We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peace and Quiet in Vermont”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Eddington House Inn
Ranked #2 of 9 Bennington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Rafael, CA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Peace and Quiet in Vermont”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Was very happy that I chose this comfortable and welcoming inn for a one night stay on my way to Rutland from Boston. I am also happy that I chose a place in North Bennington as opposed to right in Bennington. This is a small country town and is actually a great place to stay for side trips throughout the beautiful countryside all around and for all the history in that area. Patti cooks a delicious breakfast and directed me to a really good restaurant, Pangea, right down the street so no driving or parking. At Pangea I ate at the bar and had the best time meeting all the locals who shared the history of the town with me. One of the women had actually owned the Eddington Inn where she raised her family. After an extensive remodel and a divorce, she sold the beautiful property to Patti. I was staying in her daughter's room upstairs with a huge private bath across the hall. I loved the choral chimes playing from the nearby church when the clock struck 7PM. Patti keeps everything spic and span and pleasing to the eye and senses. The gardens all around the inn are beautiful. If you are looking for a true country Vermont experience, I highly recommend Eddington House Inn.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goldengategurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    13
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
31
126
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

What an incredible stay we had at the Eddington House Inn! A very comfortable, beautifully appointed room greeted us. Patti served us delicious breakfasts and even had snacks out for us during the day. She was very knowledgable about North Bennington and Bennington and worked with us each day to plan our outings. The restaurants she suggested were enjoyed by both my wife and myself. This was truly a remarkable getaway which we both needed! Hopefully we will be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam3854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Stayed one night to break up a long drive, and was glad I chose Eddington House. The room I stayed in was clean and comfortable, Patti was an informative and helpful host, breakfast was good, and overall the stay was very pleasant. The inn is within a very short walk to an excellent restaurant (Pangea) (by the way: Pangea has both an upscale dining room and a more informal pub; the pub's food is outstanding and reasonably priced...plus a great beer selection). North Bennington is small and quiet, but also relaxing and charming. All in all a much better experience than a corporate chain hotel, if one needs to stay in the Bennington area for any reason. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjjm18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Dartmouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
119 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Had another most pleasant stay here in July. On all counts that count in B&Bs, the hosts--Patti & Steve--do a superb job: lovely style, attention to detail, immaculate housekeeping, comfort, & warm hospitality--all for reasonable rates. The added big bonus: a great breakfast every time! We look forward to staying again & again, & highly recommend this B&B.

Room Tip: Either of the 2 suites are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jovi1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Konigstein im Taunus, Germany
Level Contributor
291 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed at the Eddington House for two nights and had the most enjoyable time. Patti is a terrific host. Very knowlegeable, fun to talk to and maker of one of the best breakfasts we ever had in an b+b. The house offers only three rooms and these are very nicely decorated.
North Bennington is at the border of Mass, NY and VT, so lots of attractions around, which Patti is able to give you information about. Overall: Eddington House ranks at the top of the many B+Bs we visited.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bcs1309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

We just stayed the one night at Eddington House as we travelling around New England. The house is beautiful and our room was very comfortable. Patti was extremely welcoming and helpful. Her recommendation for our evening meal was great (Pangea) especially as it was just a short distance from the house. It was a very nice touch to have homemade snacks available. Patti was particularly helpful in advising us on what to see in Bennington before we left the area (it is a very interesting and attractive place). We would never have found the 3 covered bridges on our own. I loved the yoghurt with fresh fruit and maple syrup (I bought quite a lot of the local maple syrup to bring home to the UK). I am so glad we stayed at Eddington House and feel we made an a very good choice.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank FranJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two days in July. We were on our honeymoon and staying here was a charm. Patti, the host, made us feel very comfortable and was very welcoming and helpful. Her baking skills are awesome! There is a lot of attention to detail an small little things like snacks all day long, truffles in the room are things we really liked. The room and bathroom were very clean and well kept. We stayed here as a part of the Relax and Unwind package and we recommend it to anyone who visits Bennington.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DhanniShenoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bennington hotels
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Bennington
Hampton Inn Bennington
#1 of 8 in Bennington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
1.0 mi away
Knotty Pine Motel
Knotty Pine Motel
#5 of 8 in Bennington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.2 mi away
Four Chimneys Inn
Four Chimneys Inn
#1 of 9 in Bennington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Paradise Inn
Paradise Inn
#3 of 8 in Bennington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
1.4 mi away
Safford Mills Inn and Cafe
Safford Mills Inn and Cafe
#3 of 9 in Bennington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Bennington
BEST WESTERN Bennington
#2 of 8 in Bennington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eddington House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eddington House Inn

Property: Eddington House Inn
Address: 21 Main St, Bennington, VT 05201-2122
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Bennington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Bennington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Eddington House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1857 Vermont Inn nestled in charming North Bennington Village in scenic Southern Vermont. Crisp, clean light-filled suites. Private baths. Comfortable beds. Scrumptious breakfasts. Endless desserts. Wireless internet. Easy walk to Bennington College, restaurants, hiking, Lake Paran & waterfalls. Museums, Green Mountains, skiing & Vermont Covered Bridges nearby. Bennington’s boutique bed and breakfast is only 3 hours from NYC or Boston. “….probably the best value in all of Vermont.” Fodor’s ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eddington House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing