We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“getting lousier”
Review of Peppermills - CLOSED

Peppermills
Restaurant details
Bennington
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“getting lousier”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

went to peppermills in bennington, vt, on 6-19-13. sat outside. nice area. meal absolutely horrible. chili was a mushy overcooked crock of (I think it was ) beans. partner thought there were no beans in it. my grilled chicken sandwich was tougher than a chicken running at100 mph in the Mojave. have tried again and again to go there, as it is a local restaurant and we want to support the locals. leaving, I asked my partner to repeat to me "no more peppermills" he gladly agreed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank woodski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    13
    9
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
dublin
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Enjoyed lunch”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Stopped at Peppermills on our way through Vermont this past weekend and had an enjoyable lunch on the deck. It was great that we had a sunny afternoon in May to enjoy the deck. It has about 6 tables and it has a fence along the road to protect you from the noise as well as traffic and pedestrians, as well as a stream running along the side away from the building.
Hubby ordered the special burger, jalapeno cheddar burger, and I had the chicken parm sandwich. We both ordered fries as our sides. We both expected the jalapeno cheddar burger to be a cheddar cheese with jalapenos mixed in, however it was very thin slices of cheddar cheese topped with MANY jalapeno slices. Cheddar flavor was lost with the jalapenos. Unfortunate with great Vermont cheddar in the area. My chicken parm was great, and so were the fries.
Unfortunately the service was awful. We were seating quickly, however once we received our meal we were forgotten. We had to find our waiter for our bill, with a LOT of time passing.
We will stop again if in the area, despite the service.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DublinIslanddreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bennington, Vermont
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Boistrus bartender”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The food was average, but the atmosphere was awful with our bartender carring on a loud almost yelling conversation over our heads with the patron seated at a table behind us.!! Terrible behavior. We tried again a few months later because the outside dinning opened. The food was slow in coming and cold when it got to us. We will not be returning.

Helpful?
Thank benningtonbeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great Family Dinner spot”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We held an 80th birthday/60th birthday dinner for my dad & sister-in-law respectively. The Peppermills has an addition that we were able to utilize fully. We had 26 people and it accomodated us very nicely. We had preselected menu items to narrow the choices and everyone was really pleased with their entrees. I had the eggplant rolatine which was excellent. Several people had stuffed flounder which they said was very good. My nephew & Dad thoroughly enjoyed their chicken parmagiana. The staff was so nice & accomodating.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RLOPkgQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vermont
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“One of those institutions you never want to lose.”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Day after day, evening after evening, good food, friendly service, and value. A great, reliable, neighborhood place.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank becil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peppermills also viewed

 
Bennington, Green Mountains
 
Bennington, Green Mountains
Bennington, Green Mountains
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing