We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the Marina”
Review of The Marina

The Marina
Ranked #3 of 111 Restaurants in Brattleboro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $23
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Marina offers fresh seafood, steaks, burgers, salads, a wide variety of vegetarian options, a kid's menu, homemade desserts, a full bar (with a great selection of local beer), beautiful waterside dining, amazing sunsets... And much more!
Carlisle, Mass.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“the Marina”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We went to dinner this past weekend, after attending the Family weekend at my son's college. It was great..Not too long a wait at all. The food was all delicious. We ate outside, which was so special..The end of the day spent at a nice, fun restaurant. We will most definitely return. It has simple fare, lots of nice salads(I had salmon salad and it was so good!) Nothing fancy, but a great place to bring the family, relax and enjoy!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JoanBlousteinHoffman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    207
    101
    29
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Metrowest, MA
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Casual atmosphere, eclectic menu, divine desserts, fantastic!”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Tucked away off the main road in Brattleboro, we stumbled on The Marina. A very popular eatery for travelers and locals alike. The restaurant has both indoor and seasonal outdoor seating (right on the banks of the local river). We did have to wait for a table (25 min.) and it was worth it. The Marina has Adirondack chairs on the porch for diners while they wait for their table. Waitstaff was courteous and attentive. The menu is eclectic. Apps, salads, burgers and sandwiches. But there are other dishes that raise the bar like roasted duck, grilled scallops, lobster and scallop pie to name a few.
Our party had the grilled chicken salad, Santa-Fe salad, crab cakes and fried calamari with a spicy aioli. We decided to eat lite to save room for the deserts. Crab cakes were big, meaty and crunchy! Dad paired it with a salad and sweet potato fries (also crispy). The grilled chicken salad was very nice with almond slices and very moist chicken. However, it needed a little more char on the outside. The Santa-Fe salad was disappointing per my hubby. The chili was too much with very few greens. The fried calamari was delicate and tender but the crust was not breaded but a flour dip. This left the crust a bit lacking in taste and crunch.
The deserts were outstanding. Maple walnut tart and a raspberry (or blueberry) tart. We added a scoop of homemade ice cream (divine) along with a decent cup of coffee. We four were well fed at approx. $25 per person. We will come again, and again, and again. PS: Sunday brunch is also available.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MissyTMetrowest_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Find”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

While visiting the area we had lunch at the Marina. What a cute place, we had excellent food and excellent service. We had a seat by the windows with a view of the river. There were 3 of us and we all loved our food, great sandwiches and clam chowder. We will definitely go again when traveling in the area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank pudgefan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food”
Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

The food was good not great. Service was very good. Cute place. The bisque could use some chucks of lobster but the taste very good. Crab cakes were good as well. The lobster Mac and cheese needed seasoning

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sw26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So.NH
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Would Have Been 4 Stars Except For The Noise”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

There's a real lot to like about The Marina, starting with the view of the West River. You're basically sitting almost in it -- that and a few good craft beers will take an edge of anyone's afternoon. We sat inside to get out of the wind, but even there the water glinting in the sun is right next to you. The surprise was the quality of the food. We had the ribs, which were smoky, fall off the bone tasty with a good BBQ sauce, and the Mahi special, which was excellent -- juicy and not overcooked, plated with a nice mango condiment and perfectly done roast potatoes. The only drawback was the noise -- lots of hard wood and metal surfaces reflect and seem to amplify voices, especially in the bar (then again, we were there on a Friday night and the place was packed). Highly recommended, and if you go not at a peak time, or sit outside, it will no doubt be a bit more peaceful.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank mswales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing