We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best part is the View”

Whetstone Station Restaurant and Brewery
Ranked #1 of 111 Restaurants in Brattleboro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: American, Contemporary, Pub, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Whetstone Station Restaurant and Brewery combines a large casual restaurant and open air rooftop bier garten, with a small experimental nano-brewery, all located right on the Connecticut River in Vermont. We offer an "inspired pub fare" style menu, with everything from small bites for a few bucks to full entrees. Along with one, always changing unique craft beer of their own they offer dozens of guest craft beers on draft and specialty drinks, all in an amazing waterfront location. The unique round building has been restored into a beautiful fire-lit space with a contemporary and industrial vibe. Indoor and outdoor dining, perched above the river, alongside a steel bridge and nestled between the green mountains make the amazing location a "don't miss" on any visit through Vermont.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

this is really only a brewery in name only. The day we were there they only had one, I repeat one of their own beer available. And judging from the menu they only have one at a time. Beyond that the selection of other beers was so-so, and the beer I had was flat.

One the food side, pretty poor veggie selection. My wife had the hummus pita (served cold) and I opted for the pizza (very small). There famous flavored fries were pretty tasteless.

We were disappointed. They could learn from the many other breweries in Vermont (see Madison's in Bennington for instance.)

Oh, and good luck finding parking.

But hey, they have a great view of the river.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jglenn6874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimBrady, Owner at Whetstone Station Restaurant and Brewery, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

We are a nano-brewery. We only produce one beer at a time. Did you have a chance to see our tiny little brewhouse? That's why... We have 40+ guest beers, and are surprised to hear that killer list called so-so! (Go ahead and see it yourself at www.whetstonestation.com/beer-list). We will agree that the cask beer you had could be called "flat", or cask ale. We're sorry that you were so disappointed with your stop in.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (955)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

829 - 833 of 956 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2013

The location overlooking the River and hillside in Brattleboro is the perfect setting for a leisurely afternoon with friends. A wonderful variety of craft beers and wine as well. The menus provided delicious vegetarian and traditional offerings. The staff was just great!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Cindy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

My boyfriend and I came here to have dinner and to try the beer selection. He was given a list to select from and was told not once but twice that they did not have the beer that he wanted. The waitress later came to tell us that it was an old list. The food was good but once we got the bill we saw that the beer that was unavailable was on it. After pointing it out, the waitress took that and the actual beer that he got off the bill. We will not impressed and not be returning.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lisaf7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimBrady, Owner at Whetstone Station Restaurant and Brewery, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

We change our beer list frequently. It sounds like you accidentally got an older copy. Sorry we didn't have the beer you requested and that you got an old list, that's why we apologized and bought you your beers. We're glad you liked the food but are bummed that even after apologizing and buying you a round you would go out of your way to write us a bad review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Pretty disappointed with this establishment. Beer selection was very poor, especially for a brewery, and what I tries was not really very good. Food was average at best and the service was not even that. Not the servers fault, they seemed to have too many tables to take proper care of them all..

Our B&B hostess later told us she gets about a 50% of her guests being happy with them. I would not return until truing other places in town.

Thank NashuaRussG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimBrady, Owner at Whetstone Station Restaurant and Brewery, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

We're surprised to hear that our 18 draft selections (which included selections of Hill Farmstead, Maine Beer Company and DeStruisse Pannepot Reserve on your visit) and our 40+ craft bottle list (including the likes of Mikkeller, Nogne 0, Cantillon and Element) offered what you would call a "very poor" beer selection. Perhaps you were looking for more of our own beers, but our small system unfortunately only let's us put out one of our own beers at a time. We take great pride in our extensive and unique beer offerings that compliment our own and are sorry you didn't find something you liked on this visit. Luckily the list changes frequently and is available real time on our website, so perhaps the list will contain something more to your liking on your next trip through Brattleboro.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I never write reviews, but I had too on this one,arrived at 1;15pm,we had a very long wait, even though there were empty tables, once we got seated at 2:00pm the service was slow. we had the bacon maple popcorn bowl for $3.00(too small, and cold), our food took forever to arrive, One member in our party of three,ordered a burger,it was raw,we tried to send it back, but couldn't find the server, we told the mgr, she took it back, but when it arrived it looked the same(raw in the middle), when the server finally came back to ask how it was, we told her it was the same, the server agreed w/us that the burger was raw and offered to take it back or get her something else,this was around 2:45 pm,by that time we just wanted to leave by then, we shared our food w/her and left at around 3.15pm, the bright side was my meal was very good(babyback ribs),the view over the water was nice,but I won't be going back or recommending this restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Leo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whetstone Station Restaurant and Brewery also viewed

 

Been to Whetstone Station Restaurant and Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing