We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Must for Middlebury Families”
Review of Lilac Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lilac Inn
Ranked #1 of 10 Brandon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Lexington, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A Must for Middlebury Families”
Reviewed June 19, 2012

We have stayed at a number of Vermont inns, particularly during the past TEN years when our three children attended Middlebury College. The Lilac Inn tops them all, so visiting parents, prospective families, or returning alums should definitely check this out! For our latest graduation, these innkeepers kept track of our many visitors and provided warm hospitality for all. We had a memorable and delicious graduation celebration at the inn. Grounds and service are spectacular!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Diane603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    10
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
26
115
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Any
English first
Melrose, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

We had a delightful if short stay at the Lilac Inn in Brandon, VT. The innkeeper, Doug, was very helpful and informative and gave us some great suggestions for both dinner in town and a scenic route for our drive to St. Johnsbury the next day. There were a couple of choices at breakfast which was great, especially for my husband, who is rather particular about his food! The breakfast room looks out over the absolutely gorgeous gardens. The flowers (including lilacs!) and landscaping are superb both during the day and at night. The grounds are lit with solar lamps at night which provide just enough light to wander along the paths and relax after dinner. Always wonderful to be able to enjoy some outdoor space and to have stores and restaurants just a short walking distance away!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Audubon Room which was quite spacious and nice but because it was located above the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Mills, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

What a gorgeous lovely Bed & Breakfast Inn. We have stayed in many B&B's and by far this has been the loveliest ever. Shelly & Doug could not have made our stay any better. They are the warmest, lovely Innkeep's we have gotten to know. Thanks Doug & Shelly for all the directions and for the great conversation. Brady & Moose are the cutest. Bentley had a great time. You made Gabriela's day with the Grand Suite. We cannot wait to return. See you all very soon.

Room Tip: Choose any of the rooms, you will not be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Erin4300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrisville, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Lilac Inn, and we had a great experience! We stayed in the Grand Suite which was just as elegant and cozy as the pictures looked online. The atmosphere was incredibly relaxing, and the breakfast served in the dining room delicious. Doug and Shelly were very welcoming, which made our stay that much better. We also took a cooking class down the street at Cafe Provence, which was within walking distance (the chefs were great!)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank adalia83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2012

Had the pleasure of staying here for a close friends wedding and it was such an amazing experience. Our room was beautiful and romantic with a claw foot tub in the bathroom.
Every room that the wedding party stayed in was charming with comfortable beds

Every morning started with delicious options for breakfast. The cook created such savory dishes. I could not get enough of his yummy potato salad. He was so kind to give me the recipe. Unfortunately I have not been able to recreate it nearly as good.

Beautiful garden areas surrounding the house. I also got a massage from a local women who the owners know. I unfortunately don't remember her name. She came on location which was very nice. I have been getting massages for years and I can honestly say that it was the best massage I have experienced to this day.


Last but defiantly not least.The parlor room was such a nice area to visit in. Shelf full of books and board games. They play 1920's music through out the house. The owners have truly created a one of a kind experience. Hands down the best bed and breakfast I have ever stayed at! We all agreed that we would love to come back once a year to reunite and and distress.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Angela J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2012

My husband and I knew we wanted to get married in Vermont and began our search on the internet. We found the website for The Lilac Inn on Google and decided it was worth checking out. We were certainly not disappointed! Our stay could not have been better (both times) and the service, quality, and overall experience was phenomena! The food is not to be missed. Our wedding went off without a hitch and we couldn't have asked for a more accommodating group of people. Shelly made sure that our favorite cookies (Neiman Marcus Chocolate Chip recipe) were made fresh nightly and our friends and family still reminisce about that weekend. We plan to continue the tradition by coming back as a group every five years (but my husband and I plan to get back as often as possible)...don't miss out on the best experience that Vermont has to offer. The town is much like Stars Hollow (for you Gilmore Girls fans) and every restaurant, shop, and store greets you with a smile and warmness that lacks in today's world.

Room Tip: Every room is perfect, but the suites are well worth the additional investment!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MarNic E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katoomba, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2012

After booking the accomodation in July of 2011 and receiving confirmation in writing from Shelly and Doug themselv's. We arrived in Brandon after driving for 5 hours from Portland Maine expecting to have the use of the Grand Suite as per our booking. Imagine our supprise when we arrived at the 4.00pm check in time to find that the premises was locked up and no one was around. After ringing the bell and nocking on the door for over 30 minutes, we went in search of a phone, to find that Shelly and Doug were in South Carolina.
After speaking to them on the phone we were told they would contact the house keeper. After waiting for over an hour we were forced to find alternative accomodation for the night. We were unable to access the next day so we were forced to rearrange our itinerey and move on early to Montreal.

I am very disapointed with the performance and professionalisim of this establishment and will not be recommending them to any one I know.

Room Tip: Ensure someone is there prior to going to the site as you well suffer our suprise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilacinn, Owner at Lilac Inn, responded to this review, January 9, 2012
This was a most unfortunate situation and we are deeply troubled by the inconvenience we caused Ken and his wife. We were attending the wedding of our niece in South Carolina, which had a change in the wedding date. For some reason our reservation system did not show Ken's reservation, or we would certainly have contacted him.

After his phone call our housekeeper went to the Inn and waited until 8:45 as she assumed they were having dinner. I am not sure how they missed each other, but apparently they did. I phoned her every half hour to get an update.

Again, we are very sorry for this mistake and the difficulties we caused Ken and his wife. This was a very unusual situation as we are seldom away from the Inn, let alone attending a wedding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brandon
14.6 mi away
Courtyard Middlebury
Courtyard Middlebury
#2 of 3 in Middlebury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
15.5 mi away
Middlebury Inn
Middlebury Inn
#1 of 3 in Middlebury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brandon Inn
Brandon Inn
#2 of 10 in Brandon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Swift House Inn
Swift House Inn
#1 of 11 in Middlebury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
8.7 mi away
The Mountain Top Inn & Resort
7.3 mi away
Blueberry Hill Inn
Blueberry Hill Inn
#1 of 1 in Goshen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lilac Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lilac Inn

Property: Lilac Inn
Address: 53 Park St, Brandon, VT 05733-1121
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Brandon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Brandon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lilac Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lilac Inn a leading luxury romantic Vermont Country Inn Boutique Bed and Breakfast known for romantic Vermont getaways, custom Vermont destination wedding packages, New England wedding receptions, and special family celebrations - in any season. Featured in Yankee, Country Living and Vermont magazines, the feel throughout is that of a "small luxury hotel with personal service to match". Each morning begins at your individual table with a cooked to order three course gourmet Vermont breakfast. The Inn is located on Park Street, the prettiest street in Vermont in the quaint but welcoming village of Brandon. Located midway between Middlebury and Rutland, Brandon is an unspoiled village in the authentic Currier & Ives tradition that has been tastefully updated to suit the needs of today's visitor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Lilac Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lilac Hotel Brandon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing