We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt the love”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cozy Cottages & Otter Valley Winery
Reviewed July 7, 2013

A group of us stayed at the Cozy Cottages for the late-June wedding of some friends, and we had a great time tasting the wine, celebrating at the bonfire, and enjoying the pool. Cottages are exactly what they need to be - quaint, cozy, and good for sleeping - and the vibe was something I wish I could bottle up and take with me. Inn-keepers Steve & Ursula made everyone feel like they were at home, and were very personable.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
There are newer reviews for Cozy Cottages & Otter Valley Winery
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 57 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2012

We love Dalai Lama, so when we found out that he was going to speak in Middlebury, VT we had to come see him. Lodging prices in Middlebury were outrageous, but we were able to find Cozy Cottages in Brandon which was less than half an hour away.
We found the setting to be beautiful. The peak was already over, so a lot of leaves were on the ground, but the surroundings were still very pretty. There were 2 rows of cottages with a vineyard and a small pond in between.
Our cottage was very clean, queen bed comfortable and the cottage itself VERY COZY. It was a chilly weekend in Vermont, the temperatures dropped into 20’s one night, but the big heater in the cottage kept us toasty. An added bonus – the fireplace. You don’t need wood, the owners provided a duraflame log every night. Breakfast was plentiful and the homemade waffles delicious. Wine tasting came with the room as well and we enjoyed that part a lot.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

This is the second time that my wife and our boston have stayed at the cozy cottages. Steve and Ursala are both great at ensuring their guests are taken care of and the continental breakfast in the morning is a great place to enjoy the start of the day. The winery also surprised me, they have a wide variety of wine and they are all very good. The best part is the wine tasting and enjoying a conversation with the proprietors. If you want a place to stay that is pet friendly and has a variety of things to do for kids to do while the adults enjoy some wine this is the place to go.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Airforce1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

What a real Vermont experience! Cozy Cottages and its owner/operator is truly a found treasure on a country road trip. The cabin was clean, warm and welcoming as was our host. A perfect place to jump off for all the attractions around it. Our only disappointment was that their restaurant was closed for the season, but hopefully, one day, we'll be back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank julie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

After visiting with a few friends when we were on a motorcycle trip I decided to come back and spend a weekend with another couple. We loved it. The wine, Steve and his lovely wife and daughter. It was a blast. love those 2 Boston terriers. I think we are going to make it an anuall trip on our bikes (weather permitting).

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ace7123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

I brought my family here for the holiday weekend. It was beautiful and as the name states it was very cozy. The owners were professional and went out of their way to make it a great weekend for my family. Any complaints we had were taken care of immediately. Before we left I made reservations for a weekend in October and we looking forward to returning to Cozy Cottages!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Although we were meeting friends and the location was awesome, I feel we really didn't get what we paid for. The pictures on the website were very misleading. There is a huge difference between "vintage" and "old". The owners claim their cabins are "vintage", but that's not an excuse for sloping, spongy floors, mice, doors that don't stay closed or are hard to open, lights that don't work or turn on and off by themselves, and more. In addition, we rented a family cabin for 6. I'm so happy we didn't take the kids at the last minute, because there was not enough room for all six of us. We were also told there would be breakfast (waffles were their specialty) and the first morning we found out we had to make them ourselves. In addition, when I booked, I explained to the hosts that we would be on motorcycles and would be a bit loud and I was told that was okay. We were also told there was a meeting room we could have used. It turns out that was not the case. I'm not sure what the rooms inside look like, but I wouldn't rent the cabins again, even with a group discount. We did have an option to tour the winery and we chose not to do so and we did not eat in the restaurant. The hosts work hard, but they need to do some serious maintenance to the cabins.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SweetRevelation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UZ79, Owner at Cozy Cottages & Otter Valley Winery, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

This is one of five similar reviews posted by a group that rented 3 cottages over Labor Day Weekend.
First of all, I am truly sorry that we have not met your expectations. Our goal is to make sure that our guests leave Cozy Cottages satisfied and we try our hardest to ensure that.
However…
Since we’ve purchased Cozy Cottages 7 years ago, we’ve met some wonderful people along the way, stayed in touch with a lot of them. Regretfully, you folks were the most unruly guests that we’ve ever hosted here. Besides disrupting other guests throughout your stay, riding loud motorcycles on the property at 1 a.m. - 2 a.m. , you all left in the morning “forgetting”(?) to pay for dinner that you ordered at our restaurant the night before. And after all, some of you even went as far as posting very negative reviews about our winery that you have NEVER been to and saying that there are mice in our cottages (which is another lie).
We are proud to be able to continue to operate our vintage cottages. They are not a new structure and never will be. If an issue occurs, e.g. if the light doesn’t work or the door doesn’t close, we try to rectify it right away. In regards to our meeting room – you would have been more than welcome to use it, if you have only asked.
After all, your group only rented 3 cottages for Labor Day Weekend and you had an obligation to respect guests from 17 other cottages that came to Cozy Cottages to rest and relax. Again, our obligation as owners is to ensure that everybody gets to enjoy their stay and we feel that that’s what we did, even if we receive these negative reviews.
Ursula Zahn
Owner/ Operator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brandon
15.5 mi away
Courtyard Middlebury
Courtyard Middlebury
#2 of 3 in Middlebury
228 reviews
16.4 mi away
Middlebury Inn
Middlebury Inn
#1 of 3 in Middlebury
602 reviews
13.4 mi away
Mendon Mountainview Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Ticonderoga Inn & Suites
1.0 mi away
Lilac Inn
Lilac Inn
#1 of 10 in Brandon
188 reviews
1.2 mi away
Brandon Inn
Brandon Inn
#2 of 10 in Brandon
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cozy Cottages & Otter Valley Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cozy Cottages & Otter Valley Winery

Address: 1246 Franklin St, Brandon, VT 05733-9785
Location: United States > Vermont > Brandon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Brandon
Price Range: $119 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cozy Cottages & Otter Valley Winery 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay and relax at Cozy Cottages! Enjoy our cottages surrounded by vineyards and make sure to taste our wine at Otter Valley Winery (on site). 20 cottages with contemporary conveniences, private bathrooms, cable TV, wi-fi, fridge, microwave, coffee maker. Restaurant on site. Family reunions are our specialty. Polite pets welcome (limited availability). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire and Booking.com so you can book your Cozy Cottages & Otter Valley Winery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cozy Cottages Hotel Brandon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing