We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homemade food in a peaceful country setting”

Cattails Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 20 Restaurants in Brandon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Middlebury, Vermont
Level Contributor
257 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 313 helpful votes
“Homemade food in a peaceful country setting”
Reviewed May 27, 2012

A friend and I had a tasty lunch here this week on the screened porch. It was restful looking out on the green landscape while eating homemade turkey vegetable soup and a lightly grilled cheese and tomato sandwich. My friend had a fried shrimp sandwich, also good tasting.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bikers_Mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    36
    12
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brandon, Vermont
Level Contributor
122 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Family restaurant serving dependable, affordable food”
Reviewed April 3, 2012

We visit here a couple times a month for dinner. I can always find a good salad or fish sandwich which the kitchen will grill instead of deep fry for me. My sweetheart enjoys their steaks, fish and chips and anything that has gravy served on/with it. The service is consistently friendly and accomodating. There is an enclosed patio area for warm weather dining and a full bar. There are "themed" dining nights; Wednesday "wings" night has been popular. Desserts look terrific although we have not indulged.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lady frobisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn Park, MD
Level Contributor
90 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Loved it so much we went back a few days later”
Reviewed March 16, 2012

My wife and I were on our anniversary trip back to VT and while driving around we stumbled upon Cattails Resturant. Without getting too "wordy" I will just say the food is awesome here and the atmosphire is very family friendly. We had dinner one evening and very much enjoyed both the food and service. We were again driving around and went back a few days later. One of the waitress recognized us from last time and took a few minutes to talk to us. We informed her where we were staying (Hill Farm Inn) and she was surprised that considering we were staying at least an hour away we decided to come back to Cattails. This evening they were busy because it was wing night so alot of young people were there, but they were all friendly so it was fine. The waitress talked to her co-worker and told her about us and at the end of our meal they gave us a complimentary desert for our anniversary! The people here are great and the place is clean and the food is very good. I would gladly recommend Cattails.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fordman352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Vermont, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fishman”
Reviewed January 26, 2012

Good location, fast friendly service with a good choice of food.

Helpful?
Thank Gary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Level Contributor
218 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“A nice surprise”
Reviewed December 30, 2011

Reasonably priced, nice selection, good food, good service. Located north of Brandon, it sits out in the middle of no where..but is worth the trip.

Helpful?
Thank freebirdVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cattails Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Cattails Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing