We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!”

The Works Bakery Cafe
Ranked #15 of 110 Restaurants in Brattleboro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $9
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Description: The Works to you: humanely-raised, naturally-cured meats and poultry with no antibiotics or added hormones. Local eggs from cage-free chickens. Hormone- and antibiotic-free milk and cream cheese from Vermont family farms. Breakfast and lunch sandwiches and paninis on artisan bread, wraps or traditional boiled-and-baked bagels made with unbleached, unbromated flour. Fresh salads. Hearty, from scratch soups. Fresh-fruit smoothies. Rainforest Alliance Certified coffee. Thoughtfully sourced, local when possible.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

The artichoke sandwich was simply superb! The coffee was excellent and the service terrific. Recommend highly!

Thank Nantseroon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer F, Front Office Manager at The Works Bakery Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Nantseroon: Thank you for your review! I am glad that you had such a good experience with us! I will be sure to let the staff know that they did such a good job! Please stop by again soon! ~Jennifer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (135)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

98 - 102 of 135 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2013

We all enjoyed our sandwiches in this nice open refurbished space. I was surprised at how flavorful my grilled ham and cheese; the apples and honey mustard really brought out the flavor. The staff also prepared a simple grilled cheese for my daughter that wasn't on the sandwich board menu. Muffins and either pastries looked good but not tried by our party.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Int_Bus_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer F, Front Office Manager at The Works Bakery Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Int_Bus_Travel: Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant! I am glad that both you and your daughter enjoyed your sandwiches, we really try to make them to order so that you get what you want. I hope that if you're ever back in town you will stop by again! ~Jennifer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

While staying in town we stopped for lunch and a quiet break from our walk. Having eaten at this location several times in the past we knew the food, bagels, and various salads would be very good. All three of us enjoyed our lunch in a nice informal atmosphere. The only thing keeping us from considering this establishment as "excellent" is the relatively high prices of many menu choices. If you dont mind paying seven or eight dollars for a bagel with toppings there is no problem. Food is good and enjoyable, though I thought the staff could be a bit friendlier.

Thank Costas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer F, Front Office Manager at The Works Bakery Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Costas A: Thank you for your review. I'm glad that you enjoyed your food. I know that our prices may seem high, especially compared to fast-food; but we do our best to provide locally-sourced, antibiotic-free, and cruelty-free foods. We hope that you think it is worth it, as we do. I have sent a message on to the manager to find out why your service was less than friendly; we pride ourselves on our friendly staff. Hopefully, you will be able to join us again so that we can improve your experience! Thank you for being a loyal customer! ~Jennifer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Good sandwiches and an assortment of goods to eat. All made fresh right in front of you. They are also super green, almost all local and organic stuff and the same prices as most other places.

Thank sVT_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer F, Front Office Manager at The Works Bakery Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

sVT_traveler: Thank you so much for stopping in, and for your review! I am so glad that people are realizing that our mission is just as important as our food! We strive for locally sourced, hormone-, pesticide-, and cruelty free foods. We also are implementing composting wherever possible. I hope we can continue to serve you! ~Jennifer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The smoothies here are so good that the kids will pick this over all other options if we are downtown. Prices are about the same as anywhere else in Brattleboro

Thank JSTVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer F, Front Office Manager at The Works Bakery Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

JSTVT: Thank you for your post! I am so glad that your kids enjoy our smoothies! I have them often, especially when the weather is hot. How wonderful that they choose something cool which is good for them too! ~Jennifer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Works Bakery Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Works Bakery Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing