We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“There is reason this is rate 1-star....” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Brattleboro
Stamford, CT
Level Contributor
231 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“There is reason this is rate 1-star....”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

As all life lessons- "you get what you pay for". I booked two nights to ski up here.
Got in late the first night. The room was freezing, so I turned on the air conditioner / heater. If you can tolerate the loud noise from the heater - which most won't. Then don't stay here.
The shower was clean and simple - but if you can't handle a prison shower - don't stay here.
If you want a cheap bed to sleep in for one night, and willing to sacrifice air quality, and a loud heater - then stay here.
Hey, it's the cheapest around.
I checked out in the morning after a terrible sleep. I didn't stay the second night, but I was still charged the second night even though I voiced my points that the heater was too loud and couldn't sleep. So I am posting this negative review to return the favor of being charged a second night. Let this post serve as a warning to all...

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bush242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
econolodgevt402, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for providing your comment. We understand that you have already aired this out to our staff. It must have been a regrettable experience to stress about such things during a vacation. We ensure you that we take all comments into consideration whenever we review our hotel status. Our facilities like the heater, shower and beds are maintained so that our clients are worry free and completely relaxed. Your warning has made us persevere even more to prevent such inconveniences from happening again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    16
    26
    10
    22
See reviews for
21
27
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Very friendly and helpful staff. Well located. Clean room, with all you need for a comfortable night. Quiet. Supermarket and Walgrens withing walking distance.
Fast wi-fi. We didn't know just what to expect, and were very pleasantly surprised. We would gladly stay here again. Very good value.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jamesdrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
econolodgevt402, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for sending you comment. It is absolutely delightful to hear warm comments made by guests. We are happy you have found our amenities suitable your needs. We will be just as glad to have you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

As you can see by reading some of the replies by the owner, this hotel is not the best place to stay in Brattleboro. Owners were downright nasty over trivial issues such as requesting clean towels, more toilet paper, and when asking directions to the hospital.
There seems to be a lot of owner/operator family members staying at the motel, and as a result, there is additional noise such as barking dogs and loud or crying children.
Although the room was clean, the environment was quite unrestful and I was made to feel very uncomfortable and unwelcome.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TapestryH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
econolodgevt402, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
We appreciate the comment you have left for us. We do not wish to appear trivial to our guests and we apologize if this was how we appeared. We will be more tactful in speaking to guests as we would like to help as much as we could. Our hotel is open to all sorts of guests; pets included. It was unfortunate that the crowd had bothered you during your stay. We will always value your business with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Brattleboro hotels

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

You must have to check this property out among all . In October high season, their rates were among the more reasonable in Brattleboro and the place is comfortable, well-maintained surroundings, very SAFE very friendly staff, SUPER clean rooms and within easy walking distance of some enjoyable restaurants. Their breakfast was really enjoyable and had nearly everything one could want like egg omelets, bacons, sausage, yogurts and much much more...
AND addition to all these, supermarket adjacent to hotel was convenient for us.
Definitely Would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Krish-GM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
econolodgevt402, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
It is a delight for us to receive reviews like these. We appreciate that you have written all of them down. These sorts of comments guarantee our future guests that we ceaselessly service the best of our capabilities. We will be eagerly waiting for your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Stopped at this hotel for the night, hoping to sleep and conitnue our travel. The carpet, bathroom floor and walls were filthy and/or stained. Strong smell of mildew...we never stayed at an Econo Lodge before...I dont think we will again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYCFamilyOf3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
econolodgevt402, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
does not seams like you have been staid with us. identify your self and provide room number which you stayed in. and have you reported any problems to front desk. as manager i am every day at the hotel desk and specially in the morning at the time of breakfast i serve breakfast to our motel i make them waffle talk with them and if they have any problem take care right-away or change rooms. but sorry without identifying your self i cannot validate this comment.
thank you
DP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Seneca, New York
Level Contributor
174 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

this hotel was clean, quiet, convenient to highway and restaurants and the bed was comfortable. Staff was pleasant and helpful. The dining area for breakfast connected with the lobby was TINY! (...Maybe I'm glad we didn't have to share that tiny space with others) and the pool is in the middle of the parking lot!
Why does breakfast end by 9am? When vacationing, we like to sleep in-which means we often miss breakfast-available from 6am-9am. Check out is 11am-why not extend breakfast-even if it's for 1 hour? If the hotel trade wishes to please the vacationer, an extended breakfast hour would be GREAT!

Room Tip: before check-in, ask to see the room 1st-and check the bathroom for cleanliness...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rbrfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
econolodgevt402, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
thank you for staying with us. it was pleasure to have you as our valuable guest. the breakfast is set for 3 hrs as the rules and regulation of the motel. most of all the hotels motels and inns with limited, mid-scale or economy services has a set time of 3 hrs of breakfast. our facility is economy segment (budget motels) we have small place for the breakfast but we provide more items which mid-scale provides, then just its requirement which is (coffee, donuts, muffin and juice). sorry for small breakfast which accommodate 12- 15 people at a time and we are smaller facility so within 3 hrs of time guest can have the breakfast. also some of the guest like to take it to their room too. we can'not do any structural change to the properties. yes we are renovating our lobby and breakfast this november 2012 which brings modern looks and easy for all.
thank you
DP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emsworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
215 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

I was unfortunate enough to have to stay here on a short trip to VT, and had my planned stay been longer, should have walked straight out. It is situated right on the main road, attached to so-called outlet mall (consisting of a couple of grocery stores, fast food joints and a gas station). The Reception area is tiny, doubles as Business Center, where you have to stand to use a pc badly in need of repair as not all the keys work; and as the breakfast area, with 3 small tables.

The room itself, purporting to be non-smoking, stank, was dark and dingy and appeared not to have been cleaned in a very long time. The carpet was stained, the tiny shower had a door which would not close and the sealant around the edge needed replacing, as the rubber was hanging off. Paintwork was grimy and chipped. The floor of the shower just looked grimy.

There is a large outdoor pool, although nobody was using it, being right on the roadside.

A group of bikers sat outside, shouting loudly until the small hours, and then started up early next morning, waking up everyone.

Breakfast was bleak, with concentrate fruit juice and nothing fresh at all, and barely any milk.

Downtown was over a mile away, and without a car, you would need a cab to eat out, as although there is a bus, I saw none at all whilst I was there, and anyway they stop running early evening. A pizza joint along the road had poor food and worse service; thank goodness for Walgreens, where the staff were friendly and helpful.

Cab drivers and locals said to a man they would not send anyone there they knew.

This place seems typical of independently run hotels/motels such as this, where the owners or franchise holders will not make any investment to improve the property. There are no amenities for guests at all. Altogether, a miserable stay.

It may suit passing truck trade for a quick night's rest, but otherwise would not be recommended.

Room Tip: Don't go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank balticbash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
econolodgevt402, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
thank you for staying with us. sorry for your confusion i don't know if (danish, bagel, wheat and white bread toast, cereal 2 kind (raisin brand & cornflakes), milk (vita-D) , egg, sausages & bacon, 2 flavor Belgium waffle, 4 kind of 100% juice (Orange, apple, cranberry & kiwi Strawberry) and yogurt (flavored)) items are we serve from since august 2011 and if this is not the breakfast then should i serve STAKE AND POTATO. if you consider next door shopping plaza as outlet then its not my fault, because out let is 100 feet away diagonally across from our motel. Another fact is no one can run without gas (GAS-STATION) & (FAST-FOOD) they are the back bone busy life of USA. i don't know the racist cab driver cant drive without gas. you booked smoking room single queen which obviously smell smoke sorry not mildew . single rooms are small and was renovated in 2010 i specially upload the picture of the room. and one more thing if their is any problem we take care instantly.
thank you
manager
DP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brattleboro
3.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#10 of 11 in Brattleboro
3.0 of 5 stars 367 reviews
3.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Brattleboro
2.8 mi away
Colonial Motel & Spa
Colonial Motel & Spa
#6 of 11 in Brattleboro
3.5 of 5 stars 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Latchis Hotel
Latchis Hotel
#2 of 11 in Brattleboro
4.0 of 5 stars 306 reviews
3.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel...
#1 of 1 in West Chesterfield
4.5 of 5 stars 141 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
#1 of 11 in Brattleboro
4.0 of 5 stars 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 515 Canal St, Brattleboro, VT 05301-6624
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Brattleboro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Brattleboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Brattleboro
Brattleboro Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing