We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for stay in South Vermont”
Review of South Shire Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
South Shire Inn
Ranked #5 of 9 Bennington B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 7, 2013

My boyfriend and I had a great stay. The place was beautiful, very victorian. We stayed in the Gold Room, a very large room with no t.v. (it was actually great not to have one). We were the only ones staying which was fine. The inn keeper was pleasant. Helpful and not intrusive. Breakfast was nice and simple. Overall, if you are in the Bennington Vt area you should check it out.

Room Tip: Ask for Wi-fi if you need it. It is not located in all rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank isabelaustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 54 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2013

After driving some distance, we were about to do the easy thing and check into a Hampton Inn. However, this was a couple of miles out of town and so, luckily, decided to stay in accommodation right in town. This is a Victorian house, decorated and furnished in the same style, with attention to detail, run by a charming woman and her husband, in a quiet street. It was absolutely spotlessly clean and breakfast was delicious. Home-made quiche, with well browned, crunchy toast (at last!) The rate was very good value for money. The owner was knowledgeable about the town and surrounding area and offerred some good sight seeing advise. If I ever returned to this area I wouldn't stay anywhere else. I read some of the "bad" reviews and if the owners are picky about who stay here, then - good - it keeps the standards up!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernie10187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Otto room which was exceptionally large. It had a comfortable canopy bed and fireplace, with a very warm ambiance. The bathroom was also very large with an old style bathtub and separate shower. The bathroom was very modern compared to the look and feel of the room. It was a perfect combination of period furnishing and decoration, and modern comfort. The Inn itself was beautiful. The library included a fireplace and shelves full of board games. The hostess was very helpful.

Room Tip: The walls are thin and we heard practically everything going on in the adjacent room until about 1am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank finefolle13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is one of the nicest b and b's right in town. Rooms are large and pretty well appointed - a refreshing absence of kitsch. They put out sherry in the late afternoon, a nice touch. Breakfasts are hearty; they do their own baking - do it well. Wifi in rooms is strong.

To move up another notch, they should stock down pillows ("some people are allergic to them" is a copout)

Don't know how they come by their price points - seem to be charging unjustifiably near the top of the market. But not much to complain about. Don't expect the hosts to exude warmth, though.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JulesVerne1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed at the South Shire Inn from September 18 through the 23, 2012.
Our room was huge, and we had a canopy bed. The bathroom was also enormous, and I enjoyed a bath every night in the old fashioned tub. The owners were very nice, and have a dry sense of humor. They work hard to make a nice experience for their guests. George cooks the delicious breakfasts every day, and the food is ample and readies you for a day of exploring New England. Sylvester the cat rules the roost but is not allowed in guests rooms, per Joyce's edict that he may affect guests with allergies.
Joyce checks you in, and gives tips for dining locally. There is a big livingroom area downstairs with comfy couches. Parking is on the property. The Inn is so close to the borders of several states, that made it easy to get around. Bennington has an excellent museum. The only reason I marked it Very Good instead of Excellent is that the pillows are just awfully uncomfortable. We would have slept better if the pillows were nice and soft.

Room Tip: We saw several rooms and they are all lovely. My favorite was the Rose Room, with the light green dr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elesem57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Comfy B&B, our room (the Rose room) was a great size and was very comfy. We enjoyed knitting on the porch and in the living room (though it was a little dark inside for knitting).

The breakfast portion of the B&B was okay -- nothing to write home about.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trishfitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

The inn is lovely but not worth the uncomfortable encounters with the inn keepers. I generaly love inns and relish the pride and passion most inn keepers have, the interactions i had with the inn keepers at Southshire Ruined my stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kimpaul22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bennington hotels
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Bennington
Hampton Inn Bennington
#1 of 8 in Bennington
736 reviews
1.5 mi away
Knotty Pine Motel
Knotty Pine Motel
#4 of 8 in Bennington
188 reviews
0.3 mi away
Paradise Inn
Paradise Inn
#5 of 8 in Bennington
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Four Chimneys Inn
Four Chimneys Inn
#1 of 9 in Bennington
219 reviews
0.7 mi away
Safford Mills Inn and Cafe
Safford Mills Inn and Cafe
#2 of 9 in Bennington
47 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bennington Motor Inn
Bennington Motor Inn
#7 of 8 in Bennington
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Shire Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Shire Inn

Address: 124 Elm St, Bennington, VT 05201-2232
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Bennington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Bennington
Price Range: $105 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely Victorian manor and Carriage House within an easy walk of downtown shops and restaurants. Nine spacious rooms all with private bath, many with fireplaces. Full breakfast served in beautiful dining room with original ornate plaster work. Afternoon tea provided in the mahogany paneled library. Close local attractions including the Bennington Museum, Bennington Monument, Clark Art Institute (Williamstown, MA), Oldcastle Theatre, Mount Anthony golf course and weekly Farmer's Market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your South Shire Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing