We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, Location and Staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Latchis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Latchis Hotel
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Brattleboro
Certificate of Excellence
Tulsa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Location, Location and Staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

You're not paying for the room. This is an old hotel. The lobby, staircase, etc. retain some of the grandeur of yesteryear but the rooms don't reflect that, and in some ways are a bit shabby. I stayed in the second most expensive room (Queen, with mountain view) at $120 a night. The room was clean, nice TV, etc. but very basic, especially the bathroom. In your normal travels you'd expect to pay about $60 for this room. The mountain view was nice but the windows were dirty which detracted a bit.

But the pluses outweighed all this. First, this is the only hotel downtown, which means you can park your car and leave it. Brattleboro is a beutiful town and almost everything of interest was within five blocks or so. Restaurants, co-ops, brewpubs, sporting equipment, and entertain is all right there, including the movie theatre in the hotel. Probably the best part of this hotel, however, is their staff. Without exception everyone made me feel like a celebrity guest. For example, when I notfied the front desk of my late arrival they offered to have dinner from a local restaurant waiting for me. All my interactions with them left me feeling good. Their complementary breakfast is standard but the elegant dining room overlooking the street is anything but.

To sum it up, the minor downsides are entirely accurate but I would stay there again in a second.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roscoe918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    121
    61
    15
    11
See reviews for
46
177
36
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

The hotel is very basic but the staff were great...

Very central location, near the limited number of bars and supermarket..beer run!!!

The breakfast was continental but great, the staff who served breakfast also volunteered at the Latchis cinema next door,...ask for the tour, we were taken around the building including unused theatre rooms to see the decor,cielings painted with amazing zodiac scrolls... treated to some salty popcorn (got a funny look when I told them popcorn has to be sweet!!!). amazing building and an amazing history lesson, great guys we will be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathanearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londonderry, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

With your grandma's high standards of cleanliness.

Stayed for 2 days while attending several musical events in the area.
Yes, the parking is limited but there is a huge public lot right next door.
Brattleboro has lots of dining/drinking choices. Yes there are many empty storefronts but there are also many lovely shops including and an amazingly wonderful mystery bookshop and the small but beautiful Hooker-Dunham Theatre.

Would never consider staying anywhere else the next time I am in the area.
I was in the most basic twin room (304). It was clean, wi-fi worked, and the shower was warm and plentiful.

If you are going down for breakfast, bring along one of the lovely large coffee cups from your room and grab a window seat and savor the pure bliss of sitting in a corner of history.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TiptreeGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, ON, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

Really enjoyed this hotel...was in town for a concert and wanted to stay somewhere a little less cookie-cutter--I chose the right place!
I was in Room 311, which looked out onto the quieter side-street. The hotel was clean and obviously well-loved and well-maintained over its 75 years. The rooms were simple, but everything from the bed to the chairs were comfortable, spotless and new(ish). The black-and-white tile bathroom reminded me of many roadside motels from trips with my parents as a kid.
If there was one thing that was a bit "off", despite the amazing, quirky rooms, it was the staff at the front desk...they seemed very off-hand and a little clueless. There was a feeling throughout all of downtown Brattleboro, VT., of "we're just SO funky and cool here, aren't we?" attitude in the locals that permeated into the hotel staff as well, which was too bad.
Two small things we encountered with the wannabe/poseur staff that were a bit odd...
(1) there is a small parking lot for the hotel (they give you a parking pass), but it was full of cars that did not HAVE their parking pass, so we paying guests were out of luck. We told the front desk this and they were very "meh, whatever" about it. There is "laid-back", and then there is "we, like, totally don't care", and it certainly seemed to be in the LATTER category.
(2) Also, we wanted to pay cash when we left rather than leave it on our credit-card. Although they had the credit card number from our online reservation, they insisted that IF we wanted to pay cash (we gave them a head's up at check-in), we had to do it AT check-in AND leave a $100 deposit. We tried to explain we'd leave it on the credit card over-night and pay cash when we left (which I have done in hotels from Vancouver to Miami & Newfoundland to San Diego)...but the young woman at check-in was insistent...VERY strange.
These two incidents (parking and strange payment rules) were odd, but not nearly enough to wreck our stay...so, go for the clean, comfy rooms and the obvious history of the hotel, just try to avoid the "I'm so cool and hip, aren't I???" staff as much as possible...

Room Tip: Top (3rd) floor has the best views and seems the most quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYUCanadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

We enjoyed our stay in Brattleboro at the Latchis Hotel. A historical hotel but modernized without the issues typical of older buildings. Had a very comfortable large suite on the 3rd floor. Bed was comfortable. The washroom nothing to write home about but served the purpose. Windows are vintage, but with storms on them noise was okay. Water pressure and heat were good. The place was very clean and quiet and well situated. We enjoyed a simple but good continenetal breakfast. Internet available in the lobby. Very unique old theatre attached which was fun and surprisingly busy. If you are into older historical hotels this one is a must. If you need all the conveniences then I would say no. Without any notion of what we would get, we were quite satisfied. If you stay in Brattleboro, it's also worth checking out Manchester, 1hr north.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jazzman008can
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern VT
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

Our favorite room at this vintage hotel is the purple room--third floor, corner, with a view. We live locally but always include a stay at the Latchis at least once a year. We love the character, the downtown location, the view of Mt. Wantastiquet. It's a great escape for a family or couple or a writer. And what a treat, especially in the winter--to go the movies or the pub--without going outside. The theater itself is a historic gem (with popcorn popped in canola oil and homemade cookies) and the pub is a locals favorite. Both right downstairs. Outside, you'll find everything Brattleboro has to offer--from the fabulous Food Co-op & Cafe to the Museum (housed in an old train station) and to all the bookstores, cafes, restaurants and shops that line Main Street and beyond. Just across the bridge (a stroll over the Connecticut), there's hiking too, and a gentle river walk. There are other hotels in Brattleboro, but none capture time and place like this one.

Room Tip: Choose a corner room with a view of the mountain for a delicious sense of expansion (the higher up t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KellyVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westborough
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

I had a strong reference for Latchis from a friend, and enjoyed my stay at the hotel - and in Brattleboro - immensely. Sure, you can stay at a Hamptonholidaydoubletree and get interchangeable sameness, buy why? Latchis has character and a location that can't be beat. Check out Sam's next door for outdoor goods, Fireworks for dinner (perfect salmon), the antique store across the street, and whatever you do, head for McNeil's for one (or two) of their custom brews - it's around the corner, so don't start that car! When can I do this again?

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 170farmer56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brattleboro
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
#1 of 10 in Brattleboro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
1.9 mi away
Colonial Motel & Spa
Colonial Motel & Spa
#4 of 10 in Brattleboro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Brattleboro
2.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel...
#2 of 2 in West Chesterfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
3.6 mi away
Chesterfield Inn
Chesterfield Inn
#1 of 2 in West Chesterfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Latchis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Latchis Hotel

Property: Latchis Hotel
Address: 50 Main St, Brattleboro, VT 05301-3273
Location: United States > Vermont > Brattleboro
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Brattleboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Latchis Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Latchis Hotel and Theatre, Southern Vermont's Art Deco treasure at the corner of Main and Flat Streets in Brattleboro, Vermont. The Latchis is easily accessible from I-91, Route 9, and Route 5, and provides a wonderful setting for vacation, business, and corporate travel needs.Our accommodations range from economical Twin to Full Suites, as well as a conference facility options. We offer free High Speed wireless Internet in all guestrooms, as well as business services including copy, fax, mail, and internet printing through our Guest Services. Our large windowed Lobby Cafe is the perfect spot to relax, check your email or people watch. Brattleboro has an active Main Street with plenty to see, do and eat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Latchis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Latchis Hotel Brattleboro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing