We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“World Class Food”

The New England House
Ranked #17 of 111 Restaurants in Brattleboro
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are a family run restaurant offering classic and creative New England fare in a rustic New England atmosphere with our barn style lounge, covered bridge dining room and fireplaces.
Keene, New Hampshire
1 review
“World Class Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

World class food and great service brought smiles to me and my family after a long day with miles to go on our trip. I travel to the seacoast often and have eaten shrimp cocktail at every seafood restaurant on the NH coast. The shrimp cocktail at The New England House is by far the best i've had, and leaves all the others a distant second. The owner/operators visited with us while we were there and even made a wine recommendation that suited us perfectly. The food was great, with the steaks cooked perfectly and the desserts (all homemade, no frozen, chain restaurant stuff here) creamy and filing. I'll be back over and over and recommend friends and family do the same.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gerry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    51
    22
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brattleboro, Vermont
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Now Way Below Average”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

Under its previous ownership we always found this restaurant average or slightly below. Food was of average price and value -- never the best option in town, never horrible. Service was slow but friendly. Back then, a solid "3" on the Trip Adviser scale.

Under its new ownership the New England House has slipped badly. Service is very slow and indifferent, bordering on hostile -- quite defensive when errors are pointed out. Last night we were served five rolls and five bread plates, even though there were six of us. Silverware arrived 25 minutes after we were seated, long after the rolls and only when we asked for it. When we requested additional rolls because of the length of the wait, we were told our dinners were sitting right there on the counter, ready to be brought to us. When they arrived, meals were cold -- perhaps they would have sat there forever if we hadn't requested additional rolls.

We pointed out several discrepancies between the menu and what was actually served. Two teenagers and one adult had ordered the red, white and blue nachos, long a favored feature at this restaurant. But the nachos arrived a monochromatic yellow. With no sour cream and no salsa, both promised on the menu. Nachos were verging on burned, and lacked the traditional diversity of flavor. My own Caesar salad was bland and uninspired -- not awful, just mediocre.

Server indicated that the new owners (now 6-9 months in) were working on a new menu but didn't want to make too many changes too quickly. Apparently it never occurred to her to explain the discrepancies when (three!) people ordered a dish whose contents had changed.

Even amidst Brattleboro's declining restaurant scene, there are plenty of better options.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt J, Owner at The New England House, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you for your review. All reviews good or bad are an opportunity for us to ever improve upon our goals of great food and friendly efficient service. With the recent positive reviews we were surprised to understand that your complaint was based on the fact that we did not serve nachos made with food colored chips and that your table was erroneously shorted a bread roll. The server in question is well known in the community as someone who is very friendly, professional and in fact a long time server here with the former owners. During our transition we elected to continue with the former menu while introducing a wide variety of daily fresh specials especially as we took over during the busy season. Now as we go forward, a new menu is shortly out and along with the many continued decor improvements, which have been overwhelmingly well received, we continue in our goal to provide customers a great experience. We invite you back -pls ask for me- and look forward to improving upon your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brattleboro, Vermont
Level Contributor
59 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Atmosphere & Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

If you're looking for the Top Five Star restaurant this is the place! Great atmosphere and variety of surf and turf.

Helpful?
Thank CobraCop1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
126 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

We were driving by looking for restaurants and found positive reviews online so we pulled in. We are so glad we did! The staff is very friendly and the atmosphere is rustic. Our waitress was extremely pleasant and attentive. Two of us ordered the ravioli with vodka sauce and a balsamic reduction and two others ordered a seafood dish and a steak dish. Everything was fantastic! Casual dining at it's best. Will definitely go back when we are in the area again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wendyg88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guilford, Vermont
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Another hit and miss”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

On Sunday April 12 around 8 at night or 1 hour before closing my girlfriend and I went to have dinner at the New England house . After having 3 previous visits here and having steak on every visit and finding my filet mignon excellent and cooked by the chef himself we were disappointed to get the same meal less than what we had expected. The steak was a lesser cut and the vegetables came on the side instead of a garnish on the steak as previous visits. The garlic mashed potatoes came barley warm and unflavored . The owner finally came to the table and told us a trainee was preparing our meal . On top of all this the waitress was either ignoring us or not attentive and never brought my soup her response was " I'm
Sorry I will take it of the bill" now when I go to get steak after a right up on local papers about the new Chef I should get the chef to prepare my meal and not a trianee.

Helpful?
1 Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The New England House also viewed

 

Been to The New England House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing