We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jay, come save this place!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Inn Bolton Valley & Ski Area
Reviewed November 20, 2013

This hotel is gross and outdated. The employees are nice but there is nothing to do after the lifts close. The mountain is awesome and underrated but the lifts are insanely slow. I would love to see Bolton get a couple hight speeds and a new hotel like what jay has been doing. I usually hate chains but jay is saving Burke, I wish they could do the same here. I really loved the mountain, but they need faster lifts, more to do at night and a new hotel because there is no saving this outdated hotel. It's seems like they're stuck in the 70s with smugglers notch. With Stowe next door, I would stay there and visit Bolton for a day. PLEASE GET A NEW HOTEL AND HIGH SPEED!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dondambra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria R, Manager at The Inn Bolton Valley & Ski Area, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

As our hotel is outdated I can assure you that it is clean and comfortable. After the lifts close our Tavern remains open for dinner until about 9 pm. During the season we have live music later in the week and every other Sunday starting in January we have trivia night. Which is always a fun time. The Nordic Center that holds our pool and hot tub closes around 6 pm during non-night skiing days and during night skiing days its open until 8 pm.

The lifts maybe slow however its still the same place every one knows and loves. There are no waits in line and the trails are always a blast. Our building is a rustic old feeling.

If you have other suggestions for things to do after skiing hours we are always open to hear your thoughts. Please give us a call if you would like to discuss a suggestion. Thank you for skiing with us and hope to see you out on the slopes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (91)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 91 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2013

My family has stayed at this hotel for a number of years now. They have always enjoyed their time and their accommodations. The Backcountry skiing is amazing and the lift service is great as well, shot lines, top to bottom night skiing, friendly staff and safe for the whole family. The swimming holes and hiking in the summer are great as well. The Hotel is right on the Catamount and the long trail. If you love the outdoors and laid back friendly staff Bolton is a great place to spend some time.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ethan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria R, Manager at The Inn Bolton Valley & Ski Area, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Your experience at Bolton Valley is what we are all about. Thank you for your continued business and we hope to see your family out on the slopes this coming season. Our staff is always excited when it comes to skiing and riding. Its what we love about our mountain. The back country is a beautiful place to go for a nice walk either by yourself or with family. Thank you again for thinking of us. Hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stayed here for a wedding in the area. We had stayed here 20 years ago in the summer with our young family and enjoyed it. Time has not been kind to Bolton valley. The entire complex has aged in place and not aged well. Although they were charging "fall foliage" rates the facilities were
clearly in the off season. No restaurants were open; for our continental breakfast we went to the small store where we had plastic wrapped muffins and bad coffee in a small cramped unkempt space. No recreational facilities were open; no pool, shops, hot tub, etc.
What made the experience even worse was the housekeeping or better said- the lack of it. Our room was not made up the first day and when I complained at the front desk I got a snippy response back and only after threatening to leave immediately was I given half -off the rate for the night. However, nothing changed. Our room was not made up the second day and we just gave up. It wasn't worth arguing with some 20 something clerk who passed herself off as a manager.
Poor facilities, poor service and poor attitude- the ingredients for a most unpleasant stay. Do not go there. Avoid at all costs. A complete and total rip-off and fraud as basically a bad Motel 6 masquerading as a Vermont Inn.

Room Tip: Don't choose any rooms- don't stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank booster1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria R, Manager at The Inn Bolton Valley & Ski Area, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Good afternoon,

We strive ourselves in customer service and insure that you receive the best service possible. We had a discussion about your issue. When you and I spoke, it was my understanding that we came to an agreement that a discount would be provided to compensate for the misunderstanding associated with the requested cleaning service during the first day of your stay. You seemed satisfied after we discussed the issue. On the second day housekeeping service was declined when they arrived to clean your room. If there was a contuined problem I would have been more than happy to discuss the issue further.

I would like the opportunity to speak with you further about this issue. Please feel free to call. Your business is important to us. Thank you and have a wonderful day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed here for a friend's wedding. It was fun because the whole wedding was able to stay in one place, and it was the slow season, so we were the only people there! The Inn is a large complex right at the base of Bolton Valley - one side of the building faces the ski lifts and trails, the other looks down valley. It has the old New England ski lodge feel, but that adds to the experience. The beds were very comfortable, and staff was friendly and helpful. Bathrooms could use some updating but everything worked so it was fine. There is a great little country store with Green Mountain Coffee, breakfast sandwiches, and a deli right next to the Inn which was perfect so we didn't have to run to town for every meal!

Room Tip: The rooms facing the ski resort on level 4 and higher have balconies!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abbibarss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria R, Manager at The Inn Bolton Valley & Ski Area, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

hank you for your feedback.The awesome thing about staying here for a wedding in the summer time is you do basically have the hotel to yourself. We are very quiet in the summer time however if that is what you are looking for then we are the place. The views are amazing. I am happy to hear you enjoyed our mountain and the wedding . We are an older building and are working on some small updates. All the weddings that we have had so far this summer the weather has been beautiful. We hope to see you in the ski season if you enjoy the winter months. Thank you and hope to see again soon.

Sincerely,

Victoria Rapoza
Lodging Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

I have been skiing at Bolton Valley every year for the past 15 years. It is the most family friendly resort I have ever been to. I see the same friendly faces every year. The snow on the mountain is groomed to perfection, the food at the James Moore Tavern, delicious. The sports center is lots of fun for the children, mine are grown now, but always come back to Bolton Valley. They will bring their children there, and their children will bring will bring their children. It's like a time machine, there are many families that have been skiing here, one generation after another. Don't overlook the back country, the Vermont Land Trust, has protected over 1100 acres of land. It is beautiful, try the snow shoeing, so peaceful. It is clean, but well aged. Can't wait for this season, may the weather be with us.

Room Tip: The hotel has great ski in ski out rooms and condos. I believe the odd number rooms in the west win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbiesalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria R, Manager at The Inn Bolton Valley & Ski Area, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Thank you for your review. I am happy to hear that you have been visiting our mountain for quite some time. We pride ourselves in customer service and like to hear that is part of your wonderful experience. The back country is breath taking along with our views from the top of the mountain. We look forward to another great season. Thank you and hope to see you soon!

Sincerely,

Victoria Rapoza
Lodging Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

This hotel , is horrid . Me & the family went up for a week in the summer & ... The pool wasnt open ? Or the hot tub , or the shops ?
We get into the rooms & half our appliances were either broken or missing , our beds were poorly made , not to mention there was a few spots on the sheets with a white substance ..? Hmm . Don't think they washed them ! Also , the hill to get up to the resort , killed * the family mini van ! There's no pets aloud , no shops on campus , & we had to pay 1.00$ for each time we wanted ice ! The walls were all cracked , the wood around the tubs were molded & I almost forgot , three o'clock In the morning , I went to the bathroom & to my surprise , there was a gaint *** spider in the corner , I went to smush it & its babies broke lose , it was a nursing wolf spider , meaning it carries its thousands of babies on its back !!! the drive to the hospital was extremely far away , & that sucked for me , because I went into labor !!! Seriously , the only thing good that came out of it was my newborn son<3 don't waste your time !!! Or money !!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alyshaamariee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria R, Manager at The Inn Bolton Valley & Ski Area, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Thank you for the feedback.about your stay. We strive to provide a clean and comfortable room for all of our guests. To achieve this we thoroughly clean each room prior to arrival and have an inspection process to provide an additional assurance. That being said, if your room was not what you expected and if there might have been something missed we have staff ready and available to address issues as they arise. We are available during posted hours and could have accommodated you and your family if notified of an issue.

We provide information to all out guests on what is open or not during the year on our website and through RCI for timeshares. The pool is not open in the summer months (our off season) however we do provide information for local swimming holes as they are very popular in the summer. Part of the allure of our area is experiencing the natural landscape that surrounds Bolton Valley.

Congratulations on the addition to your family! I would like to extend best wishes on behalf of the entire team at Bolton Valley.

Sincerely,

Victoria Rapoza
Lodging Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We attended a wedding at the Bolton Valley Resort and overall we had a nice time. When we arrived at the resort (at the end of a very long road), we were greeted by a very nice and friendly woman by the name of Colleen. She was very welcoming and made us feel good about being at Bolton Valley.

Our walk to our room was down a series of hallways filled with semi-dirtly carpets that lead us to our room. When we opened the door, the hotel room was just mediocre. The room was very small and our view was of the parking lot. Nothing special about the rooms and the bathrooms were tiny with chipping paint.

If you just need a place to stay for the night, this place is fine. However if you are looking for something special, look elsewhere for a nicer place.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dfc9258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria R, Manager at The Inn Bolton Valley & Ski Area, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Thank you for staying with us in the Inn at Bolton Valley. I am happy to hear that Colleen could make you feel welcomed and comfortable during your stay! We pride ourselves on our customer service and we want you, our guests to receive the same treatment as though you were invited into our own personal homes.

Feedback is very important to us to help improve the guest experience. We clean the hotel rooms and common areas daily. In addition, we have two deep cleans annually which are more comprehensive in scope. Our hotel is an older building and it can occasionally have the appearance of neglect even if it has been addressed by the housekeeping staff. I would welcome a conversation with you to learn more of your experience with the hallway to ensure that our rigorous standards are met. In addition, in the summer months we work on the rooms to address small touch-ups and chipping paint. I do apologize that we did not get to the paint in your room prior to your arrival.

Bolton Valley has beautiful views of the Champlain Valley and on a clear day you can see the Adirondack Mountains in NY. Some rooms do face the parking lot and we do make every attempt to accommodate requests for specific views. Visiting Bolton Valley for more than one night can be special if you are looking for a quiet place to stay and enjoy hiking in the summer time.

I would love the opportunity to address any of your listed concerns in this review or any others that you may have left off. Please feel free to contact me at 1-877-9BOLTON and ask for Victoria. Thank you again for your stay and thoughtful feedback. I do hope that you consider staying with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bolton Valley
6 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#5 of 24 in Stowe
1,409 reviews
7.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Waterbury - Stowe
8.2 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
7.4 mi away
Northern Lights Lodge
7.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Waterbury Stowe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn Bolton Valley & Ski Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn Bolton Valley & Ski Area

Address: 4302 Bolton Access Road, Bolton Valley, VT 05477
Location: United States > Vermont > Bolton Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Bolton Valley
Price Range: $142 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn Bolton Valley & Ski Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vermont Skiing and Riding at its best!Bolton Valley Vermont is a unique, high mountain alpine ski village surrounded by over 5,000 pristine acres. At Bolton Valley the recreational opportunities are as numerous as the views are spectacular. In the winter, whether your're interested in skiing or snowboarding, telemark or Nordic, backcountry or night skiing, Bolton Valley has it all in abundance. After your legs have had enough, relax in the Sports Center's jacuzzi, heated pool or warm up in the sauna. Need more activities? Join a basketball game, play tennis, or work out in the exercise center. There is no limit on ways to stay active at Bolton Valley. Great food? We have that too. Want to stay in slope side lodging? Look no further. All lodging, whether it be the Inn accommodations, suites, or condominiums, are all slopeside or within a short walking distance. No cars needed at Bolton Valley, it's all right here. We are family friendly, affordable, and offer loads of fun. Bolton Valley is the place to get away and enjoy the best Vermont has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your The Inn Bolton Valley & Ski Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bolton Valley Hotel Bolton Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing