We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't forget to get a reservation number”
Review of Lilac Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lilac Inn
Ranked #1 of 10 Brandon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I called and asked to make a reservation for a wedding. No questions were asked except for my name. When I called to cancel, the hotel had no information about me.
After the wedding, the inn keeper, Shelly, gave the groom's father our bill. He called me very upset. I called Shelly, and she kept saying he asked for the bill, which he didn't... I called her back and told her the whole story...I was so mad! So please, get a reservation number or you'll pay, either with an upset friend or/and a fee.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Patty W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilacinn, Owner at Lilac Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Patty, we were very upset after reading your comments on Trip Advisor. You rated us a 50 without even staying at the Inn. The payment you promised for the reservation has not arrived and you will not return our calls. However, if you have an occasion to visit Brandon in the future please stay with us and experience for yourself the hospitality the Lilac Inn is known for.


We purchased the Lilac Inn 13 years ago because it began life as a grand home, custom built for special celebrations. It has become a popular choice for Vermont destination weddings, as well as, romantic getaways. As a family owned business, we work very hard to ensure everyone who dines and/or stays with us has a memorable experience. We want them to return to the Lilac Inn, Brandon and Vermont.


We appreciate guest feedback and certainly hope you will consider commenting on the wedding you attended here….perhaps the food, the service, etc. This is our livelihood, our passion, a true family business and every guest is important to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (199)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 199 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2013

Our group of 16 loved the Lilac Inn. We stayed there 3 nights. The home is lovely and the chef was great. I do recommend this Inn! It would be perfect for a wedding or party. Everything was great. It is less than a 5 minute walk into town.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dianne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilacinn, Owner at Lilac Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

Dianne, thank you so much for staying with us during your vacation in Vermont. We are so glad the weather was perfect and enjoyed having your group with us. Thanks for your review and you are correct, this Inn is perfect for weddings or, any special celebration. We hope to see you on a future visit to Vermont.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Stayed two nights in the Audabon room. Accommodations were certainly adequate but nothing special and I am not sure worth $175.00/night. It was a nuisance that the bathroom door was out of line and would not close without major lifting and force. The host and hostess were quite helpful and welcoming as one would expect. Food was fairly pedestrian with the standard bacon, eggs, omelets and alternating french toast and waffles on different days. No cereals , selection of pastry, fruits, smoked fish, yogurt, porridge etc. as we experienced recently at all B&Bs in Ireland for less $s. We were a little surprised, rather than dismayed at the $38.00 charge at checkout time for our small dog. Nothing had been said about a charge either at the time of reservations or on the website for this. This is a beautiful large old home that I imagine is expensive to maintain and heat.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilacinn, Owner at Lilac Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Martin thank you for staying with us and for your comments. As we mentioned, we had a very rainy period this summer and the bathroom door in the Audubon room swelled. We thought it would return to its normal size, but that has not happened and we have a carpenter scheduled to fix it this week.

When we do a buffet breakfast we offer cereals, yogurts, oatmeal and assorted pastries. When we have less than a full house we feel it is nicer to start with a served fruit plate, followed by a different pastry each day and a cooked to order breakfast. Our servers are glad to bring cereals and yogurts to any guest who would like those choices. As many guests are here for multiple days we offer different cooked to order selections each morning.

We are sorry about the “surprise” pet fee charge. We try to make all of our amenities clear on our website. We note that the pet fee is $35.00 per stay on our home page.

Again, thanks for staying with us and we hope to see you on a future visit to Vermont.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Lovely, well kept inn with the most beautiful garden areas & nice front porch. Our room was nice & had its own heat control which was great as it got cool the night we were there. The Inn Keepers were very friendly & helpful & shared a lot of the history of the Inn & the town. Breakfast was fantastic,as was our private supper (we stayed as part of an Inn to Inn tour which included dinner). Had a nice private, copper bar & wine/beer selection. The bed was a queen - which was a little small - but was comfy. The only additions that might have been helpful would have been robes & maybe better bath products. But overall - quite a charming place!! Also, there were coffee pots & frigs scattered around the Inn rooms for access to both as guests needed

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gasdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilacinn, Owner at Lilac Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Thank you for being our guests and thanks for your comments. We are constantly reviewing our amenities and try to balance being a Green Hotel with quality bath products. We have had robes in the past, but have had difficulty finding the most suitable robe for all guests. We are researching different sources. We want each guest to feel at home and try to make each stay with us as comfortable as possible without being intrusive. Again thanks for being our guests and we hope to see you on a future visit to Vermont.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We are a couple who enjoy going to B&B Inns. Every time I thought I had found one that could not be topped there comes something better. It hit me when I walked in the door of the Lilac that this was not just another Inn, it is a destination. From the history it was built as a house to throw parties. The smaller rooms are of a good size and nicely appointed. The larger the room the more luxury you see. To my mind the public areas are plush and inviting as well as the front porch with ceiling fans offers a pleasant retreat to watch the world go by. Should you care for a bit more privacy there is a large terrace with outdoor seating that overlooks a beautifully manicured garden with a most interesting collection of plants that bloom all season. A gazebo, stone walls and a two level pond add to the beauty of the property. Doug and Shelly are magnificent hosts and the staff is there to assure your stay is pleasant. Should I be in the market for a place to hold an affair large or small this would be a place on the short list. There is not enough space to truly describe The Lilac Inn, we suggest that you go and see for yourself.

Room Tip: There are many things to do in the area in the warmer weather, hiking, biking and other outdoor acti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank harold66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilacinn, Owner at Lilac Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

Thanks for your wonderful words. Frankly it is hard to know where to begin in response, but you certainly hit the nail squarely on the head, this is a party house. It is the reason we fell in love with it 13 years ago and bought it. It is such a magnificent building that we feel more like custodians than owners. We are just saying good bye to the couple that got married here this weekend and their families. As Shelly says, if these walls could talk, this home would be very happy that another wedding has occurred under its roof. And, we will be very happy when you can return for another visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

A lovely surprise overnight as we took our son to Middlebury this fall. The Inn Keepers are beyond lovely, very helpful in orienting us to the area, great restaurant recommendation for dinner and tours locally. We slept well in room 6, great bed and quiet. Breakfast was also terrific. We hope to return soon!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Traveler12345abc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilacinn, Owner at Lilac Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Thank you for trying us and staying in Brandon. We loved having you as guests and hope to see you again for a future visit. We are getting more and more Middlebury College parents who love enjoying the quaint village of Brandon and our local shops, especially the Café Provence.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Our stay at the Lilac Inn was the highlight of our 5 day bike tour of Vermont. We stayed 2 nights and our hosts, Doug and Shelley, were charming and most accomodating. Dinner one evening at the Lilac was a memorable culinary experience. We enjoyed having cocktails in the mature country garden. Breakfast was hearty and generous. Eveyone in our group of 18 was delighted.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilacinn, Owner at Lilac Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Thanks so much for selecting us for your bike club's Vermont tour. It was our pleasure to have you with us for two nights and we are so glad you had a chance to enjoy our garden's and cuisine. We hope to see all of you on a future bike adventure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brandon
15.5 mi away
Middlebury Inn
Middlebury Inn
#1 of 3 in Middlebury
651 reviews
8.7 mi away
The Mountain Top Inn & Resort
0.2 mi away
Brandon Inn
Brandon Inn
#2 of 10 in Brandon
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Autumn Mountain Winery & Cabins
1 mi away
The Inn at Neshobe River
The Inn at Neshobe River
#6 of 10 in Brandon
17 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Gazebo Inn
The Gazebo Inn
#3 of 10 in Brandon
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lilac Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lilac Inn

Address: 53 Park St, Brandon, VT 05733-1121
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Brandon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Brandon
Price Range: $148 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lilac Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lilac Inn a leading luxury romantic Vermont Country Inn Boutique Bed and Breakfast known for romantic Vermont getaways, custom Vermont destination wedding packages, New England wedding receptions, and special family celebrations - in any season. Featured in Yankee, Country Living and Vermont magazines, the feel throughout is that of a "small luxury hotel with personal service to match". Stay four nights, and only pay for three nights in any of our nine individually decorated rooms, including five rooms with king size beds. Each morning begins at your individual table with a cooked to order three course gourmet Vermont breakfast. The Inn is located on Park Street, the prettiest street in Vermont in the quaint but welcoming village of Brandon. Located midway between Middlebury and Rutland, Brandon is an unspoiled village in the authentic Currier & Ives tradition that has been tastefully updated to suit the needs of today's visitor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Lilac Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lilac Hotel Brandon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing