We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value, wonderful hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stone's Lodge under Stratton Mtn.
Ranked #4 of 4 Bondville B&B and Inns
NYC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great value, wonderful hosts”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2010

As many Stratton regulars know, this place has gone through many iterations and lives. None very successful. However, the new hosts are on to something unique and special and are working hard to give guests a great experience. Their new Wagyu beef restaurant is opening which will instantly make it the steak house option Stratton is missing.

You can't beat the location - at the base of the Stratton access road.

While the room we stayed in (Peridot) was very dated and honestly shabby (very old heating system, cabinet falling to pieces in dated bathroom), it was very clean and the bed was comfortable. I think getting the right room (other reviewers rave) is important. We took the inexpensive route, and overall the value was good.

Everything else was wonderful. The hosts are charming and friendly. The pub scene was hopping and kept us on site each night - and this is no small benefit when you consider the driving laws in VT. The bar tenders are very friendly - say hi to Nugget who also bartends at Grizzly's at Stratton - and the value is good. Having pool tables, foosball and more on-site means that this is a great family spot if you have teenagers and college age children.

Don't miss the full breakfast with eggs and bacon made by the owners. It fuels you for the day!

We wondered if the hosts might consider a shuttle up the mountain for skiers - if so, this would be the best deal in town!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank comstockhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    24
    5
    16
    25
See reviews for
18
57
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2010

Stone’s Lodge was better than phenomenal. I’ve been fortunate to stay in places all over the world and Stone’s Lodge was an eclectic experience. Our room was unanimously the most quintessential room I’ve ever had the pleasure of staying in. It exuded the comfort of a King and the decor of a Queen. The real selling point was the proprietors of the establishment. They are extremely accommodating and beyond friendly. I’ve found my new “Weekend Getaway”!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrWaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peekskill, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2010

If you are looking for a place that has the comfort of a B&B but the privacy of a hotel the Stone's Lodge is a good fit. It has a rustic charm and a staff that is eager to please. Reasonable rates and a close distance to both Manchester and Stratton Mountain. I would stay again!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flower1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrington, Connecticut
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2010

The room was beautiful, and the staff treated me like family. Oh, wait, BETTER than family!
Huge stone fireplace, flat screen TV, and a bed that was both comfotable and lovely.
My exciting vacation in Vermont was made really special by the people at Stone's Lodge under Mt. Stratton.
---Barbara Baird

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoneTraveler88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
<buenos aires
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2010

The hotel started recently by this management. The attention and the service are excelent. hotel is in a very nice environment, and the hotel rooms are very agrable, We enjoyed our stay here and thankthe managers for their dedication to make our stay confotble and pleasant. The reataurant is also very good and foo very special

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danka_20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bondville
9.9 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
2.4 mi away
Black Bear Lodge
Black Bear Lodge
#2 of 3 in Stratton Mountain
3.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
8.6 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 16 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
The Stamford Motel & Restaurant
3.9 mi away
Bromley View Inn
Bromley View Inn
#1 of 4 in Bondville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
2.6 mi away
Long Trail House
Long Trail House
#1 of 4 in Stratton Mountain
4.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone's Lodge under Stratton Mtn.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone's Lodge under Stratton Mtn.

Property: Stone's Lodge under Stratton Mtn.
Address: 1 River Road, Bondville, VT 05340
Location: United States > Vermont > Bondville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Bondville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Stone's Lodge under Stratton Mtn. 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
(Currently closed for renovations.) Property Amenities: Stone's Lodge under Mt. Stratton features multilingual staff, individually designed rooms & the restaurant. For a surcharge, an airport shuttle is available to guests. This Bondville lodge also offers express check-in and a pool table. Business services and wedding services can be provided. Onsite parking is complimentary. Stone's Lodge under Mt. Stratton is a smoke-free property. * Business services * Billiards or pool table * Airport transportation (surcharge) * Pool table * Number of rooms: 20 * Number of floors: 2 * Parking (surcharge) * Banquet facilities * Express check- in * Multilingual staff * Parking (free) * Year Built 1974 * Smoke-free property * Number of buildings/towers 1 * Wedding services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Stone's Lodge under Stratton Mtn. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stone`s Lodge Under Stratton Mtn. Hotel Bondville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing