We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Night of Horrors before Halloween”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Brattleboro
Guilford, Vermont
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Night of Horrors before Halloween”
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Although we live only seven miles away, we were trapped @ the Brattleboro Econo-Lodge on Sat.Oct.29th, 2011, due to the early snow storm that made travel--especially w/out our studded snow-tires--impossible. Almost immediately after settling in, the electricity went off. Although I don't fault them for this problem (though as many times as this happens during our inclement New England weather, you'd think they would have a back-up generator to at least provide limited emergency power). However, when we asked for an additional blanket, we were told that this could not immediately happen, as the staff who had the keys to the linen closed was out plowing roads somewhere. We were assured that staff would send a blanket down to our room as soon as he arrived back at the motel. Hours went by; the room grew progressively colder. (At least staff gave us one small candle; otherwise we'd have to rely on the flashlight from my car.) We requested an additional blanket one more time, and were again given the same excuse. Hence, we spent a semi-sleepless night, shivering in a cold room with inadequate blankets. We did have a romantic, candle-lit dinner at a nearby Chinese restaurant (also due tot he generalized power outage caused by the snow storm). Fortunately, around 5:00 a.m., the power did come back on, and we were able to get a few hours of sleep in our warmer room. When we asked for a rebate from the $90+/night room charge, however, we were refused. In the morning a member of the staff said that he had mixed us up with another guest, who had also asked for an additional blanket. This was hard to believe, as we asked multiple times during the early- and late-evening, giving our names and room number each time. In the past, when family came to town for a graduation or other family events, we made reservations at this motel. Never again!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eastmagicmountainman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    18
    29
    12
    24
See reviews for
22
29
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed February 15, 2011

I have stayed here many times over the last few years- for Ice fishing- and have always had a positive experience. THE STAFF is very devoted to make your stay the best it can be.
Highly recommend this place for a stop in southern VT.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HardwaterFishin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2011

The room I had was pretty big ,very clean ,and had everything i needed for a good night sleep. The staff was very friendly and honest. I went to Vermont for business and stayed there for the night. in the morning i packed my thing and left . after about 30 min i noticed that i had left my gps somewhere, I called the motel and asked to please check if i had left it in the room and the lady assured me that she would call me regardless if she found the GPS or not, only about 15 min went by when I got a call form the Lady who said that she found it.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PC617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2011

I stayed there with my husband and small child the hotel was not very clean. But thats not the worse part about six days after staying there I recieved a charge on my credit card for a 30.00 pet fee. I have no pets so I called and they told me that they were not taking the fee off and that there was pet hair on the floor six days later ok. So watch your money if you stay there as far as they are concerned they think they can charge you what ever they want after they have your credit card. Beware..

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trdracing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Brattleboro hotels

Northford, CT
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 30, 2010

This was our second visit to the Econo Lodge. THe first visit was great and we were very happy with our stay. However, this last visit we cannot say the same. The room was fine, but the service was not up to par. The first morning at breakfast, the attendant stormed out without saying hello or good morning and rudely attempted to scold me for filling a water bottle with orange juice. Nowhere on the juice machine did it say you were only allowed to use the tiny plastic cups. No food was eaten, all I wanted was juice and it should not matter because it is free breakfast which is PAID FOR in the price of the room. Next, we were not brought towels on our second day and went to the lobby to ask for a couple bath towels and were told we had to wait for room service while she stood there folding clean towels. Room service did not bring towels until hours later and by then we were forced to leave for the day without showering which was ridiculous. We will not be staying here again because of the lack of customer service.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TreborandYanzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2010

We booked a room with double beds and a rollaway for $70 on Jan 2nd in order to go skiing at Mount Snow the next day. The room was clean, and the staff was courteous. The room was a decent size and had a fridge and an ironing board. While the cell phone reception was bad (not the hotel's fault), the hotel did provide a good WiFi connection to the rooms. The free continental breakfast was good even though the breakfast area in the lobby was quite small. My one big complaint was the parking lot was icy.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edmundo209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level 6 Contributor
537 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 332 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2009

We were on our way back from Canada to Maine and needed a place to rest. There are 3 exits in Brattleboro Vermont and this Econo Lodge was right off Exit 1. The room looked like something out of the 60's but it was clean, the bed was comfortable, and the price was very cheap. When we set out for dinner we realized that most of the hotels are located at exit 3. Much nicer but also much higher. There was a so called continental breakfast offered with a self serve waffle maker, however, the waffles tasted as if the batter had gone bad and we couldn't eat them. There was coffee and juice and a couple of doughnuts and bagels under a plastic cover. Basically if you are looking for a very inexpensive night stay with a clean room the Econo Lodge fits the bill.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TACOB0B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brattleboro hotels
2.8 mi away
Colonial Motel & Spa
Colonial Motel & Spa
#4 of 10 in Brattleboro
258 reviews
1.0 mi away
Latchis Hotel
Latchis Hotel
#3 of 10 in Brattleboro
344 reviews
3.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 10 in Brattleboro
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
#1 of 10 in Brattleboro
571 reviews
3.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Brattleboro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 515 Canal St, Brattleboro, VT 05301-6624
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Brattleboro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Brattleboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Brattleboro
Brattleboro Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing