We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really Slow Service”

Whetstone Station Restaurant and Brewery
Ranked #1 of 111 Restaurants in Brattleboro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Brew Pub, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Large groups, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Whetstone Station Restaurant and Brewery combines a large casual restaurant and open air rooftop bier garten, with a small experimental nano-brewery, all located right on the Connecticut River in Vermont. We offer an "inspired pub fare" style menu, with everything from small bites for a few bucks to full entrees. Along with one, always changing unique craft beer of their own they offer dozens of guest craft beers on draft and specialty drinks, all in an amazing waterfront location. The unique round building has been restored into a beautiful fire-lit space with a contemporary and industrial vibe. Indoor and outdoor dining, perched above the river, alongside a steel bridge and nestled between the green mountains make the amazing location a "don't miss" on any visit through Vermont.
Dover, VT
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Really Slow Service”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I have eaten here twice in the past 10 days. The first time we sat on the roof and I figured the service was bad because of location. The burger with onions and bacon was good. Tonight, it was an hour between appetizer and ribs (dry and mediocre). Our waitress was attentive but, clearly, the kitchen was dysfunctional. Not sure why this place seems so popular. Definitely better places to eat in Brattleboro.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vtdiver42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimBrady, Owner at Whetstone Station Restaurant and Brewery, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Our incredible views, killer craft beer list, friendly staff and comfortable atmosphere are what work right now. Believe me when I say that no one is more concerned about our kitchen than us. Our recent expansion (nearly doubling in size) has caused a lot of challenges. We are working on this every day. New equipment, new hiring, daily training - we want to get this right. We're in this for the long haul and know that it's not an overnight fix. We take these comments very seriously and are embarrassed to have dropped the ball like that - we know that our team is so much better than this. We're sorry to have let you down on this visit and we hope you'll give us another shot to get this critical part of the experience right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

855 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    407
    307
    89
    37
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
57 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A Brew with a View”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Brattleboro has no shortage of places to chill over a cool beer, but Whetstone has the advantage of a fabulous view of the Connecticut River from its upstairs, open-air bistro. Although we have not dined in the restaurant proper, downstairs, everything we have ordered upstairs, from the many beers and cocktails to the small plates, has been top notch--and eminently reasonable. Where can you get hand cut potatoes, fried and seasoned with chive oil and Parmesan cheese for only $4? Apart from the many beers they have on draft from elsewhere, they always feature one of their own each month. Southern Vermont has many places to hike, and the Whetstone is a perfect conclusion on a sunny afternoon (and justification for minor indulgence after the hike!).

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sweeney221b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“What a view!”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We loved the margaritas and the great view for the top floor bar. We went downstairs for the full menu at dinner time and it was great! Super nice staff!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank dianetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“fun, relaxed, place with excellent beer and great food!”
Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

We had a wonderful night here on the "upper deck", watching the sunset, overlooking the river. I had "drunken mussels" - a very different, but really great interpretation of steamed mussels. There was some really yummy sausage in the broth, which was made on the base of beer, rather than wine. Fits the many, many delicious craft micro brews that they have on tap! Get the flight of beers. You get to chose 5 different ones and they come in five small, but not too small ;-) glasses on a board shaped in the outlines of the State of Vermont. Then go on happily ordering pints of your favorite one. Mine was a very hoppy IPA... Made some friends there - getting in contact with the locals is very easy...

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Spuetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brattleboro, Vermont
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Restaurant and Brewery”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Whetstone Station, is one of the few places I have visited and this place is awesome. My friend and I were bore our of our mind and decided to visit down town Brattleboro. This small place is located right next to the Connecticut River, and a bridge that connects to the next local town, the local people know this awesome place as one of the best local brewery which is process at the rear end of the main entrance of the restaurant. The beer and the food is excellent. If you are just looking for a good place to quench your thirst or have a good meal this is it guys....

If you ever visit Brattleboro please visit this place its a great and friendly environment, our waitress Abby was just great, she knows how to take care of the customers and make them feel at home. Keep up the good work Abigail, it was great to be attended by you....until next time

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ig P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whetstone Station Restaurant and Brewery also viewed

 

Been to Whetstone Station Restaurant and Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing