We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great spot for locals & travelers”

Black Bear Sugarworks Farm Stand
Price range: $4 - $9
Cuisines: Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating
Description: We are moving to Brooklyn, New York. With luck we should be open by late August.
Brattleboro, Vermont
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great spot for locals & travelers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

Had a good pulled pork sandwich, Mexican coke (made with sugar, not hi-fructose corn syrup), and a maple soft serve ice cream. All excellent and, except for the coke, locally made. Maple syrup from their farm is available too! Get there before the outdoor cart season's over!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ZeldaBoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    1
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lebanon, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Fast Food in New England”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

Coming home from vacation in northern Vermont we stopped by this little "hotdog" stand for a quick bite. Right off exit 1 off of Interstate 91 it is a real gem. The grass fed beef hotdog served on a locally baked hot dog bun was the best I have ever eaten. The grilled cheese was just as fabulous with Vermont made cheese and homegrown tomatoes. The lemonade is fresh. Even more heavenly is the Maple Creamy. Soft serve ice cream packed with maple goodness. I even bought 2 quarts of their maple syrup. This place is quintessential Vermont experience that's convenient and affordable.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akita, Japan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Perfect, pleasant surprise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2011

Great, unexpected experience! The perfect addition to a beautiful fall day!

We stopped in to this foodstand because we saw a sign saying "Local Pork for sale" and we quickly pulled in. We got a hot dog, and lots of frozen pieces of pork from the farmer's most recent pig. I have not yet cooked the pig, but I am predicting it is delightful!

The farmer was great! Honest, helpful, and kind. He worked day and night to make his farm successful, and we were so fortunate to get his outlook on his experience as a farmer in VT.

As a tourist/consumer, we can make a huge difference in the local community. Right now, VT is struggling, so make sure to buy local. Farm stands like Black Bear Sugarworks are perfect to support because they are safe, fun, and support the local agriculture.

Make a special trip down 89, off at Exit 1. You will not regret it!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank christyna50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Elizabeth, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great experience -- delicious goodies”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2011

We had a great time at this quick little stop. Friendly owner, good hot dog, wonderful lemonade on a hot day. Best of all is, of course, the maple sugar treats! Totally worth getting off the highway for. I'll always stop by when in southern Vermont!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank CBrodrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belchertown, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Hot Dog EVER”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

I stopped by the stand today for the first time. I have to say I am already looking forward to the next time I go up to Brattleboro. I had the best hod dog I have ever had. It wasn't just that the frankfurter itself was excellent, it is made with grass fed beef, but the toppings on it were fantastic; maple mustard and caramelized onions topped it off. It is aptly named the "Vermonter". I look forward to trying the rest of the menu there. Everything is made from top quality ingredients. If you are looking for something very regional in nature, excellent ingredients and inexpensive this place would be hard to top.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Bear Sugarworks Farm Stand also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing