We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Latchis Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$125
$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$69
$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Econo Lodge(Brattleboro)
$64
EconoLodge
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel 6 Brattleboro(Brattleboro)
$60
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Black Mountain Inn(Brattleboro)
$90
$79
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Brattleboro)
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$152
AscendHotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (369)
Filter reviews
369 results
Traveler rating
138
133
71
16
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
138
133
71
16
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsart decomovie theatermain streetmountain viewdowntown brattleborocontinental breakfastterrazzo floorsco opstreet noiseconnecticut riverboutique hoteloriginal fixturesstep back in timethe silver screen roomgreat downtown locationcookie cutterbathroom fixtures
Filter
Updating list...
232 - 237 of 369 reviews
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Pros: The location (right on Main Street in downtown Brattleboro) can't be beat with easy access to food, shopping and some nature. Great, free continental breakfast (coffee, cereal, pastries) and free wifi.

Cons: Parking is annoying if the hotel is crowded (there is a very small lot down the block for hotel guests but if that's full you have to park in one of two paid lots and basically every morning by 9 am you have to pay again or move your car). There is air-conditioning but it's pre-set so you can't control it (it was a humid weekend so my room was a little warm). I could hear doors slam and hallway noise (no carpeting in the hallways).

Overall, it's a fine place to stay, especially if you're aware of the drawbacks before you arrive.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IMATravelGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LatchisManager, Manager at Latchis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Yes, our location is not to be beat and we offer wonderful upgraded guest amenities free of charge. Parking is tight as with any hotel on very busy weekends. I have experienced more than once, parking as first come first serve even at a big box hotel.

We are a 75 year old building and provide air conditioning the best and most efficient way we can and that is by central style AC. Did you contact the front desk to request the temp be checked> We can lower it upon request.

We have beautiful wool runners in our hallways, I think that counts as carpeting. If we carpeted our hallways wall to wall over the original beautiful terrazzo floors we would not only RUIN our historic building but then you may as well be staying in a common big box hotel. Doors slam and close hard in any hotel no matter where you may be.

I am so sorry this guest did not seem to enjoy their time in their room but our rooms are fabulous, our hotel is fun and quirky and our guests love us. Not everyone is suited for historic hotels and hotels that upgrade to the point of big box look and feel are no longer historic.

We are Boutique, Unique and have tons of Mystique. We are loved and revered by thousands.

Regards,
Jonathan, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

The Latchis is a landmark hotel in the heart of charming Brattleboro. Its exterior has the wonderful art deco look as does the historic movie theater within the building. Our room (Green Room) faced the Conn. River and New Hampshire mtns. across with lots of light. It was their big weekend (Strolling Of The Heifers!) tho we were there for a wedding. Front desk was pleasant.
OK: Pricey for a country hotel (almost $200 with taxes), the continental breakfast was below budget motel level, with great bakeries all around. Shame! The parking lot was often full, had to pay for nearby civic pkg. The room and bathroom were not renovated and for that price they should have been. Group rate for the wedding was declined because "we can fill the hotel anyway" this weekend. Our room wasn't cleaned at 2:30 PM. This place has history, location, and views behind it but needs some solid attention. There are other choices.

Room Tip: If you stay here, ask for the Green Room or another away from street noise and with views and light. Don't count on their awful breakfast. Parking is available but not always free. You can walk from here all over town.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Strider462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LatchisManager, Manager at Latchis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Solid attention is given to this hotel and theatre every day 360 days per year. Keep in mind that we are a historic building at 75 years old with original fixtures. If we remove the original fixtures we cease to be historic, hence we become a corporate big box and not a boutique.

Weddings do not get a discount at any hotel. Weddings do get the courtesy of having group "blocks" to insure that a certain number of rooms are held available for wedding guests until a certain date, which we do and did. No discounts. I can assure this guest that NONE of my front desk staff made the comment "we can fill the hotel anyway" as this is not our style.

The GREEN ROOM was just renovated within the last year right down to the switches and outlets so I don't understand what this guest is referring to. The original 1938 bathroom fixtures? No, they are staying right where they are, sorry.

I'm so sorry that this guest was unhappy about lack of parking but we do have a parking lot and as with any hotel I have been to, I've had hard time finding parking in many lots on busy weekends. It happens.

The room was not cleaned at 2:30 in the afternoon because this guest had their DO NOT DISTURB hanger on the door which we followed. Sorry, we do as you ask.

Breakfast is served continental style and we offer a wide and lovely variety of breakfast goods to choose from. And yes, we'd be happy to provide breakfast items from local bakeries. We have investigated this many times. Unfortunately to avoid adding an additional $10 per room to the tab for these local offerings, we do what we do. Our breakfast is offered in the cost of the room. All our guests are free to check out any of the local bakeries and so on at any time as well as enjoy our in-house continental breakfast.

Thanks
Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We stayed here in early June for one night. The location is great, good price, clean, spacious Queen room. Breakfast fit the bill, staff were friendly and it was very quiet at night. Movie theatre next door quite convenient or a rainy day. Easy walking distance to restaurants and stores. We will be back!

Room Tip: Flat Street Queen was quiet at night
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MountainMooses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised and delighted after booking on line to find this hotel so warm and welcoming. The staff were very helpful and Amy was instrumental in making our room perfect with a great view of the river and the intersection below. There was no noise problem and the rain made it all the more cozy as I sat by the window with my glass of wine late that night whilke madam slept and fell into a timeless reverie of what is like to be in this Deco beauty back in 1938 when it was built. Never seen a hotel with a theater attached before and it would have been fun to go into the theater in slippers if it was snowing outside some night. Rates were fair. The parking is odd in that you are behind the hotel but there is a parking and unloading space on the street right at the entrance. Nice little town too. Treat yourself at this place. Pub next door and an excellent restaurant within walking distance called Peter Haven's but more about that in a restaurant review. There was some door slamming issues that should be addressed but all in all it was a great stay.

Room Tip: We were in 307 and it was very nice. Larges with good shower and very clean.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank purkasz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LatchisManager, Manager at Latchis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Thank you dear guest for this great review! We do try very hard to be everything to everyone and to take every opportunity to care for each guest.

The door slamming has been an issue we are trying to resolve as code dictates that we have self closing devices on them. We are trying different types of softening methods and have found one that will be suitable for all the doors.

We look forward to your return visit.

Regards,
Jonathan, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We visited friends in Brattleboro over a holiday weekend. The Latchis Hotel is centrally located and reasonably priced so made it a great match.

Pros:
- Nice clean, rooms
- Rooms have a nice TVs in them
- Staff is great and very helpful
- Breakfast served each morning
- The building that houses the Latchis Hotel also houses the area movie theater so if the weather is bad, you can just go catch a film

Cons:
- The front desk closes at 11. Technically, this will be in your confirmation if you book online, but only if you look for it. (I had to click through two pages to find it.) I called the day of our stay to confirm our late check-in and was told I should have called a week prior so my key would be mailed to me. A staff person came after hours to meet me and give me a key and was very nice about it.
- I thought the rooms were great - quirky and old in a good way - but I imagine many people would find the dated decor and furniture off-putting

Room Tip: Our room faced Main Street, which meant we got a great view. We're from the city and used to street noises so never heard the walk sign signal from the intersection outside, but I've heard from other hotel-goers that it was an issue.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews