We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible beer list. Try the peanut butter burger!”

Whetstone Station Restaurant and Brewery
Ranked #1 of 111 Restaurants in Brattleboro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: American, Contemporary, Pub, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Whetstone Station Restaurant and Brewery combines a large casual restaurant and open air rooftop bier garten, with a small experimental nano-brewery, all located right on the Connecticut River in Vermont. We offer an "inspired pub fare" style menu, with everything from small bites for a few bucks to full entrees. Along with one, always changing unique craft beer of their own they offer dozens of guest craft beers on draft and specialty drinks, all in an amazing waterfront location. The unique round building has been restored into a beautiful fire-lit space with a contemporary and industrial vibe. Indoor and outdoor dining, perched above the river, alongside a steel bridge and nestled between the green mountains make the amazing location a "don't miss" on any visit through Vermont.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Vermont is know for its craft beers, and Whetstone seems to be Vermont's newest craft beer mecca. Couple that with a creative and fairly-priced menu (steak tip and shrimp kabob app for $7? yes, please.) and this is going to be our family's go-to dinner spot in Brattleboro, for sure.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lukeQstafford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (954)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

933 - 937 of 954 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2012

We (3 adults) stopped for lunch on August 10, 2012. We were seated overlooking the river. Great setting! Service was prompt, food was good. Thunderstorm came up and waitress moved us under the awning. Awning began collecting water so we were moved back by the bar. The staff and one of the owners (sorry I forgot his name) did everything under their power to make our lunch a great experience. We tend to make the best of situations as did the staff/owner which made our visit a memorable one! We enjoyed our meal and beers and caught a great rainstorm during our lunch. We would definitely go back! (I have to agree about the kilt thing. Maybe ask your staff what they would be comfortable wearing and go with the majority...input from employees makes for happier employees.) Best wishes on your Labor Day opening for the inside dining!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Delores M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Getting all elements right must be harder than we thought! We recently supped atop the deck of the not-quite-ready-for-prime-time Whetstone Station. Thus far there is only outdoor dining on the deck--which is wonderful if the night is summer-y right--which it was the night we were there. There is a splendid view of the Connecticut River and Mt. Wantastiquet--a bit of serenity away from the buzz of Main Street and Mis-Function Junction. But alas the ambiance was ruined by the bad soundtrack of "music" being piped out to all. If you must invade all ears choose something more in keeping with the view! Then there were the strange costumes of the serve staff--a cross between Scottish highlander kilts and Barbie tops. Once again discordant with the venue. The serve staff were attentive, polite, and accommodating in all respects. We're hoping that pays off in good tips all around for them, as it must be hard to be in good spirits dressed in such garb. The mussels special? Fair--but hard to get past the charred (burned) toast. Frozen strawberry daiquiri? Tasty--but sadly not frozen or embellished with real fruit. Burgers--great; and the side salad--exceptional with fresh greens. As these folks hope to distinguish themselves as a brewery, I've saved our biggest criticism for last. The $4 a pop brews (they do have a nice long list to try) come in the smallest glasses we've ever seen in any brewery in which we've ever been. Honest, they must have had to special order them. Just seems to an outsider that when the actual brews are probably not the largest expense in running a business like this, they might want to consider giving a guy a decent size glass. Here's hoping they can find a more consistent and more harmonious "style" and will buy some decent size glasses. This first class location deserves a first-class establishment!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Patty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimBrady, Owner at Whetstone Station Restaurant and Brewery, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2012

Thanks for trying us out during our "sneak peak" while we finish building our restaurant and brewery. We are glad you enjoyed our awesome burgers and appreciate your feedback. We are proud to be beer geeks (but not beer snobs) and to pour all of our beers in the correct glass for the style. No "shaker" glasses passed off as "pints" here. Many of our beers are poured at a true 16oz. Of course, our high ABV beers (over 9%) are served in smaller pours (8 - 10oz). We even have a fun surprise glass we serve our "cheap" (adjunct lager) beers in :-) We appreciate your comments as we want all of the aspects of our experience to match our incredible views. We look forward to wowing you on your next visit! Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

The location is perfect! A beautiful evening...great fries...we should have ordered burgers because they looked great! You know how you see great food but you did not make the right selections....next time we will not order assorted hors d'oeuvers and go straight for a sandwich plate! Beautiful setting.

Thank Alleycat0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We enjoyed a "sneak peak" preopening of the Whetstone Station, formerly the Riverside, on a beautiful Saturday August 18, 2013, celebrating our 36th wedding anniversary. Perched on the second story deck, the view of the River the Route 119 bridge to New Hampshire, and the beautiful Wantastiquet Mountain to the east. The chunk salad was fresh and tasty and the bowl of crispy fried potatoes au gratin, absolutely sinful. The wait service was outstanding--friendly, enthusiastic, helpful; and prices very reasonable. We didn't partake, but there is a nice bar on the deck as well. The interior of the restaurant wasn't open yet--grand opening scheduled for Labor Day. Great fun!

1  Thank Lenthetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whetstone Station Restaurant and Brewery also viewed

 

Been to Whetstone Station Restaurant and Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing