We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor attempt”

Otter Valley Winery
Ranked #5 of 16 things to do in Brandon
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Otter Valley Winery is a family owned and operated 6 acre vineyard and a winery. Our wines are made right here on site and you can always check out our grape vines and take a tour of the winery (or at least peak through the large window to see the operation). Tasting room, rental cottages, restaurant and gift shop on site. Please stop by to taste our Boston Bull, Pink Moose, Chardonnay, Sangria, Happy Ending Rose, Arctic Goose and Chocolate Mousse. Make sure to take a picture of the LARGEST wine cask in the state of Vermont right here at Otter Valley Winery!
Philadelphia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Poor attempt”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

I can't believe they are allowed to call themselves a winery! This is a joke right. The worst tasting product our party ever had. At the fact the owner was in the kitchen swatting flies all through out our stay makes me question their cleanliness

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank SOAMC_Revelator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UZ79, Owner at Otter Valley Winery, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
It is sad that I even need to respond to this review.
This review was posted by a person that was staying in one of our cottages during Labor Day Weekend, but HAVE NEVER EVEN BEEN TO OUR WINERY NOR THE TASTING ROOM. The motorcycle group that this person is part of portrayed themselves as a family oriented, charitable and polite group and as it turned out they were nothing more but a motorcycle gang. None of the members did wine tasting, they couldn’t tell you anything about Otter Valley Winery’s wines and that’s why they refer to them as "product".
This review has nothing to do with our winery, it is 100% untrue and it is just a vindictive attempt to get back at us as the owners for not allowing their group to misbehave on the property.

Ursula Zahn
Owner/ Operator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    4
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
76 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Free wine tasting and great hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

How could I resist the free wine tasting while staying at Cozy Cottages. I loved the Boston Bull and was able to taste the Arctic Goose the morning after it was bottled. Enjoyed the wine with friends and at dinner. Definitely worth a visit in Brandon.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank angelvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Vermont
1 review
“Vermont Chowder House”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

We ordered take out lunch for the office and it was first-rate! Their seafood is the best you can get in town! Fresh! The portions were generous and everyone raved about it. We will definitely order from them again!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michele B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good wine, friendly owner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

Wine tasting was free and wines good, Owner was very friendly. Some friends stayed in the cozy cabins and liked it very much.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank krnll5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinesburg, Vermont
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Boston Bull White & Awesome Vermont Hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2011

A friend and I stopped in this evening to try a wine sample - we came home with two bottles. We got to meet the owner & one of the wine-makers which made the experience that much better. We'll certainly be back, but next time we will bring all our friends. They have an ah-mazing white called "Boson Bull" & my girlfriend liked their red called "Pink Moose." A perfect pit-stop from Middlebury to Rutland for tourists, but being a Vermonter, I'll just make it a point to visit again soon! You can only buy their wine there, so stop in and support local! A cute Vermonty-things store, and cabins to stay in too!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Letter10Creative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Otter Valley Winery also viewed

 

Been to Otter Valley Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing