We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too good to be true.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stone's Lodge under Stratton Mtn.
Ranked #4 of 4 Bondville B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 22, 2012

In this case a picture is not worth a thousand words. It is a great location and the room looked nice but there were problems. The thermostat was broken, toilet had to be flushed twice a couple of times and the shower was a joke. Didn't have a problem with the staff. I think they are doing the best they can but with an absentee landlord who doesn't know the first thing about New England, oh well.

Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank rjmurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (96)
There are newer reviews for Stone's Lodge under Stratton Mtn.
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 96 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2012

A group of us stayed for 2 nights-it is a great location by Stratton. We stayed in the turoquois room-we were shocked at the extremely beat up condition of the room. There were outlets without covers, only 1 lamp and a small recessed lighting-the wallpaper was filthy-the heater covers broken and filled with dirt. It was in horrible condition. We ate in the restaurant the hamburgers were raw and the second night we went to eat and they said they had to close early as they ran out of food. We begged for ANYTHING to eat, and they just said NO-really, we spent WAY too much to stay at your horrible place and you can't find bread for us! If you want to ski Stratton-your options if you don't want to rent a condo on the mountain is limited-this has the location but it is dirty, and not that safe-no fire detector in the room either-seriously not a place I would let anyone I know stay. I would rather drive the 10 miles to Manchester and have a clean, safe place to stay at less cost. Stay away!

Room Tip: Good luck-if ours was any indication-all will be filthy.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank 147Adventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2011

If you never visit the property the website would lead you to believe this is a luxury property. Don't be fooled the rooms smell and look like crap. If your hoping to get your spouse in the mood don't stay at this place. If your hoping for a nice quiet retreat, think again the walls are paper thin. You can hear everything that is going on in the next room including unfavorable bodily functions from the bathroom.

Stay away!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2011

We enjoyed a wonderful week-long stay at Stone's Lodge. The accommodations suited us perfectly, from the luxurious bed linens to the huge wood-burning fireplace and leather sofa in front of the fire. Couldn't have been more comfortable. Only suggestion might be to update bathroom a bit.

All our meals were excellent, and the dining menu offered many unusual and tantalizing selections. Pub fare was pure comfort food, filling and delicious.
Everything was presented appropriately and some items were succulent beyond expectation, especially the Wagyu beef.

Every staff member we met was cordial, welcoming, and went out of his or her way to be helpful. We so much enjoyed admiring the many interesting collectibles, antique and period furnishings, and the "espionage" memorabilia on display in the Fat Spy Tavern.

If you are looking for a warm, inviting atmosphere featuring incredible hospitality, great food, a lively bar scene, and a comfy room for indulging in a sound night's sleep .... all under one roof and for a very reasonable price, you can't do better than Stone's Lodge.

Room Tip: Ground floor best for seniors.
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

A hotel of this price should pull their sock up and sort the place out!
The room we stayed in was clean. There was a nice fireplace put some logs in the room.
It was freezing when we stopped there there was instruction on lighting the fire but no wood, should we have brought it from england on the plane?
The brreakfast was inedible the bread was stale. we had to eat out.
The evening meal bill was 2x times the price in the menu.
All inn all it could be nice but thow the junk tidy the place up and clean the carpets.

Room Tip: We had the Diamond Suite
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Daviduk_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

This was a hotel that needs some updating. It was very nice years ago but the carpet to the second floor was very worn and dirty looking. Probably carpet was not the best for that location. The room had a musty smell and the air fresheners were not enough. The carpet in the room needed a good vacuum around the perimeter of the room.
The bar and restaurant were nice. The bar was almost too big. The food in the restaurant for the rehersal dinner 9/30/110 was good but the service was slow. A lot could be done to bring in customers-better signs for the place itself and better parking but the lodge would need to have the staff in more customers did arrive.

Room Tip: first floor
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ParmelieU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

Stayed here for one night only. In a nutshell the place is so dated its actually quite funny you would think it's deliberate with DIY blunders everywhere. Having said that the staff are excellent, the rooms are clean and I had a damn good nights sleep there. The Fat Spy bar has a nice atmosphere and the burger was not bad although my wifes' fish and chips could have been better. They had a party of 70 to attend so they tried their hardest to get our food to us on time and they did. If 70 people are eating there they must be doing something right! All in all dont be scared by the bad reviews for the decor....it's clean, tidy and comfy.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Djuro R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bondville
9.9 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
335 reviews
2.4 mi away
Black Bear Lodge
Black Bear Lodge
#2 of 3 in Stratton Mountain
160 reviews
8.9 mi away
The Stamford Motel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
The Chalet Motel
The Chalet Motel
#13 of 16 in Manchester
76 reviews
3.9 mi away
Bromley View Inn
Bromley View Inn
#1 of 4 in Bondville
169 reviews
6.5 mi away
Snowdon Chalet
Snowdon Chalet
#1 of 3 in Londonderry
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone's Lodge under Stratton Mtn.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone's Lodge under Stratton Mtn.

Address: 1 River Road, Bondville, VT 05340
Location: United States > Vermont > Bondville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Bondville
Price Range: $75 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stone's Lodge under Stratton Mtn. 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
(Currently closed for renovations.) Property Amenities: Stone's Lodge under Mt. Stratton features multilingual staff, individually designed rooms & the restaurant. For a surcharge, an airport shuttle is available to guests. This Bondville lodge also offers express check-in and a pool table. Business services and wedding services can be provided. Onsite parking is complimentary. Stone's Lodge under Mt. Stratton is a smoke-free property. * Business services * Billiards or pool table * Airport transportation (surcharge) * Pool table * Number of rooms: 20 * Number of floors: 2 * Parking (surcharge) * Banquet facilities * Express check- in * Multilingual staff * Parking (free) * Year Built 1974 * Smoke-free property * Number of buildings/towers 1 * Wedding services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Stone's Lodge under Stratton Mtn. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stone`s Lodge Under Stratton Mtn. Hotel Bondville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing