We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thai in Southern Vermont”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Thai Bamboo

Thai Bamboo
Ranked #33 of 111 Restaurants in Brattleboro
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Boonton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Thai in Southern Vermont”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

Very good food, nice atmosphere. Parking can be hard to find at times, but not after 6. Specials vary a lot, and I have never been disappointed.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank teddybare803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    35
    10
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
429 reviews
320 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“OK, but too much pre-prep”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

I was visiting in Brattleboro and wanted some spicy Thai food, so I gave the place a try. The decor is beautiful and airy, the wait staff is attentive, but the food had many flaws. The tempura shrimp was not lightly battered and quick cooked. The batter was heavy and dark brown crusted. My guess? It was pre-frozen or re-heated. There were a few pieces of tempura coated veggies on the plate. These were light colored but doughy, not crispy. I also had crisply fried chicken tossed with stir-fried peppers, mushrooms, fresh basal an d a spicy sauce. The veggies and sauce were served hot, but the crispy chicken it was tossed with was at room temperature and dry. My theory: the chicken was pre prepped hours (or days) in advance and thrown into the veggie mix at the last minute. I've had the dish many times and when properly prepared the freshly fried truly crispy chicken and freshly stir-fried veggies get combined while both are hot.. The spicing was great, but the cook doesn't have his/her act together and is slapping together too much pre-prepped stuff.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fontek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Everything was very good, including the service. It was a bit slow for lunch, but it did work in our favor. The service was quick and the food came out hot and tasted great. The portions were perfect, you didn't walk away hungry or feeling over stuffed and the price was right. I recommend the Thai iced tea and the Basil and chili with chicken. They pair well together.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Everything was fine...just took a while to get served, but we didn't mind, we're not picky or impatient. Right in the middle of Brattleboro, a nice area.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank pootershow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
122 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great food, slow service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Food was very good - we had appetizers & main courses. Portions were large as you would expect.

Service was a little bit disorganized even though the restaurant was 80% full.

Food, when it came eventually was good.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank LondonHDL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Bamboo also viewed

 
Brattleboro, VT
Brattleboro, VT
 

Been to Thai Bamboo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing