We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A perfect weekend!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Eddington House Inn
Ranked #3 of 9 Bennington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“A perfect weekend!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

We loved our stay at the Eddington House Inn in Bennington! It was in a great location to walk and drive around to see the beautiful sights of southern Vermont. There are at least three short walks/hikes within walking distance from the inn. It was so wonderful to get up and take a short, beautiful walk before breakfast. Then for the rest of the day we were able to take short drives and see amazingly gorgeous views.
Patti was such a wonderful hostess. We showed up without a plan and she was able to suggest many things to do and see.
Breakfast was so yummy. From baked eggs to french toast casserole, it was so good. Every detail was perfect.
The rooms were very comfortable. They were decorated with simple taste. Small touches that didn't overwhelm the rooms. They were so clean.
The Eddington House made our weekend in Vermont perfect.

Room Tip: We stayed in Susie's Room. The private bathroom is across the hall from the room. It did not b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lexibaby6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    13
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
31
126
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

What a great place! The previous reviews say it all. Patti is a most gracious hostess, and she knows what to do and where to go, all over Vermont! We had a room with a beautiful four poster bed, a separate sitting room, and a spacious bathroom. (The Fair Suite).
Patti guides visitors to the two restaurants just steps away from the inn. So convenient! We had fun and feel like we've made a new friend. And speaking of friends, we met people from all over the world at the inn. That was wonderful, too.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ExTeach48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
158 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

My wife and I visited the Eddington House Sept. 2012 on a week long Vermont / New Hampshire tour. Patti is great! We can't say enough about how friendly Patti (fondly self proclaimed as Mary Poppins) is. She catered to our every need as plan during our scheduling, went over and above for things to see and do in the are as well as made all of the other guests get into a merry caht about themselves and travels. We met a coupole from France, Texas and England all in the one short overnight stay. It was great and I highly recommend a stay with Patti. By the way her little sweet nibblies are addictive I'm told so for the sweet tooth beware.

Room Tip: Our room was very spacious with a private bath and nice sitting room with a fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pdamac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vineyard Haven, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

My son and I stayed at the Eddington House while in the area visiting Bennington College. The house itself is lovely, the rooms were very comfortable, the bathroom our rooms shared was up-to-date and spotless and Patti was a wonderful hostess. From a great dinner recommendation, to helping me find a nice route for my morning run, to heading us in the right direction when we were ready to visit the college, she was very helpful and attentive. She is also a marvelous cook... our breakfast was delicious! This is a spot I would happily return to.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank EstabieMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

Our first trip to Vermont brought us to a 3 night visit in North Bennington at the charming Eddington House. A beautifully restored Vermont country home, Patty is an excellent host, chef and tour guide.Just three guest rooms make for a cozy light-filled space which felt clean,cheery and welcoming. The yard and garden invited us to sit and rest a spell on the perfectly placed adirondack chairs. Cyclists, we brought our own road bikes and made it up the challenging hills of the town and nearby countryside. On our second full day we explored the greater Vermont countryside visiting Calvin Coolidges home site, the Vermont Country as well as a great trip to the awesome independent bookstore Northshire Books in Hanover.
Patty provided lots of options, Vermont provided the scenery and we just sat back and enjoyed it all.
We highly recommend for a three day stay!

Room Tip: First floor Village suite would be awesome if you had limited physical abilities.Large and sunny too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Blanc, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

A very attractive historic building, totally upgraded. Room was large and comfortable, wing chairs, desk provided, all the best for travelers. Really enjoyed sitting in the adirondack chairs, surrounded by a picket fence - rural right in the heart of the town. The sweets provided and the excellent breakfast were much appreciated, as well as advise on restaurants and the area and conversations with our hostess, Patti.
Sisters from Michigan

Room Tip: Susie's Room had a large private bath, but across the hall. It turned out to be not an issue at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JayneLarion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honeoye Falls, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

This B&B was very charming and clean, with delicious breakfasts and 24-hour sweets. Patti, having lived in the area her whole life, was a tremendous help in every aspect of our trip, suggesting bike routes, hikes, unique stores, etc. She was friendly and informative, and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ptpt_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bennington hotels
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Bennington
Hampton Inn Bennington
#1 of 8 in Bennington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
1.0 mi away
Knotty Pine Motel
Knotty Pine Motel
#5 of 8 in Bennington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.2 mi away
Four Chimneys Inn
Four Chimneys Inn
#1 of 9 in Bennington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Paradise Inn
Paradise Inn
#3 of 8 in Bennington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
1.4 mi away
Safford Mills Inn and Cafe
Safford Mills Inn and Cafe
#2 of 9 in Bennington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Bennington
BEST WESTERN Bennington
#2 of 8 in Bennington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eddington House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eddington House Inn

Property: Eddington House Inn
Address: 21 Main St, Bennington, VT 05201-2122
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Bennington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Bennington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Eddington House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1857 Vermont Inn nestled in charming North Bennington Village in scenic Southern Vermont. Crisp, clean light-filled suites. Private baths. Comfortable beds. Scrumptious breakfasts. Endless desserts. Wireless internet. Easy walk to Bennington College, restaurants, hiking, Lake Paran & waterfalls. Museums, Green Mountains, skiing & Vermont Covered Bridges nearby. Bennington’s boutique bed and breakfast is only 3 hours from NYC or Boston. “….probably the best value in all of Vermont.” Fodor’s ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eddington House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing