We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food in rustic tavern atmosphere”

The New England House
Ranked #17 of 111 Restaurants in Brattleboro
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are a family run restaurant offering classic and creative New England fare in a rustic New England atmosphere with our barn style lounge, covered bridge dining room and fireplaces.
Northwestern New Jersey
Level Contributor
111 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good food in rustic tavern atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

We dined here while staying in Brattleboro for a ski weekend. The atmosphere was rustic, colonial, tavernish - cozy and casual. (There was some renovation going on in the entrance area, but the dining area was comfortable and attractive.) Tables are arranged in a large room around a central bar; spacing was good for conversation. There were TVs hanging from the corners of the room.
Food was good, homey, New Englandish. There were good local beer selections.
A pleasant dining experience - atmosphere fit with the mood of our old fashioned New England ski weekend.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EmptyNesterMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    51
    21
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brattleboro, Vermont
1 review
“Great food at a fair price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

Went here this past weekend with the new dining room open. The floors are lovely and bring a new feel to the place. We ordered the escargot and it was outstanding , presented beautifully. The home made croustini it was on was delicious as well. My husband ordered the cafe du pre New York and I got the walnut pear Gorgonzola fettuccine. His steak was a perfect medium rare and my pasta was wonderful!! And we topped it off with their famous cheesecake with raspberry sauce. We received it all with a smile from the attentitive but not overly attentive waitress. Thanks for making our special dinner wonderful!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1234paszko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Vermont
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Food excellent ...service POOR!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Went to the New England house for a Valentines/Anniversary dinner and was VERY disappointed!
1- was made to feel it was an inconvenience when we asked to sit in a booth instead of a table even though we could see empty booths available
2 - all staff members seemed to have low moral. No smiles or pleasant conversation.
3 - surprised that certain foods weren't available especially it being Valentine's Day..(no baked potatoes)
4 - although offered, the bread basket never arrived until we reminded the waitress.
5 - one appetizer (soup) arrived at the table and by time the other three arrived (long delay) the soup was cold and had to be taken away and reheated.
6 - our reservation was for 8:00 pm and we never received our main course until 9:20 pm. The restaurant was NOT busy, there were many empty tables.
7 - water was brought to the table after being seated. We ordered a bottle of wine to have with our meal. Due to the time delay in the meal arriving (1 hr. 20 min.) we had finished the wine. We were not offered any more drinks and...refills of water had to be requested.
8 - waitress delivered steak dinners, didn't check to be sure we had what we needed and we had to call her back for a steak knife.
9 - the atmosphere for a "special " Valentines Day meal was lacking...not even a candle on the table.
10 - thank goodness the food was good!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Gina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLand, Florida
Level Contributor
132 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good food, pleasant service, nice restaurant decor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

We have been here on several different occasions, including Thanksgiving and have never been disappinted. Service is attentive, surroundings warm and comfortable especially when the fireplaces are going. The menu choices are varied and everything is served hot with good sized portions. Thanksgiving choices included salmon, turkey, prime rib, vegetarian pasta dish, which our party had selected. We all enjoyed our meals very much. On other visits we found the fish dishes very good as well as the burgers. Soups are homemade and salads arrive crisp and fresh. The resturant is handicap accesible as well. Prices reasonable too. We will continue to visit this very good restaurant.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pattio_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athol, United States
Level Contributor
82 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“We'd go there again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Finally stopped for dinner after passing this place many times back and forth between MA and NY, and glad we did. Saturday night "Prime Rib" special was one of the better we have eaten. Salad and potato were just the right sides. Prime rib was juicy and cooked to order. Atmosphere is pleasant and the service was friendly. It met all our criteria for a repeat visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Harry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The New England House also viewed

 

Been to The New England House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing