We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best photography hoax”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stone's Lodge under Stratton Mtn.
Ranked #4 of 4 Bondville B&B and Inns
Astoria, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best photography hoax”
Reviewed December 30, 2011

If you never visit the property the website would lead you to believe this is a luxury property. Don't be fooled the rooms smell and look like crap. If your hoping to get your spouse in the mood don't stay at this place. If your hoping for a nice quiet retreat, think again the walls are paper thin. You can hear everything that is going on in the next room including unfavorable bodily functions from the bathroom.

Stay away!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    24
    5
    16
    25
See reviews for
18
57
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Parsons, Kansas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2011

We enjoyed a wonderful week-long stay at Stone's Lodge. The accommodations suited us perfectly, from the luxurious bed linens to the huge wood-burning fireplace and leather sofa in front of the fire. Couldn't have been more comfortable. Only suggestion might be to update bathroom a bit.

All our meals were excellent, and the dining menu offered many unusual and tantalizing selections. Pub fare was pure comfort food, filling and delicious.
Everything was presented appropriately and some items were succulent beyond expectation, especially the Wagyu beef.

Every staff member we met was cordial, welcoming, and went out of his or her way to be helpful. We so much enjoyed admiring the many interesting collectibles, antique and period furnishings, and the "espionage" memorabilia on display in the Fat Spy Tavern.

If you are looking for a warm, inviting atmosphere featuring incredible hospitality, great food, a lively bar scene, and a comfy room for indulging in a sound night's sleep .... all under one roof and for a very reasonable price, you can't do better than Stone's Lodge.

Room Tip: Ground floor best for seniors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHIPPING CAMPDEN
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

A hotel of this price should pull their sock up and sort the place out!
The room we stayed in was clean. There was a nice fireplace put some logs in the room.
It was freezing when we stopped there there was instruction on lighting the fire but no wood, should we have brought it from england on the plane?
The brreakfast was inedible the bread was stale. we had to eat out.
The evening meal bill was 2x times the price in the menu.
All inn all it could be nice but thow the junk tidy the place up and clean the carpets.

Room Tip: We had the Diamond Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Daviduk_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bondville hotels

Florham Park, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2011

This was a hotel that needs some updating. It was very nice years ago but the carpet to the second floor was very worn and dirty looking. Probably carpet was not the best for that location. The room had a musty smell and the air fresheners were not enough. The carpet in the room needed a good vacuum around the perimeter of the room.
The bar and restaurant were nice. The bar was almost too big. The food in the restaurant for the rehersal dinner 9/30/110 was good but the service was slow. A lot could be done to bring in customers-better signs for the place itself and better parking but the lodge would need to have the staff in more customers did arrive.

Room Tip: first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ParmelieU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2011

Stayed here for one night only. In a nutshell the place is so dated its actually quite funny you would think it's deliberate with DIY blunders everywhere. Having said that the staff are excellent, the rooms are clean and I had a damn good nights sleep there. The Fat Spy bar has a nice atmosphere and the burger was not bad although my wifes' fish and chips could have been better. They had a party of 70 to attend so they tried their hardest to get our food to us on time and they did. If 70 people are eating there they must be doing something right! All in all dont be scared by the bad reviews for the decor....it's clean, tidy and comfy.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Djuro R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 25, 2011

It was a quiet, quaint place to stay. It is tucked away in the woods in Vermont. The people working at the front desk were very nice and helpful. It is attached to a restaurant/bar. It is very dated, and does not have good views.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BadgerFan84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2011

My stay at Stones Lodge was not at all what I expected. The pictures on their website completely through me for a loop. Everything looked up to date and clean and besides our bedspread nothing could have been further from the truth. The rugs were stained, probably for the beatings they take during the winter months but that I could have lived with, but the dirt and dust along were the baseboard meets the carpet was a little disturbing but the funky mildew smell is what bothered me and my family the most. Also the lack of assessiblity of the staff was wierd. I went to the front desk at 9:30 pm and the office was all locked up. And then again in the morning noboby was around until after 9 am. Although this wasn't my ideal stay they tried to be accommodating and were pleasant to talk to. My only suggestion would have been update the rooms rather then the very nice restaurant & bar.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank buona2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bondville
9.9 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
2.4 mi away
Black Bear Lodge
Black Bear Lodge
#2 of 3 in Stratton Mountain
3.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
8.6 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 16 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
The Stamford Motel & Restaurant
3.9 mi away
Bromley View Inn
Bromley View Inn
#1 of 4 in Bondville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
2.6 mi away
Long Trail House
Long Trail House
#1 of 4 in Stratton Mountain
4.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone's Lodge under Stratton Mtn.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone's Lodge under Stratton Mtn.

Property: Stone's Lodge under Stratton Mtn.
Address: 1 River Road, Bondville, VT 05340
Location: United States > Vermont > Bondville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Bondville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Stone's Lodge under Stratton Mtn. 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
(Currently closed for renovations.) Property Amenities: Stone's Lodge under Mt. Stratton features multilingual staff, individually designed rooms & the restaurant. For a surcharge, an airport shuttle is available to guests. This Bondville lodge also offers express check-in and a pool table. Business services and wedding services can be provided. Onsite parking is complimentary. Stone's Lodge under Mt. Stratton is a smoke-free property. * Business services * Billiards or pool table * Airport transportation (surcharge) * Pool table * Number of rooms: 20 * Number of floors: 2 * Parking (surcharge) * Banquet facilities * Express check- in * Multilingual staff * Parking (free) * Year Built 1974 * Smoke-free property * Number of buildings/towers 1 * Wedding services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Stone's Lodge under Stratton Mtn. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stone`s Lodge Under Stratton Mtn. Hotel Bondville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing