We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“WOW...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Swallow's Nest

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Perhaps there is a pot of gold after all...
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
Perhaps there is a pot of gold after all...
The pond to the north of The Swallow's Nest
Birds taken by the fabulous Birder and Photographer Sue Wetmore
Bobolink in grasslands. We farm to promote their breeding habitat
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Brandon, Vermont

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
PBASH
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“WOW...”
Reviewed October 10, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

This property has the WOW factor, we stopped off here on our tour of New England and what a joy to have the luxury and the facilities that are so lacking in the road side motels or hotels. Swallows Nest was the best place that we stayed in on our trip, our only regret was that we didn't had the time to stay longer. The sky at night is Amazing! The outlook in daylight is outstanding. If tranquillity, beauty and serenity is what you are looking for you will find it at Swallows Nest. Lyn the owner was a gem, friendly and knowledgeable with advice of places to visit etc. All in all we would without doubt recommend this property as an excellent place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: tranquillity and quality of dwelling
Liked least: leaving!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
00831Stro...
Pipersville, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
“Beautiful serenity”
Reviewed July 31, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Beautiful clean cabin, great veiws and well maintained property. Plenty to do within 30 minutes of the cabin

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
william h
Terrace Park, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice Escape”
Reviewed July 9, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

This was exactly what we were looking for, and Lyn could not have been a nicer, more interesting host. The symphony the wildlife puts on at night beats out the hum of a typical hotel chain's a/c unit by a longshot. The house is clean, bright, and newly redone, but with a lot of history. My teenagers readily exchanged electronics for sitting on the picnic table and watching the sunset.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
violingur...
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fabulous Wedding Location and Accommodations in Central Vermont”
Reviewed August 8, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

My husband and I got married last month in Brandon, Vermont and were fortunate enough to be able to stay at and have our wedding reception at The Swallow's Nest/ Transfiguration Farm. I couldn't imagine a more beautiful place to have a wedding and Emilee and Jeremy bent over backwards to make our wedding weekend the best it possibly could be. The whole Smalley family welcomed our families and guests to the farm like they were extended family by taking us to see their animals, to providing us with a hayride from the church to our reception, to even helping with wedding hair and getting ready (among other things).
We also were able to stay in the Swallows Nest guest house for 5 nights and I have to say that it is one of the loveliest little houses I've ever stayed in. It has every modern convenience that you could ever want and was squeaky clean upon our arrival. Emilee and her children brought us fresh handpicked raspberries on more than more than one occasion and we were able to roam the farm and explore as well.
If you are traveling to the central Vermont area and looking for a quaint, but absolutely beautiful place to stay my husband and I both highly recommend staying at the Swallows Nest Guest House in Brandon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Whenever we needed something Emilee got it for us or made it happen. I don't ever remember experiencing better hospitality.
Liked least: We LOVED everything about the Swallows Nest!!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ma
Reviewed August 22, 2011 for a stay in July 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
LA
Reviewed August 22, 2011 for a stay in June 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Family with teenagers
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing