We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice breakfast/lunch spot!”

Papa Pete's of Bennington
Ranked #8 of 75 Restaurants in Bennington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Cash Only, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Castleton On Hudson, New York
Level Contributor
257 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Nice breakfast/lunch spot!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

Stopped here en route from visiting family in New Hamphsire, on the way home to the Albany area. It was lunchtime but my husband and I were so impressed with the extensive breakfast menu, that we decided to order the 3 egg omelettes where you can mix & match your own three ingredients. Lots of unusual meat, vegie and cheese choices. My husband orered his with mozarella, pesto and mushrooms, and mine was fileld with ricotta, tomoatoes and spinach. Both were very filing. His was a bit oily, but that is the nature of pesto. Toast and home fries made it a substantial meal.

Being a tea drinker, I appreciated that they had given me a small carafe of water so i coudl have more than the one cup.

It's a cute small cafe atmosphere, and we took advantage of looking at the travel brochures and rack cards they had out. The only issue that could be a problem is that they only accept cash. they do have an AM machine on site and I think I heard the waitress say they take checks.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bluesmama11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    37
    11
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Shaftsbury, VT
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Another great find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Had the Lumber Jack Breakfast this morning at Papa Pete's and boy it was good and there was certainly enough food for a lumberjack. Service was outstanding. Prices are great. Nice small cafe atmosphere. Will be back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerville, Ohio
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Worth stopping!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

After reading reviews on Trip Advisor, we decided to go to Papa Pete's on our way through Bennington. We had to wait 20 minutes because the restaurant was so busy, but it was definitely worth the wait! Our omelets were great, the service was fast and friendly, and the prices were very reasonable.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank breadbaker5632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newton ma
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beware ridiculous-sized pancakes”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

We had a fun breakfast at papa Pete's, even with a long wait for our food. Be prepared to go with the flow. But beware the pancakes! The smallest one available is 14" across and comes on a pizza pan with a rolling pizza cutter. It's pretty tasty, but nothing special... except enormous! Who needs that much pancake?

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank esbNewtonMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
48 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We ate breakfast here on our way to Burlington. It was a very friendly, charming place. Food was yummy and plentiful. You will not leave here hungry. My husband and I both has omelets and they were huge. We will definitely eat here again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NyRondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Papa Pete's of Bennington also viewed

Bennington, Green Mountains
 
Bennington, Green Mountains
 

Been to Papa Pete's of Bennington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing