We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More prison than "retro"”
Review of Latchis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Latchis Hotel
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Brattleboro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 14, 2009

As the day dawns, (and it dawned quickly for my husband and I...say, oh...5:30AM) we are roused by noisy traffic and rather a feeling of panic as one would be when locked in a steam room for 6 hours.
This is NOT a deco/eclectic hotel. This is a wannabee.
The rooms must have been converted from old offices. The hallways have vibrated without the aid of any carpet and the clanging of large, heavy metal room doors slammed open and shut like prison doors.
The steam heat would not shut down and we had to open our window in order to stand the heat. (Hence, noise)
The room is NOT deco. It is old, tired 1980 something.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kashmirohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (361)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

314 - 320 of 361 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2009

The Good - Nice downtown location, well stocked continental breakfast, $80 for twin room per night, small 20 spot free parking lot out back, free wifi

The Bad - dated room, moldy bathroom ceiling, no outlets in bathroom, rock hard bed, noisy hallways

I wouldn’t stay here again, the room was dingy. This is an old building, but small things could be done to spruce up the rooms a bit.

I just had to laugh, after taking a shower and getting continually dripped on by the condensation that accumulated on the exposed sprinkler pipe along the ceiling.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Xeena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2009

We quite enjoyed our stay at the Latchis Hotel. If you appreciate the charm of staying in a historical building, complete the quirks thereof, in the heart of a thriving smalltown, the Latchis is charming. You will not find the Victorian overload of many B&Bs, and therefore the art deco style may seem austere. Rooms were spacious and colorful. Yes, beds were not the pillow-topped and the window shades need some patching, but we enjoyed knowing that the rate for our lavender room helped pay for further restoration. Take in a movie in the connected movie palace after supper at the brewpub, bring your sleeping mask and prepare to enjoy a piece of history in this early entertainment complex. Continental breakfast was included, but we enjoyed one of the bakery cafes around the corner.

Shower: correcting a previous reviewer who claimed that the bathroom did not include a showerhead. The Koehler fixtures do indeed look like unfinished plumbing, but if you turn on the water, you will see that the sprayer is hidden within the pipe.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barbekresla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2009

A nice alternative to chains...it has character, nice lobby, simple rooms, big bathrooms, great breakfast, funky town.

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wingtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2009

In the 1930's, businessmen who traveled, looked for convenient, clean, comfortable hotels where they could get a good meal and a nights sleep. The Latchis has an institutional feel with its coldly functional terrazzo floors and original plumbing fixtures. The room furniture would have been found in less affluent homes of that period. There are no thermostats in the rooms as they are zoned by floor and controlled by the front desk. You couldn't ask for a better location for proximity to the town which offers a lively mix of restaurants and shops. What is most exciting here is the Latchis offer of 2 movie passes to the outragously ornate movie theater next door and a $50 certificate to diner at the bistro down the street ; all for an extra 20 bucks. If you're not overly demanding and don't need lavish hotels and service to be happy, this is a fun choice. The local arts council actually runs the hotel and seems to have great influence over Brattleboro. We spoke to a lot of locals and their love for this little town is infectious. If you can lower your bar of expectations a bit, you too will find this small town Vermont experience most charming.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ditdoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2009

I live in Vermont and while on business to Brattleboro chose the Latchis because it has been an important preservation project for the state. I believe they are slowly, room by room, doing the full renovations, so when I chose the least expensive room available ($90/two twin beds), I didn't expect an art deco palace. What I did get was a very clean room with fully equipped and clean bathroom, with a window overlooking a small brook and the mountains around Bratteboro. Yes, the chairs and desk need to be stripped and refinihsed, but they are the original maple furniture, and the place is being restored as dollars are available. Which is why I'm giving them my small contribution by staying here and recommending it...

THe location is tops: it is in the town center, with several shops and restaurants to choose from, and Brattleboro food coop (with a full organic salad bar) is across the brook, accessible by a charming pedestrian bridge. In-room free, wireless high-speed internet!

I try to stay, when possible, in owner-occupied inns and B&Bs, and the old downtown hotels...But I do notice when a place is not clean, and the Latchis is clean and well maintained, not just a faded glory.

THe staff was welcoming and helpful, too

Next time I'll spring for one of the more expensive rooms to see the full extent of the renovation. BUt for the money, it is SO much better experience than the other choices in town (Super 8, Ramada, etc) If you want sterile and predictable, go to Hampton Inn....

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JakeVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2009

We arrived early, but thankfully this was no problem for the friendly receptionist. The hotel has a lovely art deco style. There was a little noise at night from the guests walking up the corridoors as there is no carpet in them. The rooms were large and clean. Hotel is well positioned for walking round Brattleboro. Also the breakfast, included was excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luckystar36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brattleboro
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Brattleboro
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
#2 of 10 in Brattleboro
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Colonial Motel & Spa
Colonial Motel & Spa
#3 of 10 in Brattleboro
322 reviews
2.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel...
#2 of 2 in West Chesterfield
175 reviews
2.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 10 in Brattleboro
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Latchis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Latchis Hotel

Address: 50 Main St, Brattleboro, VT 05301-3273
Location: United States > Vermont > Brattleboro
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Brattleboro
Price Range: $109 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Latchis Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Latchis Hotel and Theatre, Southern Vermont's Art Deco treasure at the corner of Main and Flat Streets in Brattleboro, Vermont. The Latchis is easily accessible from I-91, Route 9, and Route 5, and provides a wonderful setting for vacation, business, and corporate travel needs.Our accommodations range from economical Twin to Full Suites, as well as a conference facility options. We offer free High Speed wireless Internet in all guestrooms, as well as business services including copy, fax, mail, and internet printing through our Guest Services. Our large windowed Lobby Cafe is the perfect spot to relax, check your email or people watch. Brattleboro has an active Main Street with plenty to see, do and eat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Latchis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Latchis Hotel Brattleboro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing