We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel & Movies :))” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Latchis Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Latchis Hotel
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Brattleboro
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Hotel & Movies :))”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

booked it in rush to get overnight sleep to be closer to Stratton Mnt for Sat night in Jan 2013. All was ok, no special treatment or anything outstanding. Clean, decent, nice stuff, average room size.. Now, the special part is that building includes a movie theater & great next door bar. All very convenient. Basically the location is right in the center of all, so wherever you heading- it’s perfect! Recommend it, but no applause.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roboos25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LatchisManager, Manager at Latchis Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and we certainly hope you will stay with us again in the future. I am sorry to see the comment that we did not get any "applause". Our hotel and staff deliver the same outstanding and over the top concierge that we have been praised for in so many reviews. What special treatment was this guest expecting? I'm not sure but perhaps looking for B&B or mountain resort amenities at a boutique hotel... We offer many amenities for our guest within the scope of a boutique hotel and continue to add more and more all the time. Please call us and let us know where we were missing the mark.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    108
    57
    12
    11
See reviews for
41
156
36
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I enjoy visiting the Latchis. This trip we bought a package deal and watched an Opera at the theatre. On another visit I actually went to the theater in my P.J's. The hotel is very clean although it can be too hot for me in the winter. Try to open your window a crack.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This was my second time in Brattleboro and at the Latchis. The hotel is a very comfortable art deco atmosphere hotel with an excellent friendly and accomodating staff. And it's location near the Amtrak station, near restaurants and shops and right across the river from the mountain in New Hampshire is perfect.I will be staying here on my future visits to Brattleboro.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeFromQueensNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Pros- Awesome movie theater! Convenient downtown location. Luckily I returned to the room to get something before the movie started and noticed the room was sweltering. Luckily I could turn the radiator off. Great advice from the front desk for restaurants.
Cons- Noisy street traffic. Many trucks, snowplows clearing sidewalks until midnight with their little beep beeps going everytime they backed up. Bring ear plugs. Shower was hard to get in and out of and for some people the floor is old and may be a turn off.

Would definitely return but would take a room on the back. We thought the noise wouldn't be an issue but we were wrong. It is a main thoroughfare!

Room Tip: Get a room on the back off the street even if you have no view or wear ear plugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smudgie10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LatchisManager, Manager at Latchis Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
I appreciate your review and as the manager, let me respond to some of your points.

We are very proud of our level of service to each and every guest, thank you for that feedback.
Heating control can be an issue with any older or historic building. We do our best. Each radiator does have it's own control which the guest can adjust.

In any urban setting where an accommodation faces a street one can and should expect street noise of varying levels. If this is disruptive to the persons' relaxation or sleep they should not choose a room facing the streetscape or they may ask for an alternative room. We are always happy to oblige. Please don't give the hotel bad marks, we cannot control the street noise.

The bathroom floors are historic, yes, they are 75 year old terrazzo that was hand poured and honed. We are proud of our lovely antiquity and ur guests love it! Hard getting in and out of the shower, perhaps... our tubs are 75 year old "soaking tubs" that have higher sides than the modern "normal". Perfect for soothing and relaxing aqua-therapy. Bring your bubble bath!

AS an added amenity, we offer the use of our "sound spa" units to create a relaxing mask from outside sounds. Guests really like them even in the quiet rooms. Just an added amenity we offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

Nothing fancy, but clean, spacious, friendly and perfectly located. Would return in a heartbeat. Charming as the town itself. Skip the breakfast buffet and walk up the street to one of the great coffee shops. And be sure to check out the theater!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We booked this hotel from the Internet, so we didn't know exactly what the hotel was like. On our arrival we were greeted by a very friendly lady at Reception. When going up to our room on the second floor, it was like walking back in time. Beautifully restored interior, with furniture and décor that suited the hotels era. It is situated in the main street, right in the heart of town, so there is no need to drive anywhere. Rooms were clean and comfortable.
While you are in Brattleboro, I would highly recommend a visit to Sam's for clothing and camping gear, just up the road.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wotacroc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, Vermont
Level Contributor
139 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

The Latchis Hotel and downtown Brattleboro, VT, are treasures. I stayed there last week for a board meeting. The building is impressive Art Deco and includes a first rate movie theater (one large screen in a grand historic theater plus 3 smaller screens; Argo was playing). The rooms are most comfortable while simple (we'd paid $95 including free continental breakfast, parking and wifi). Nice conference room. The staff is special; thus, when after a couple of days I realized I'd left my iPad charger in the electrical socket of my room and phoned the hotel, the staff had it in their lost and found and is mailing it to me!

The Latchis is in the center of a surprisingly delightful downtown. Brattleboro (about 12,000) sits on the banks of the Connecticut River, with wonderful views. Thus, the Whetstone Station (very good restaurant and bar) has decks projecting almost over the river. I walked around in the morning and found a neat coffee shop (Mocha Joe's Coffee Roasters), the Hotel Pharmacy in a Victorian Church, and huge independent sports and hardware stores. (Friends were visiting a special clothing/gift shop.) We later toured the new state-of-the art food Coop with its striking architecture, green technology, impressive food selection and in-house eating. All is highly walkable, including small bridges and pedestrian ways over the West River and along the Connecticut.

If you like exploring a real downtown, with its architecture intact, local businesses, and friendly folks, this is a natural. Brattleboro is located in the SE corner of Vermont - an easy exit off I 91.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PeterBrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brattleboro
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
#1 of 11 in Brattleboro
4.0 of 5 stars 442 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
2.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Brattleboro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Chesterfield
4.5 of 5 stars 132 reviews
1.9 mi away
Colonial Motel & Spa
Colonial Motel & Spa
#6 of 11 in Brattleboro
3.0 of 5 stars 143 reviews
2.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#10 of 11 in Brattleboro
3.0 of 5 stars 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Latchis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Latchis Hotel

Property: Latchis Hotel
Address: 50 Main St., Brattleboro, VT 05301
Location: United States > Vermont > Brattleboro
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Brattleboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Latchis Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Latchis Hotel and Theatre, Southern Vermont's Art Deco treasure at the corner of Main and Flat Streets in Brattleboro, Vermont. The Latchis is easily accessible from I-91, Route 9, and Route 5, and provides a wonderful setting for vacation, business, and corporate travel needs.Our accommodations range from economical Twin to Full Suites, as well as a conference facility options. We offer free High Speed wireless Internet in all guestrooms, as well as business services including copy, fax, mail, and internet printing through our Guest Services. Our large windowed Lobby Cafe is the perfect spot to relax, check your email or people watch. Brattleboro has an active Main Street with plenty to see, do and eat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Latchis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Latchis Hotel Brattleboro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing