We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“June 2013 stay at the Lilac Inn” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lilac Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lilac Inn
Ranked #1 of 10 Brandon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Tallahassee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“June 2013 stay at the Lilac Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

Arrived earlier than check-in and were welcomed by owners Doug and Shelly. After a tour of rooms( we booked 4), we settled in and roamed the grounds. Each room was spotless and each had it's own unique decor! The bar and eating areas were gorgeous (as was the rest of the house).The food was plentiful and delicious, with a choice of two main dinner entries and a custom breakfast. We did an Inn to Inn hiking tour and Shelly had a lunch to go for each of us.
The town was few blocks away and there were some really cool shops. Would definitely go back and recommend highly.

Room Tip: All rooms were private and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rochelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilacinn, Owner at Lilac Inn, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Rochelle, we loved having you and your family with us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay while on your hiking vacation in Vermont. We are fortunate to be so close to the Moosalamoo National Recreation Area with over 70 miles of hiking trails. Also, we love it when guests get to walk to our village of Brandon and enjoy the charm of an historic, but vibrant town. Thanks again for staying with us and we hope to see you on a future visit to Vermont.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    10
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
26
115
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

My husband, daughter and I stayed here one night and truly wished we could have stayed here longer. We did not want to go home. The Inn it's self is beautiful from its historic charm to breathtaking gardens. We loved it all. We were made so welcome and comfortable. As well, our breakfast the next day was delicious. We will be coming back the next time we are in Vermont. Thank you!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ToriConner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilacinn, Owner at Lilac Inn, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Tori, thanks so much for staying with us while you were in Vermont. It was great to meet all of you, especially your daughter - she made Shelly's day! We love talking about the history of The Lilac Inn and feel lucky that we found it twelve years ago. Thanks for taking the time to leave us an evaluation and we look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed at The Lilac Inn in December. We had both been married before and wanted a simple wedding second time around, but something memorable. We found The Lilac Inn online, we called and spoke with Shelly and set everything up. She gave us the names of everyone we needed to complete our day florist, photographer, officiant etc. We had the most beautiful weekend! Shelly and Doug made us feel so welcome and at home. We stayed with our children and had the Inn to ourselves even got to have Shelly's delicious breakfast in our pjs! We look forward to going back!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Devenzmomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilacinn, Owner at Lilac Inn, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thanks again for choosing The Lilac Inn for your wedding....we love planning and hosting all sized weddings. I really enjoyed meeting you all and sharing time with your family. We look forward to many returned visits and, of course, serving breakfast to you in your PJ's! Our best, Shelly & Doug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin Lakes
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Our stay at the Lilac Inn was all too brief but very enjoyable. We stayed there as part of a culinary weekend retreat in conjunction with the restaurant Cafe Provence. The hosts are really welcoming making sure everything was to our satisfaction. Doug even went out of his way to walk with us and give us a quick history of the town including the aftermaths of Hurricane Irene and Hurricane Sandy. We plan to come back in October and enjoy the Inn and the town again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ginae955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilacinn, Owner at Lilac Inn, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thanks so much for being our guests and for your kind comments. We are very excited about the wonderful response to our Culinary Weekend Retreats with the Cafe Provence and glad you enjoyed it. We look forward to your return in October!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake George, NY
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

The Lilac Inn is one of the nicest B&B's I have ever been in. The rooms are spacious, welcoming and beautifully decorated and the beds are incredibly comfortable. Independent heating in each room makes your stay even more personalized. The inn itself is a wonderfully well kept facility. The hosts, Doug and Shelly, are friendly and accomodating. They take the "breakfast" part of the B&B experience to the next level. Fresh fruit beautifully presented and accompanied by a muffin or coffe cake is just the "appetizer" portion of you meal. You are then offered a delightful selection of the day's morning offering. Don't miss this treat! You will not be disappointed with any part of your stay at the Lilac Inn. We were there in the winter and it was a complete pleasure. I can't wait to go back in the summer to enjoy the gardens!

Room Tip: Rooms 3 and 4 are adjoining. Perfect for family or friends looking for a sharing experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JayBanker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilacinn, Owner at Lilac Inn, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thanks so much for staying with us for a girlfriend's getaway. It was wonderful getting to know each of you and so glad you enjoyed Shelly's breakfasts. Breakfast is my favorite meal of the day and we try to make sure all of guests leave happy and satisfied.

The grounds are slowly coming back to life and we welcome a return by you this summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

From the moment we arrived we received nothing but great hospitality. Our favorite part of the inn was the breakfast and beautiful fireplace in our suite. The owners make you feel at home. The night of our wedding the chef cooked a great meal and it was topped off with a yummy cake from the local pastry shop. We can't wait to go back in the fall and see the leaves.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ktm886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilacinn, Owner at Lilac Inn, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you so much for having your wedding with us. We are very happy you chose our Inn as the location for your special day. We loved meeting your friends and family and also look forward to seeing you again in the fall. Best regards until then: Doug & Shelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Just looking to get away for the weekend, this was the perfect spot. We reserved the Master Suite, it was incredible, the wood fire place and spa tub made for a much needed weekend of R & R. Doug and Shelly were exceptional hosts, who go above and beyond to insure their guests are at home. Breakfast did not disappoint, everything was made fresh to order. Such a great weekend, so precious, can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: Look on line to choose your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AdmiralGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilacinn, Owner at Lilac Inn, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thanks for staying with us and we are glad you enjoyed a nice warm fire in your room. We find there are fewer and fewer Inns that still use real wood, but we have no intention of every switching to gas or DuraLogs. We love meeting new guests and the next time you stay in the Grand Suite you will notice a major improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brandon
14.6 mi away
Courtyard Middlebury
Courtyard Middlebury
#2 of 3 in Middlebury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
15.5 mi away
Middlebury Inn
Middlebury Inn
#1 of 3 in Middlebury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
15.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Rutland/Killington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Brandon Inn
Brandon Inn
#4 of 10 in Brandon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
15.8 mi away
Swift House Inn
Swift House Inn
#1 of 11 in Middlebury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
8.7 mi away
The Mountain Top Inn & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lilac Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lilac Inn

Property: Lilac Inn
Address: 53 Park St, Brandon, VT 05733-1121
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Brandon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Brandon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lilac Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lilac Inn a leading luxury romantic Vermont Country Inn Boutique Bed and Breakfast known for romantic Vermont getaways, custom Vermont destination wedding packages, New England wedding receptions, and special family celebrations - in any season. Featured in Yankee, Country Living and Vermont magazines, the feel throughout is that of a "small luxury hotel with personal service to match". Each morning begins at your individual table with a cooked to order three course gourmet Vermont breakfast. The Inn is located on Park Street, the prettiest street in Vermont in the quaint but welcoming village of Brandon. Located midway between Middlebury and Rutland, Brandon is an unspoiled village in the authentic Currier & Ives tradition that has been tastefully updated to suit the needs of today's visitor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Lilac Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lilac Hotel Brandon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing