We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best of of the best B & B's” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Green River Bridge House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Green River Bridge House
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   2435 Stage Road, Guilford, Brattleboro, VT 05301   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Brattleboro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best of of the best B & B's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Absolutely the best B & B by all standards--an idyllic location in the woods by a covered bridge, waterfall, meandering stream, and a quaint church. The home is beautiful and comfortable with gorgeous furnishings. The innkeeper, Joan Seymour, is a warm and gracious hostess who we consider to be our friend after two visits. We can't wait to return again in the Spring. Lowell and Marilyn Heinke

Room Tip: Get the bridge room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lowell H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    2
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
60
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We spend 2 days in Green River Bridge House, it is a wonderful place, wonderful host, the Sunshine room with jacuzzi is perfect and the breakfast is delicious! We highly recommend a stay in Green River Bridge House, please be careful to the instruction to go there as the GPS is not always reliable!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GabrielandAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

When we could not find lodging on a " leafers weekend," we struck gold - a late cancellation. We found the GRBH, a beautifully restored, immaculate, 18th century country house on the river with a covered bridge and country church nearby. Joan Seymour, the charming innkeeper, greeted us warmly and showed us to our room with a jacuzzi and balcony overlooking the river. A superb breakfast of fresh fruit compote, soufflé, bacon and pastry was enhanced by the friendly atmosphere Joan created among her guests. As we later said our goodbyes, we were sure our next stay would be longer.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely, but the Sunset room has a jacuzzi and spacious balcony with a beautiful view o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

This B&B was exceptional in every way. The area was just beautiful. I can't even pick what we liked more! The covered bridge, skipping stones in the river, the peaceful nature of the area, or the gorgeous home. Great care was taken into making each guest feel comfortable. Joanie Seymour, the owner, goes to great lengths to provide her guests with an experience to remember. She made my family feel as if we were part of hers.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, PA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

If your idea of perfect Autumn in Vermont is a cosy inn net to a covered bridge spanning a beautiful small river with brightly colored leaves abounding everywhere, this is the place for you. We stayed two nights in the Sunshine Room with a jacuzzi and a deck overlooking the beautiful yard. We left the sliding glass doors ajar at night so we could fall asleep to the soothing sounds of the river as it passed over small rapids.
Joanie, our host was extremely accommodating, tending to our every need. She had suggestions on where to go and what to see. She makes a filling breakfast every morning to get you on your way. The inn is full of antique furniture and Victorian glass. It's very clean and comfortable.
The GRBH is located about 8 miles southwest of Brattleboro and the last two miles to get there are on unpaved but well maintained road. Don't follow Google Maps suggested route for getting there, call or email Joanie instead. We turned our private location into a touring asset as we followed the back country roads through some very scenic countryside, ending up in Jacksonville where there is a wonderful winery and a great pottery shop. Later we headed for Mt. Snow where we took the chair lift to the top of the mountain and were treated to a spectacular view of Autumn colors extending 100s of miles in all directions.
We had a great time and we will be back to the GBRH next fall.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms. Rooms are named for the view to be had out your windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

My husband and I have always wanted to take a trip to New England. We were celebrating a big wedding anniversary and thru my online search for places to stay... I found GRBH and it sounded perfect for a 2 night stay. We were delighted when we drove over an old covered bridge which carried us over a rocky riverbed complete with dam and falls and on the other side was the charming GRBH. The property is lush and beautiful. Joan greeted us warmly, showed us around the beautifully decorated inn and to our lovely room. One night we enjoyed building a fire in the chiminea in the backyard. The full breakfasts prepared by Joan were 5 star! She shared personal stories about her life and the surrounding area. We were treated like part of her family and plan to visit again and stay in touch. Thank you Joan for making our first visit to Vermont a special one.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice but we especially enjoyed the Sunrise Room with it's own balcony and gard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LouB396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yarmouth, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

The Green River Bridge House was the most delightful experience. The inn was immaculate, beautifully decorated, and in one of the most peaceful settings in Brattleboro, VT. The owner, Joanie, is a warm and welcoming woman who opens her heart and home to everyone who walks through her front door. Her breakfasts are phenomenal as are the treats she leaves out throughout the day. Please take advantage of the spa- Joanie gave me the best facial I've ever had. I was completely rejuvenated after a relaxing weekend at the GRNH. I hope everyone has the opportunity to spend a weekend at this perfect inn.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caeli M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brattleboro
9.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
#1 of 11 in Brattleboro
4.0 of 5 stars 443 reviews
7.6 mi away
Latchis Hotel
Latchis Hotel
#2 of 11 in Brattleboro
4.0 of 5 stars 291 reviews
8.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Chesterfield
4.5 of 5 stars 132 reviews
8.0 mi away
Forty Putney Road Bed and Breakfast
7.1 mi away
1868 Crosby House
1868 Crosby House
#2 of 5 in Brattleboro
5.0 of 5 stars 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green River Bridge House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green River Bridge House

Property: Green River Bridge House
Address: 2435 Stage Road, Guilford, Brattleboro, VT 05301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Brattleboro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Brattleboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Green River Bridge House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the picturesque village of Green River on a winding country road, the Green River Bridge House is nestled against the meandering Green River a few steps away from the historic Green River Covered Bridge. Across the road, perched on a small hill, is the former Methodist Episcopal Church, a classic white, steepled structure.Next to the covered bridge, water thunders over a rare, restored circa 1790 timber crib dam.The house, built in 1830, once housed the Green River Post Office. In earlier days the barn was the site of the local blacksmith shop. Lovingly and skillfully transformed, the Green River Bridge House is luxurious in comfort and sensuous in visual appeal. Every room is a warm embrace of soft colors, fine antiques and other unique furnishings.Though small enough to be homey, it is large enough and appropriately equipped to be the perfect setting for an intimate wedding or anniversary celebration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Green River Bridge House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing