We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Kids' Ski Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Inn Bolton Valley & Ski Area
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We looked around for many places in Vermont and had zero regrets about booking at Bolton. It was the first time on the slopes for my 6 and 8 year old, as well as my wife. We booked the ski and stay package in the lodge, but immediately upgraded to a 1-bedroom condo next door upon arrival since we decided we wanted a bit more space and a fireplace. The rooms were clean and very well kept and the skiing was amazing and instructors were very patient with my wife and kids who loved the skiing and all of the time in the restaurant and bar at the lodge. We will definitely be going back. It was affordable and the right pace for new skiiers who probably would have been overwhelmed at a bigger resort. The continental breakfast was pretty simple and it would have been nice to have some better options in the morning (we will probably bring our own breakfast stuff next time) but the rest of the food was great and the kids loved playing darts in James Moore Tavern. It is definitely not fancy, but that's not what we were there for. Laid back vibe and proximity to the mountain were all we really needed.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BenG573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria R, Manager at The Inn Bolton Valley & Ski Area, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Thank you for your stay. Bolton was the first mountain I ever skied on as well and the trails are great for beginners. It's great to hear that you and your family not only enjoyed the mountain but that the staff made your experience more enjoyable. We hope to see you soon. Thank you!

Sincerely,

Victoria Rapoza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 90 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2013

This resort was the most economical choice in the area. It cost $2000 less than a similar stay at Smuggler's Notch would have been. For $1050, we got three nights in the slope-side hotel in a room with 2 queen beds and three days of lift tickets for the three of us, during the peak Christmas vacation week. Plus three continental breakfasts.

There were a number of minor problems, but not so much that I regret staying there. Considering that I saved $2000, it was worth it to put up with some inconveniences. But you do get what you paid for.

After verbally confirming an early 3 pm check-in, we were surprised to arrive at 4 pm and find out that our room was not ready. I was surprised that they left a brand-new front desk clerk by herself on xmas day. She was having trouble staffing both the phone and helping the customers at the desk.

The place is family-friendly. The tavern has a children's menu. They played up the special vacation-week activities on their website, but they fell short of my expectations. They promised a "bonfire" but it was just a fire in a small fire pit. The "arcade" features six outdated video games. The pool and hot tub were nice, but I wished it was open later than 8 pm.

The website boasts that the ski area features 70 trails, but during this peak xmas vacation week, only 8 were open! 3 green circle beginner trails and five blue square intermediate trails, but no black diamond trails. But the lift lines were fairly short.

I was surprised that we didn't get any maid service one day. I happened to be in the room when they came by at 4:30 pm so they asked what i needed and I said more coffee pods for the in-room coffee maker, so that's all the maid service we got for the day.

Every employee I encountered was friendly and helpful.

The rooms were a little outdated, but how much time do you spend in it anyways if you're out skiing all day? The continental breakfast was fine--coffee, juice, bagels, muffins and cereal.

So yes there were problems, but not $2,000 worth of problems. If you're expecting a 4-star resort, this place is not for you. If you want a ski vacation for your family at a very affordable price, it's great. There's no way we could have afforded slope-side accommodations except at Bolton Valley.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank booknerd71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria R, Manager at The Inn Bolton Valley & Ski Area, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

We want to thank you for thinking of our resort as a place to ski. During the time that you visited we had unusual weather for that time of year and were unable to open all trails. We do have snowmaking capabilities on the mountain but we have had inconsistent temperatures this winter which does slow the process.

We had a new staff member on your day of arrival. At that time she'd been with us for over a month and showed that she could handle the front desk. Being by yourself at a new job can be overwhelming at times and the amount of business on Christmas day is hard to predict. We have maid service everyday and it is our policy to come earlier in the day. I do apologize for the late service.

We do take requests for early arrivals however we never guarantee that it will be ready prior to the check in time of 5pm. Depending on the volume of arrivals for each day, we always do the best we can to accommodate these requests.

I am glad to hear that you did enjoy your stay and we do hope to see you come back. Thank you.


Sincerely,

Victoria Rapoza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

The place is old and in need of loads of money it is stuck in its original state late 70's maybe early 80's. They advertise kids activities at the sports centre in a falling a part old tennis and pool facilite that hasn't operated a tennis court in years. When asked could we play tennis they replied they need 48 hours notice! On weekends a DJ and bouncy house is to operate but that wasn't the case on Saturday and on Sunday the ski slopes were closed as they were closed Saturday night and yet the bounce house and DJ to entertain the kids wasn't available. At night there is nothing to do if no skiing and the sports centre closes @6pm on weeknights and 8pm on weekends. Truly disappointing worst tired run down facility we have used and stayed at in 20 yrs my kids are board and having to shower in a washroom out of the "Bates Motel" with little to no water pressure so you don't get a nice shower or get the soap off your body. The place needs some major money and should be sold or partner with someone that can invest in its property. Driving up the mountain and down is very dangerous and is leaving my new winter tires burnt from each trip the roads are in poor condition and could use new ashfault years ago. Would check other facilities to stay and visit to ski and use there trails. Looking for other accommodation elsewhere as we speak kids are board and this is a family vacation after all. Not much to do at least if there were activities and facilities to use the tired rooms wouldn't matter so much but that's all we have. Not sure we can spend too many more nights here as intended!!!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Miles R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria R, Manager at The Inn Bolton Valley & Ski Area, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

This past holiday week we had unusual weather for this time of year. We were hoping for lots of snow. During the first part of your stay we had a pretty bad ice storm that put not only our mountain without power but many other residential areas with out power. Sunday we lost power and once the power went on the trails were still unsafe due to the weather concerns. Our business is very weather dependent . Once our mountain was operating on Monday the conditions were spring like conditions. Later in the week we had a few snow storms that put a nice coat back on the trails open.

Our website has all the updated information for activities down in our Nordic Center. The bouncy houses and other activities you mentioned were due to open December 26th which was also advertised on our website.

Our hotel may be outdated however we assure all our guests have a clean comfortable room to stay in. If you have any other further concerns please feel free to call or e-mail. Thank you!

Sincerely,

Victoria Rapoza
Lodging Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

This hotel is gross and outdated. The employees are nice but there is nothing to do after the lifts close. The mountain is awesome and underrated but the lifts are insanely slow. I would love to see Bolton get a couple hight speeds and a new hotel like what jay has been doing. I usually hate chains but jay is saving Burke, I wish they could do the same here. I really loved the mountain, but they need faster lifts, more to do at night and a new hotel because there is no saving this outdated hotel. It's seems like they're stuck in the 70s with smugglers notch. With Stowe next door, I would stay there and visit Bolton for a day. PLEASE GET A NEW HOTEL AND HIGH SPEED!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dondambra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria R, Manager at The Inn Bolton Valley & Ski Area, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

As our hotel is outdated I can assure you that it is clean and comfortable. After the lifts close our Tavern remains open for dinner until about 9 pm. During the season we have live music later in the week and every other Sunday starting in January we have trivia night. Which is always a fun time. The Nordic Center that holds our pool and hot tub closes around 6 pm during non-night skiing days and during night skiing days its open until 8 pm.

The lifts maybe slow however its still the same place every one knows and loves. There are no waits in line and the trails are always a blast. Our building is a rustic old feeling.

If you have other suggestions for things to do after skiing hours we are always open to hear your thoughts. Please give us a call if you would like to discuss a suggestion. Thank you for skiing with us and hope to see you out on the slopes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

My family has stayed at this hotel for a number of years now. They have always enjoyed their time and their accommodations. The Backcountry skiing is amazing and the lift service is great as well, shot lines, top to bottom night skiing, friendly staff and safe for the whole family. The swimming holes and hiking in the summer are great as well. The Hotel is right on the Catamount and the long trail. If you love the outdoors and laid back friendly staff Bolton is a great place to spend some time.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ethan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria R, Manager at The Inn Bolton Valley & Ski Area, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Your experience at Bolton Valley is what we are all about. Thank you for your continued business and we hope to see your family out on the slopes this coming season. Our staff is always excited when it comes to skiing and riding. Its what we love about our mountain. The back country is a beautiful place to go for a nice walk either by yourself or with family. Thank you again for thinking of us. Hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stayed here for a wedding in the area. We had stayed here 20 years ago in the summer with our young family and enjoyed it. Time has not been kind to Bolton valley. The entire complex has aged in place and not aged well. Although they were charging "fall foliage" rates the facilities were
clearly in the off season. No restaurants were open; for our continental breakfast we went to the small store where we had plastic wrapped muffins and bad coffee in a small cramped unkempt space. No recreational facilities were open; no pool, shops, hot tub, etc.
What made the experience even worse was the housekeeping or better said- the lack of it. Our room was not made up the first day and when I complained at the front desk I got a snippy response back and only after threatening to leave immediately was I given half -off the rate for the night. However, nothing changed. Our room was not made up the second day and we just gave up. It wasn't worth arguing with some 20 something clerk who passed herself off as a manager.
Poor facilities, poor service and poor attitude- the ingredients for a most unpleasant stay. Do not go there. Avoid at all costs. A complete and total rip-off and fraud as basically a bad Motel 6 masquerading as a Vermont Inn.

Room Tip: Don't choose any rooms- don't stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank booster1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria R, Manager at The Inn Bolton Valley & Ski Area, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Good afternoon,

We strive ourselves in customer service and insure that you receive the best service possible. We had a discussion about your issue. When you and I spoke, it was my understanding that we came to an agreement that a discount would be provided to compensate for the misunderstanding associated with the requested cleaning service during the first day of your stay. You seemed satisfied after we discussed the issue. On the second day housekeeping service was declined when they arrived to clean your room. If there was a contuined problem I would have been more than happy to discuss the issue further.

I would like the opportunity to speak with you further about this issue. Please feel free to call. Your business is important to us. Thank you and have a wonderful day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed here for a friend's wedding. It was fun because the whole wedding was able to stay in one place, and it was the slow season, so we were the only people there! The Inn is a large complex right at the base of Bolton Valley - one side of the building faces the ski lifts and trails, the other looks down valley. It has the old New England ski lodge feel, but that adds to the experience. The beds were very comfortable, and staff was friendly and helpful. Bathrooms could use some updating but everything worked so it was fine. There is a great little country store with Green Mountain Coffee, breakfast sandwiches, and a deli right next to the Inn which was perfect so we didn't have to run to town for every meal!

Room Tip: The rooms facing the ski resort on level 4 and higher have balconies!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abbibarss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria R, Manager at The Inn Bolton Valley & Ski Area, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

hank you for your feedback.The awesome thing about staying here for a wedding in the summer time is you do basically have the hotel to yourself. We are very quiet in the summer time however if that is what you are looking for then we are the place. The views are amazing. I am happy to hear you enjoyed our mountain and the wedding . We are an older building and are working on some small updates. All the weddings that we have had so far this summer the weather has been beautiful. We hope to see you in the ski season if you enjoy the winter months. Thank you and hope to see again soon.

Sincerely,

Victoria Rapoza
Lodging Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bolton Valley
8.3 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
7.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Waterbury - Stowe
7.8 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#5 of 24 in Stowe
1,341 reviews
7.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Waterbury Stowe
7.5 mi away
Northern Lights Lodge
Northern Lights Lodge
#11 of 24 in Stowe
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn Bolton Valley & Ski Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn Bolton Valley & Ski Area

Address: 4302 Bolton Access Road, Bolton Valley, VT 05477
Location: United States > Vermont > Bolton Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Bolton Valley
Price Range: $99 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn Bolton Valley & Ski Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vermont Skiing and Riding at its best!Bolton Valley Vermont is a unique, high mountain alpine ski village surrounded by over 5,000 pristine acres. At Bolton Valley the recreational opportunities are as numerous as the views are spectacular. In the winter, whether your're interested in skiing or snowboarding, telemark or Nordic, backcountry or night skiing, Bolton Valley has it all in abundance. After your legs have had enough, relax in the Sports Center's jacuzzi, heated pool or warm up in the sauna. Need more activities? Join a basketball game, play tennis, or work out in the exercise center. There is no limit on ways to stay active at Bolton Valley. Great food? We have that too. Want to stay in slope side lodging? Look no further. All lodging, whether it be the Inn accommodations, suites, or condominiums, are all slopeside or within a short walking distance. No cars needed at Bolton Valley, it's all right here. We are family friendly, affordable, and offer loads of fun. Bolton Valley is the place to get away and enjoy the best Vermont has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your The Inn Bolton Valley & Ski Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bolton Valley Hotel Bolton Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing