere. Oh, one last thing, the parking at the station itself can be tight and there is public parking directly across the street.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Turnturn02159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brattleboro
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place for a beer”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

The dining room is great with the see through fireplace and pleasant seating. The roof is awesome, my favorite place for a beer, right on the Connecticut River. Try Tim's burger with bacon and peanut butter!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank yobenjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vashon, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great view, good beer and food”
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

If weather permits, sit on the rooftop beer garden and enjoy a beer from a wide selection while taking in spectacular river views. Food was good and service was very friendly.

Helpful?
Thank Emily H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Boylston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice place, Help wanted!”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Too many things about this resturaunt that dipleased us. Snobby Hostess (UNA) a 18 year old that kept us waiting for a roof top seat for nearly a half and hour. We asked if we could sit near the railing to get a beautiful veiw of the water. she said it would be a thirty minute wait and suggested we get a drink at the bar. I ordered a specialty beer, it was very good! and a Maragetta 16.00 wow? We sat in the sun warming up after a two hour ride on our Harley for the thirty minutes waiting for our table to be ready. As we sat and waited there was an emty table their the whole time. Still we waited! So she finially came and got us and sat us in the middle of the roof top when we asked for a waters edge seat. When we ask again for a table by the water she said she had a party of four coming up. Mean while there was 3 more table by the water that had opened up! We orderd Mussles and a Hummus sandwhich. Although my mussles were terrific the hummus sandwhich was a teaspoon of hummus and a head of lettuce in each half of syrian bread. After ordering another round of drinks which my GF never got her till after the meal was done we told them to take it off the bill when we were leaving. So we were there for at least an hour and a half. Ya know the table we wanted she sat a party of two when she said she had a reservation for four! Ya know some times it just the little things but this went a long way... To bad such a nice place. Big Daddy and Daisy

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whetstone Station Restaurant and Brewery also viewed

 

Been to Whetstone Station Restaurant and Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing