We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired old Inn in need of tender loving care”
Review of Brandon Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Brandon Inn
Ranked #2 of 10 Brandon B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tired old Inn in need of tender loving care”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed at the Inn for one night. From the exterior it is a charming building and once inside, the interior of the inn is spacious. However, when I opened the door to our room I was hit immediately by a musky smell that was very unwelcomed. The room was a good size but the furnishings were drab and dreary and there was no flair whatsoever in the decor of the room. The bathroom was very small (which is expected with an older inn) but the sink had rust stains surrounding the overflow holes and a bath with a mildew stained shower curtain. Also the bottom of the bath was grubby. The manager was extremely helpful and offered me a different room which unfortunately was not suitable. The server at breakfast was very accommodating, taking the extra effort to make sure we were happy.
I understand the inn is old but I do recommend that it does not rest on its 'historic' laurels. Some updating would be appreciated by travelers who are looking for a balance between old world charm, cleanliness and some tender loving care.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jcolvillereeves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cami D, Front Office Manager at Brandon Inn, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post on trip advisor. We took the time to look into your stay and the room you were in and did not find your comments to be entirely valid. There is no musty order in the room you stayed in. It does smell somewhat however like the wood cleaner used to polish the very high end antiques that furnished your room, mixed with brand new carpeting and new bedding. The bed would be the only non high end antique in the room, and that is because it is a high end new sleigh bed by Tubbs. Our rooms are furnished and decorated in a fashion fitting to a historic inn. While there are some smaller bathrooms here, the majority of them, including the one in your room, exceed modern day bathroom sizes. The bathroom was in no way "grubby" but the shower curtain, while mildew free, did need to be replaced. Thank you for bringing that to our attention. The old enamel lining in the tub and washbasin does need renovating. We are constantly and consistently working on improving and renovating the inn, and this too will soon be modernized. A lot of "tender-loving care" goes into both the inn and more importantly our guests, which is why do have quite a few repetitive guests. It is a shame you will not be back to give us another chance, and to see that we are most definitely not resting on 'historic laurels'. Perhaps you would find "boutique hotels" more suitable for your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    24
    12
    9
    5
See reviews for
42
28
1
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Had a wonderful stay at this charming historic inn in Brandon, VT as part of a family reunion over the long weekend. I had a nice spacious room and slept soundly for two nights. A great breakfast is included and it was lovely to meet up with family there and also to chat with the inn owners.

Brandon has some wonderful shops including Blue Moon and Found Objects, and a restaurant as good as any in NYC called Cafe Provence which also has a French bakery in town. The inn is about a 20 minute drive from Rutland, VT where I came in via Amtrak from NYC. There was a wedding at the inn over the long weekend so fresh flowers were everywhere as a non-wedding guest, it didn't feel uncomfortable being there. In fact, it added to the weekend. I think this would be an ideal place to host a wedding in the country. There's also a pool in the back of the inn and short walk to pretty waterfalls in the area. A country store is next door that sells candy, ice cream and antiques, plus there are a variety of art galleries in the area. What more can you ask for? Having had a recent poor experience at a B&B, I'd stay at the Brandon Inn any day and plan to recommend the inn and Brandon as a destination to all of my friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJBK_74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cami D, Front Office Manager at Brandon Inn, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for such a lovely review of both the inn and our town. We too are quite fond of them both. It was a joy to have you and your family stay here with us and do hope you all visit again.

Please keep us in mind if you ever need to think of a place for a girls getaway, a golf stay and play package, a romantic weekend or even just a quiet place to come an unwind. On our website you will find many packages that to accommodate each.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed here during summer 2013. Our room was spacious (it was a family room), so it had beds for the kids. We were on the top floor, which is the floor where pets are not allowed , due to allergy issues. I believe some smaller pets are allowed on other floors, if pre-approved by the owners/staff.


The room was fine and comfortable. Staff nice. The older elevator requires a staff member to run it so taking the. Stairs is the easiest option. If you have trouble climbing a lot of stairs, you may want to ask for a lower floor.

The Inn was built around 1900 on the site of an older Inn. It has high ceilings and spacios hallways.

Nice public rooms: lobby; sitting rooms' library/game room, dining room.

Great breakfast served buffet style, with nice selection of hot and cold foods.

In summary, this is a charming Inn with the character that is missing from the chain hotels.

Room Tip: Ask about stairs, elevator, floors for guests with pets versus pet-free floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MassVacati0ner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cami D, Front Office Manager at Brandon Inn, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you so much for the tips to our future guests! We appreciate you taking the time to write up a response to your stay here and do hope you will come stay again in the future. We are constantly working to improve the Brandon Inn so that future visits are even more enjoyable.

Regarding pets: Yes, we are indeed completely pet friendly. We do have rooms that are completely pet free for those with severe allergies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

The Inn is like taking a step back in time with it's décor, old elevator and designated tv rooms on each floor ~ apparently no tv in any of the rooms. The staff was very courteous and helpful and at breakfast there was something for everyone.

The bedroom was large and clean but the bathroom (also clean) was small & our shower about the size of one on a sailboat. All the towels were frayed. Other relatives who were also staying at the inn said they had tub/shower combos so a little more elbow room. It was a warm weekend so the window AC was welcome.

The Inn's location for the reunion we were attending was perfect but doubt I'd stay here again. I do understand that it's an old building with lots of associated quirks. So not anyone thing in particular but just a bunch of small things ~ they could wash the windows & curtains in the front entrance and replace the carpet so that your 1st impression is of a well maintained inn rather than being a bit run down.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CTtraveler263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cami D, Front Office Manager at Brandon Inn, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for being our guest here at the Brandon Inn. We are so sorry that everything was not entirely to your liking. The bathrooms can run from very small (only a few) to rather large, as is the case with most inns and B&B's. We have recently redone all of our towels, so I do apologize for your having received the older towels and not our newer more plush ones. We do hope you come back and give us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We were looking for something larger than a B & B and smaller than a chain hotels. This suited us perfectly. It's situated in the center of the small town of Brandon. Walking distance to pretty churches, old cemetary with Revolutionary War heroes, some cute shops, and a good restaurant (Provence, think? We didn't go.) The inn has a lovely historic feel to it, and is very comfortable. Evidently some bathrooms are updated and others aren't; if an old-fashioned tub is a problem for you, ask for a room wiht a newer shower.

Room Tip: Some rooms face the street and are nice and bright. On a Sunday morning there was no street noise bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chicago999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cami D, Front Office Manager at Brandon Inn, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
What a nice review of our inn. We do love the historic feel here and are so thrilled that you found it as lovely as we believe it be. The bathrooms are all updated, but we have chosen to keep some of the claw foot tubs because of their charm and how comfortable their depth is for a relaxing bubble bath. Some things just aren't made the same anymore! Very useful tips for other guests, thank you so much for commenting on them here. We do hope to have you back at the inn again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Just attended a phenomenal wedding here! Amazing food - great cheeses, whole pig roast, delicious salads. Beautiful area behind the inn for the ceremony, including an outdoor fireplace for afterward. Friendly, out-going staff was extremely helpful! I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: I highly recommend the whirlpool suites! What a deal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Moose L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn G, Front Office Manager at Brandon Inn, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for the kind review. It really was a wonderful wedding and we are delighted you took the time to comment on your experience here. We do hope you come back and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

I have never stayed in an old-time hotel before and enjoyed my stay here. It was originally built in the 1700's and was rebuilt since and has the old time charm, together with modern features. Wi-Fi is free, the washrooms are updated, the room was pleasant and clean. The management and staff are first rate. The breakfast was wonderful and made to order. The parking was free and the whole experience was wonderful. It takes you back to an earlier time when going to a hotel was much more a personal experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bob33230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn G, Front Office Manager at Brandon Inn, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you so much for your beautiful compliments of the staff and management. We do strive to make a stay at The Brandon Inn a personal experience. The complimentary breakfast is the best way to start your day and complete your visit with us. It is nice to know that you enjoyed your meal and the service we provided. We are very glad to have been your first "Historic Inn" adventure. Please come back and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brandon
15.5 mi away
Middlebury Inn
Middlebury Inn
#1 of 3 in Middlebury
560 reviews
17.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Ticonderoga Inn & Suites
14.5 mi away
Courtyard Middlebury
Courtyard Middlebury
#2 of 3 in Middlebury
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lilac Inn
Lilac Inn
#1 of 10 in Brandon
182 reviews
15.7 mi away
Swift House Inn
Swift House Inn
#1 of 11 in Middlebury
271 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Inn at Neshobe River
The Inn at Neshobe River
#6 of 10 in Brandon
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brandon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brandon Inn

Property: Brandon Inn
Address: 20 Park Street, Brandon, VT 05733-1122
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Brandon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Brandon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Brandon Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brandon Inn is an historical B&B Inn, located on the village green in the center of downtown Brandon, Vermont. And just A short walk to local stores and restaurants. All 39 guest rooms on three floors have a private bathroom, a clock radio and WiFi access. Brandon Inn guests receive a full, hot, country breakfast in the morning. Guest rooms have individual A/C units. The main living room has a wide-screen television and there are two public TV rooms on the guest floors. The back lawns sweep down to the Neshobe River and there is an outdoor pool to cool off in or relax around. The Innkeepers, Chef Louis Pattis and Sarah Pattis have owned and operated for 24 years. The Inn specializes in Vermont Country Weddings and is a popular venue for Class Reunions, Retirement Parties and Retreats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Brandon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brandon Hotel Brandon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing