We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B Experience”
Review of Lilac Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lilac Inn
Ranked #1 of 10 Brandon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Alexandria, Virginia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great B&B Experience”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

This was our second visit to the Lilac Inn. We usually go up to the Vermont/NH area during fall foliage season. Doug and Shelly do an outstanding job with this B&B. It is pet friendly - which is necessary for us as we travel with our 14 year old Peke. The inn is on a very quiet and beautiful street that, when the leaves begin to turn, is absolutely stunning. Brandon is a smal town, but bigger than most other towns you will pass through the state. It has everything you would need, including a grocery store, a pharmacy, three gas stations and several restaurants, though we only tried a couple during our visits. Brandon is also pretty centrally located, so that it isn't a terribly long drive to Stowe, Woodstock, Queeche, Bennington or Killington. We usually break up our trip so to stay a portion more north and then more south as the foliage changes throughout the state. But this inn is really located in a very nice area. It's great to take walks on early brisk mornings, or jog if you like - and try the pumpkin ice cream at the shop down the block! We never ate a full lunch after the breakfast we were served. Doug is also extremely knowledgeable about the whole Vermont/NH area, and provides wonderful scenic driving suggestions during the foliage season.

Lilac's prices are competetive as well. If budget is a foremost concern, there may be other options, but you will not get the value for the dollar that you get here. Every room is farely large and tastefully decorated. They each have a private bathroom. The common room is terrific for getting to know the other guests and watching TV. The house is wired for internet (or I should say "wireless") - with a strong connection. There is coffee/tea stations throughout the house for your enjoyment.

Doug and Shelly run an absolutely fantastic and top notch B&B. We intend to make Lilac Inn a staple as we stay at different locations throughout the state during our future trips.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Arnold R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    10
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
28
117
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Any
English first
Vale of Glamorgan
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We travelled from the UK to attend a family wedding at the Lilac Inn towards the end of September. My husband, son and I also stayed there and we had a wonderful time. We have been to the US on a number of occasions, but like many tourists always head for the major cities. This was our first time in Vermont and rural America. We really felt we experienced the 'real' America and the Lilac Inn played a large part in that, if only we could have stayed longer. Very friendly owners and staff - nothing was too much trouble. Gorgeous rooms with comfortable beds and soft linen. Their breakfasts set you up for the day, even our 18 year old son was forgoing his usual lie in to make the 9.30 am breakfast deadline! The Lilac Inn is a short walk from the shops and cafe's of Brandon, but a car is a must for exploring the wide open spaces of the Vermont countryside. Will definitely be back.

Room Tip: All the rooms are featured on their website. Have a look throughout the photo's and choose your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank MelterCowbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso, Indiana, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

My husband and I stayed here one night of our honeymoon and wished we had booked more time at the Lilac Inn. This is the perfect location for wanting a romantic hideaway, but still close enough to anything you might wish to do in Vermont. The bed was amazingly comfortable!! The owners gave us the best recommendations for hiking and a wonderful scenic drive we would have missed without their advice. We will never forget their wonderful garden, sitting in the gazebo sipping delicious local wine and eating cheese while star gazing. Thank you for the wonderful memories!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Long Branch, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Lilac Inn for four nights. We thoroughly enjoyed the breakfasts each morning. We were served a multi-course meal every morning. Breakfast included a variety of fruits, a pastry, (delicious muffin, croissant, etc..) and the main dish. Each day there was something different on the menu to choose from. The service was friendly and the staff was knowledgeable about places to visit and sights to see during our stay in Vermont. We stayed in room 6, which was called The Lilac Room, and although it was a high traffic area (the housekeeping supplies were right outside of our room) the room was clean and comfortable. The owners were very accomodating, allowing us an early check in and a late check out. It was a good experience and I highly recommend this bed and breakfast!!

Room Tip: If there are other rooms available, like there were when we were there, ask to be in a room that is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank teresa l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

What a delight! Of course the room and grounds were wonderful. But then, our host Doug, went above and beyond the call of duty. He recommended and provided us with thorough maps and directions to find attractions we would surely have missed. Breakfast was delicious, too. All in all, I highly recommend the Lilac Inn.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank lovingtheemptynest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaker Heights
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We were visiting Middlebury College and there weren't any hotel rooms left in Middlebury. This was a great place. We felt at home and met other Middlebury Alumni also staying there. The lovely breakfast and conversation with the owner, including directions to several places were an added benefit.

Room Tip: You can view the rooms online so you can pick the right one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Caroline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

We have stayed at a number of Vermont inns, particularly during the past TEN years when our three children attended Middlebury College. The Lilac Inn tops them all, so visiting parents, prospective families, or returning alums should definitely check this out! For our latest graduation, these innkeepers kept track of our many visitors and provided warm hospitality for all. We had a memorable and delicious graduation celebration at the inn. Grounds and service are spectacular!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Diane603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brandon
14.6 mi away
Courtyard Middlebury
Courtyard Middlebury
#2 of 3 in Middlebury
220 reviews
15.5 mi away
Middlebury Inn
Middlebury Inn
#1 of 3 in Middlebury
562 reviews
17.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Ticonderoga Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Swift House Inn
Swift House Inn
#1 of 11 in Middlebury
273 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Inn at Neshobe River
The Inn at Neshobe River
#6 of 10 in Brandon
14 reviews
13.3 mi away
Shoreham Inn
Shoreham Inn
#1 of 3 in Shoreham
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lilac Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lilac Inn

Property: Lilac Inn
Address: 53 Park St, Brandon, VT 05733-1121
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Brandon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Brandon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lilac Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lilac Inn a leading luxury romantic Vermont Country Inn Boutique Bed and Breakfast known for romantic Vermont getaways, custom Vermont destination wedding packages, New England wedding receptions, and special family celebrations - in any season. Featured in Yankee, Country Living and Vermont magazines, the feel throughout is that of a "small luxury hotel with personal service to match". Stay four nights, and only pay for three nights in any of our nine individually decorated rooms, including five rooms with king size beds. Each morning begins at your individual table with a cooked to order three course gourmet Vermont breakfast. The Inn is located on Park Street, the prettiest street in Vermont in the quaint but welcoming village of Brandon. Located midway between Middlebury and Rutland, Brandon is an unspoiled village in the authentic Currier & Ives tradition that has been tastefully updated to suit the needs of today's visitor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Lilac Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lilac Hotel Brandon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing