We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Skip it if you can”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Inn Bolton Valley & Ski Area
Buffalo, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Skip it if you can”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

If you stay here in summer, request 4th floor as it's the only air conditioned floor. Needs updating!!! Too much bucks for what you get!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Treesawill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    28
    13
    9
    18
See reviews for
46
17
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This resort is the worst place to stay when off season. Not like I would even try going back when its in season.... We had a one week reservation in the month of July, the place is a ghost town. Like if that was not bad enough, the elevator was out of order, The Unit was not clean, the deli shop closes at 5pm, the fire alarm in the unit kept beeping due to bad battery.... We checked out the very next morning and headed to Burlington and checked in to a Marriott.

Room Tip: The place is gross
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daisy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bolton Valley hotels

Suffolk, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We spent two nights as part of a wedding party at the hotel. We had visited more than 20 years before for a wedding and everything just seemed older. Our room was very basic - CRT TV, no refrigerator or microwave. The wireless was okay. For our visit, we were on restricted water hours and a boil water order. The front desk tried to make things as best they could, but there seemed to be a real lack of information from the association that controls the water. We did get a 50% discount on our bill, but nothing from the management acknowledging the real inconvenience. The lack of perceived concern by the owners hurts everyone. Two high notes - the Deli staff were fun and the food was good and affordable. The Ponds was a beautiful place for the reception; one of the best I've visited.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McRenn8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Our timeshare company works through RCI, and we have gone to numerous RCI locations over the years, but we have never been mistreated by management before. RCI confirmed a two bedroom unit for us for a week, but when I went to the registration desk on Friday afternoon, I was informed that they had only a one bedroom unit because one of the resort's management types had taken the unit for himself for the weekend. We had flown from South Carolina, rented a car, and driven to the remote mountain area, so we had no real choice but to take the unit which was smaller than the unit we had been promised. I have written a complaint to RCI, asking for some kind of consideration and compensation for our being shortchanged, but have yet to hear anything from them.

The space theoretically can sleep eight people: two double beds, a sofa bed, and a pull-down bed. The ski kids probably cram into the space that way. But they would have to take turns eating because there was only service for four in plates, cups, and cutlery.

The younger staff members were overworked but pleasant all the same.

We adapted to our smaller space in the "hotel," which is showing its age. The general condition reminded me of the title of a Lanford Wilson play called "HOT L BALTIMORE." The E in HOTEL was missing, suggesting a dilapidated facility well past its glory day.

Bolton Valley Resort is at the end of a four-mile drive from Vermont Highway 2. Many Vermont roads are full of potholes, and so is the road from the highway to the resort. But the roads on the premises of Bolton Valley Resort are almost beyond driving. The pavement at the edge of the property and also the driveway to the registration area are broken beyond belief. The parking lots for guests are totally unpaved. The entire ground area is what in rural West Texas we called "washboard roads." To drive across the area to a parking space, you drive over ridge and after ridge, like the old-fashioned washboard.

In season, the place is a ski resort. So perhaps the ski visitors are content with shoddy roads and crowded, old facilities as long as they have a clear shot at the chair lifts.

Through no fault of the onsite staff, there was a false fire alarm as some young children pulled the handle in a little red box. Also, as a kind of capstone of our visit was a broken elevator. My wife and I are past the age of being able to drag heavy suitcases down flights of stairs, but the staff carried our heavy stuff down for us as we made our exit from the building and from the resort.

We do not -- repeat DO NOT -- intend to return to Bolton Valley Resort.

Room Tip: Don't go there. Find some other place to visit. Based on our experience, you have no guarantee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lewinsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehall, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Take off the name resort immediately because it is anything but that.

Summer visitors? No we felt like intruders, we were not welcome here...DO NOT come here, you will be reasonably disappointed. It has less amenities than a motel 6, no screens on the windows, it was black fly and mosquito season, air conditioners needed to be fixed and it was a very hot day. A small overcharged unfriendly outdoor cafe. All local restaurants were 40-50 minutes away. The way it was advertised on travel sites is completely untrue. OUR ROOMS: Moldy buildup, you could smell the mold, holes in the carpet throughout hotel. Rundown little dump!

My husband and I are mountaineers and work in the environmental field. We love to hike, mountain bike ride. We heard there were amazing trails. The first trail we went to led us to an illegal dumping site right behind the tennis courts, old tanks, chair lifts, junk of all sorts, car batteries, miscellaneous trash and not far from the stream. My husband and I couldn't believe what we saw there. We spoke to the hotel mgr who couldn't possibly care, she said she would let the owner know, I asked for the owners information, she left to go get the information and never came back.

I think the health department should inspect this place. I think the Vermont land trust should be informed of the illegal dump site.

I really don't like complaining because it is rare we stay in a place the equivalent of an outhouse like this. Too bad someone with investment doesn't do something to save this place because after we discovered and photographed the illegal dump, we did find some nice trails, but it was not enough to change the rating. Burn it down or fix it up!!!

Room Tip: Don't stay here, just don't waste your money, RUN the other way!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JGryphon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2012

Set the way back machine Sherman to 1975, the days before high speed quads, before customer service, and when you still had to boil your drinking water.

Just got back from March break and yes there was a boil water advisory in the condos at Bolton Valley. Condos were fine but probably at their prime 20 years ago. Servicing of the condo involved a daily phone call asking what we needed (we only learned by the last day to list everything we thought was standard like...please empty the garbage, remove the recycling, change the towels, bring toilet paper, etc etc...).

Hill was very flat...good runs ended half way up the hill with a long flat return to the slow-speed quad...so divide the quoted vertical drop by 2.

Hill staff was clueless...it was like the resort is run by kids that have never been to a ski hill before. I agree with the other posts that say stuff like the ticket window staff didn't know what was going on..it really was surreal dealing with staff that obviously was spending their first year at a ski hill, and generally not ski enthusiasts (one of the perks at working at a hill is the skiing...and there is no good skiing here...hence no skiing staff).

The rental area was poor...no high performance rental skis (or mid performance even) like most hills have available but with the wet snow the clapped out run of the mill rentals were fine for the week....warning don't loose your paperwork when you take a rental..they seem lost when you return a rental without the "pink slip" (computers weren't available in 1975 you see).

Roads haven't been paved since inception...extra parking is on outdoor tennis courts...so if you are going there in summer to play tennis you also have potholes to play around. Oh and despite no pet rules...the staff seem to have a few big dogs that leave presents all over the "grounds".

That's about it...glad we were there to enjoy time with family and friends and not just for the skiing. Can't see it changing anytime soon either...the lifts are just something out of the Smithsonian...the staff isn't their to ski obviously....this resort is only going one direction...downhill.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marc953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

We were some of the lucky ones who headed to Bolton Valley this past weekend 2/24-2/26 during a snowstorm where the resort got 2 ft of fresh snow!!! OMG what an amazing ski experience.
This is the ONLY choice if you are skiing this mountain. I was shocked when I walked in our room and saw an amazing view of the mountain and that we were right next to the lift. Yes, the rooms are older but we paid a regular hotel weekend rate and were staying SLOPESIDE!!! Beds were EXTREMELY comfortable.
The rec. room was fun for all of us, basketball, ping pong, hot jacuzzi, nice warm pool - again this area is dated but you are not paying for a 5 star resort! - Not even close. That being said - one of my only complaints is that this area closes at 8 pm!!! There is nothing for families to do after 8 except go to bed - that was a BUMMER!!!!! 10 pm closing would do this resort a huge service.
Breakfast - very limited - which is fine - just PLEASE make sure you keep it stocked. Our first day there was nothing left and girl behind counter really didn't seem to care (she is part of the reason for the low service rating). I had to force bagels out of her! A bowl of fresh fruit would also help a lot!!
Tavern- Amazingly talented Jeff Conley entertained us both nights. I would come back here just to listen to him play. Really yummy sandwiches (try the reuben!) and good brews. Very good service both nights. On top of Jeff's awesome music, Saturday night they had fun games (tinfoil hat creations - my hubby won free goggles for his reindeer rendition) with awesome prizes.
Slight adjustment to check in / check out times would be a huge help (5 pm check in and 10 am check out is NOT GOOD). I give a lower rating to service based on they knew we were there at 2 pm and still did not get our room ready till 5 pm on the dot.
Looking forward to coming back next year , will hope we can swim a little later and have some more breakfast!

Room Tip: Be sure to get slope view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MyJob2Plan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bolton Valley
7.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Waterbury Stowe
7.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Waterbury - Stowe
6.0 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#5 of 24 in Stowe
1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
#2 of 12 in South Burlington
664 reviews
8.3 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
17.4 mi away
Capitol Plaza
Capitol Plaza
#2 of 4 in Montpelier
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn Bolton Valley & Ski Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn Bolton Valley & Ski Area

Property: The Inn Bolton Valley & Ski Area
Address: 4302 Bolton Access Road, Bolton Valley, VT 05477
Location: United States > Vermont > Bolton Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Bolton Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn Bolton Valley & Ski Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vermont Skiing and Riding at its best!Bolton Valley Vermont is a unique, high mountain alpine ski village surrounded by over 5,000 pristine acres. At Bolton Valley the recreational opportunities are as numerous as the views are spectacular. In the winter, whether your're interested in skiing or snowboarding, telemark or Nordic, backcountry or night skiing, Bolton Valley has it all in abundance. After your legs have had enough, relax in the Sports Center's jacuzzi, heated pool or warm up in the sauna. Need more activities? Join a basketball game, play tennis, or work out in the exercise center. There is no limit on ways to stay active at Bolton Valley. Great food? We have that too. Want to stay in slope side lodging? Look no further. All lodging, whether it be the Inn accommodations, suites, or condominiums, are all slopeside or within a short walking distance. No cars needed at Bolton Valley, it's all right here. We are family friendly, affordable, and offer loads of fun. Bolton Valley is the place to get away and enjoy the best Vermont has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your The Inn Bolton Valley & Ski Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bolton Valley Hotel Bolton Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing