We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Brandon Inn
Nearby Hotels
Autumn Mountain Winery & Cabins(Brandon)(Great Value!)
$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lilac Inn(Brandon)
$149
$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Mountain Top Inn & Resort(Chittenden)(Great Value!)
$275
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$148
$114
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rodeway Inn(Rutland)
$54
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Swallow's Nest(Brandon)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (135)
Filter reviews
135 results
Traveler rating
82
26
13
9
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
82
26
13
9
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdietary needslarge bathroomhistoric feellarge groupold worldnon stoprooms are comfortablelong trailcharming hotelnew englandcup of teaowners and staffbedroom suitelast monthcafe provencehigh ceilingscommon areas
Filter
Updating list...
76 - 81 of 135 reviews
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We paid $175 (plus tax) on a room with a king sized bed. The rug was stained and the shower was the size of a phone booth. The breakfast was OK, but they served fake maple syrup! VT is a major producer of maple syrup! They are obviously putting money into the building, but should not be charging $175 for a shabby room. The sign out front said "pool open" but it didn't look like the pool had been open in a long time.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cami D, Front Office Manager at Brandon Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

This review was also emailed to us directly, by the guests. This is a short synopsis of our response, in which we also offered a discounted future stay with us.

The carpet was newly laid last November and sometime this August a guest dribbled something across it that I have tried in vain with carpet cleaner to remove. Very frustrating and I will continue to try and get it out.
The light actually does work. The plug was tripped and needed resetting by pressing the reset button.
The slat on the luggage bench was not broken but loose as far as I can see. The housekeepers should have notified the maintenance so that he could rescrew it which has now been done.

Yes, the shower stall is small. We are constantly trying to improve and upgrade the bathrooms within the confines of the very different spaces of each bathroom. Nothing is standard at the Inn. There are four bath rooms that have a shower stall only, the rest have a tub/shower combination. Its on our very long list to upgrade.

We had a discussion about the pool a couple of weeks ago when the nights were cold for a while and no one was using it any more. I told maintenance to keep it filled until last weekend.Sept. 21st. Mostly just for the looks as it was too cold to swim in. During the week we stopped filling it (It has a leak that we have not been able to find despite several attempts so requires constant topping up.) and stored the pool furniture. We should have removed the sign before the weekend.

I asked the wait staff and chef about the syrup at breakfast that morning and was told that a young wait person had inadvertently put out the wrong syrup.

As a "Vermonter", you will understand that small Inns and bed and breakfasts all put up their rates for the fall foliage period. There are 3 weekends in the year when the price of a room in Vermont is at a premium. Our regular weekend price double occ. is $145.00 during the summer season. There are many months in the year when there is not a tourist in the whole state except for in the ski resorts and prices reflect this seasonal fluctuation.

I hope this response helps others reading understand us a little better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed at the Inn for one night. From the exterior it is a charming building and once inside, the interior of the inn is spacious. However, when I opened the door to our room I was hit immediately by a musky smell that was very unwelcomed. The room was a good size but the furnishings were drab and dreary and there was no flair whatsoever in the decor of the room. The bathroom was very small (which is expected with an older inn) but the sink had rust stains surrounding the overflow holes and a bath with a mildew stained shower curtain. Also the bottom of the bath was grubby. The manager was extremely helpful and offered me a different room which unfortunately was not suitable. The server at breakfast was very accommodating, taking the extra effort to make sure we were happy.
I understand the inn is old but I do recommend that it does not rest on its 'historic' laurels. Some updating would be appreciated by travelers who are looking for a balance between old world charm, cleanliness and some tender loving care.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jcolvillereeves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cami D, Front Office Manager at Brandon Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post on trip advisor. We took the time to look into your stay and the room you were in and did not find your comments to be entirely valid. There is no musty order in the room you stayed in. It does smell somewhat however like the wood cleaner used to polish the very high end antiques that furnished your room, mixed with brand new carpeting and new bedding. The bed would be the only non high end antique in the room, and that is because it is a high end new sleigh bed by Tubbs. Our rooms are furnished and decorated in a fashion fitting to a historic inn. While there are some smaller bathrooms here, the majority of them, including the one in your room, exceed modern day bathroom sizes. The bathroom was in no way "grubby" but the shower curtain, while mildew free, did need to be replaced. Thank you for bringing that to our attention. The old enamel lining in the tub and washbasin does need renovating. We are constantly and consistently working on improving and renovating the inn, and this too will soon be modernized. A lot of "tender-loving care" goes into both the inn and more importantly our guests, which is why do have quite a few repetitive guests. It is a shame you will not be back to give us another chance, and to see that we are most definitely not resting on 'historic laurels'. Perhaps you would find "boutique hotels" more suitable for your needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Had a wonderful stay at this charming historic inn in Brandon, VT as part of a family reunion over the long weekend. I had a nice spacious room and slept soundly for two nights. A great breakfast is included and it was lovely to meet up with family there and also to chat with the inn owners.

Brandon has some wonderful shops including Blue Moon and Found Objects, and a restaurant as good as any in NYC called Cafe Provence which also has a French bakery in town. The inn is about a 20 minute drive from Rutland, VT where I came in via Amtrak from NYC. There was a wedding at the inn over the long weekend so fresh flowers were everywhere as a non-wedding guest, it didn't feel uncomfortable being there. In fact, it added to the weekend. I think this would be an ideal place to host a wedding in the country. There's also a pool in the back of the inn and short walk to pretty waterfalls in the area. A country store is next door that sells candy, ice cream and antiques, plus there are a variety of art galleries in the area. What more can you ask for? Having had a recent poor experience at a B&B, I'd stay at the Brandon Inn any day and plan to recommend the inn and Brandon as a destination to all of my friends.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJBK_74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cami D, Front Office Manager at Brandon Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Thank you for such a lovely review of both the inn and our town. We too are quite fond of them both. It was a joy to have you and your family stay here with us and do hope you all visit again.

Please keep us in mind if you ever need to think of a place for a girls getaway, a golf stay and play package, a romantic weekend or even just a quiet place to come an unwind. On our website you will find many packages that to accommodate each.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed here during summer 2013. Our room was spacious (it was a family room), so it had beds for the kids. We were on the top floor, which is the floor where pets are not allowed , due to allergy issues. I believe some smaller pets are allowed on other floors, if pre-approved by the owners/staff.


The room was fine and comfortable. Staff nice. The older elevator requires a staff member to run it so taking the. Stairs is the easiest option. If you have trouble climbing a lot of stairs, you may want to ask for a lower floor.

The Inn was built around 1900 on the site of an older Inn. It has high ceilings and spacios hallways.

Nice public rooms: lobby; sitting rooms' library/game room, dining room.

Great breakfast served buffet style, with nice selection of hot and cold foods.

In summary, this is a charming Inn with the character that is missing from the chain hotels.

Room Tip: Ask about stairs, elevator, floors for guests with pets versus pet-free floors.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MassVacati0ner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cami D, Front Office Manager at Brandon Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Thank you so much for the tips to our future guests! We appreciate you taking the time to write up a response to your stay here and do hope you will come stay again in the future. We are constantly working to improve the Brandon Inn so that future visits are even more enjoyable.

Regarding pets: Yes, we are indeed completely pet friendly. We do have rooms that are completely pet free for those with severe allergies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

The Inn is like taking a step back in time with it's décor, old elevator and designated tv rooms on each floor ~ apparently no tv in any of the rooms. The staff was very courteous and helpful and at breakfast there was something for everyone.

The bedroom was large and clean but the bathroom (also clean) was small & our shower about the size of one on a sailboat. All the towels were frayed. Other relatives who were also staying at the inn said they had tub/shower combos so a little more elbow room. It was a warm weekend so the window AC was welcome.

The Inn's location for the reunion we were attending was perfect but doubt I'd stay here again. I do understand that it's an old building with lots of associated quirks. So not anyone thing in particular but just a bunch of small things ~ they could wash the windows & curtains in the front entrance and replace the carpet so that your 1st impression is of a well maintained inn rather than being a bit run down.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CTtraveler263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cami D, Front Office Manager at Brandon Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Thank you for being our guest here at the Brandon Inn. We are so sorry that everything was not entirely to your liking. The bathrooms can run from very small (only a few) to rather large, as is the case with most inns and B&B's. We have recently redone all of our towels, so I do apologize for your having received the older towels and not our newer more plush ones. We do hope you come back and give us another chance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews