We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stick with the burgers!”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Pangaea

Pangaea
Ranked #14 of 75 Restaurants in Bennington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $29
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Pangaea is focused on creating an amazing dining experience using the most locally sourced food possible combined with an atmosphere that is very welcoming. You will be able to find food inspired from around the world here at Pangaea.
Cambridge, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stick with the burgers!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

We had family visiting for Thanksgiving and took them here because it was near their hotel. Wish we hadn't. Like most people, we ate in the lounge because the formal dining room is so over-priced. The menu looks great--very eclectic. But execution was a big disappointment. One of us had a cashew-crusted mahi mahi. The fish looked like it had spent a year in the freezer, or maybe it was just overcooked. Another had "stir-fried beef with noodles," but the sauce was thick as molasses (looked like molasses) and almost in-edibly sweet. I had an interesting "spring roll salad," which was a deconstructed spring roll with red leaf lettuce wrapped in rice paper. But my "pulled pork tacos" were overstuffed and dripping with grease. The guacamole on the side looked like it was a couple days old. Ravioli with house marinara sauce got a good report (way too much sauce, though) as did the burger. The wines by the glass--we tried sauvignon blanc and a pinot noir--we terrific. Service was pleasant and efficient enough.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ed B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    30
    9
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Branford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
98 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“2 sides”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

The Pangaea has 2 sides 1 side fine dinning the 2nd side the lounge. We went to the fine dinning side wed. 9/18/13 and were seated by our waiter George. We were not that hungry so we just got appetizers and a bottle of wine. First came out a free taste of mahi mahi that was very very good. I started with the diver Scallops with hen of the wood mushrooms out of sight. Next came out a taste of spring roll with hen of the wood and shitake mushrooms in it. I had double order of the seared venison tenderloin with chevre agnolotti and port wine fig sauce delicious. Diane ordered the Vermont boar and brie Wellington excellent. After dinner it was a short walk back to the Eddington house our B&B for the night.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank George N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beyond Fabulous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We ate at Pangaea this past Saturday evening and it was absolutely delightful. There was no shrimp with pappardelle or hake on the menu. (Perhaps the previous reviewer was at the Lounge?)

George's service was perfect - attentive without being intrusive, but it was the food that was absolutely exquisite.

We began with a split of Veuve Clicquot and then by sharing the starter of wild mushroom strudel with truffle beure blanc sauce, but it was so delicious that we then went on to share the starter of scallop and hen of the woods mushroom tarte with vanilla sabayon sauce before proceeding to the unusually creative salad and then the braised salmon medallions napoleon on a bed of micro greens with paper thin onions and a mustard sauce on the side. Everything perfectly cooked and all the elements perfectly complementary.

And as described by our server, the chocolate cake with chocolate mousse filling was a delightful complement to the concluding glass of pinot noir.

We cannot recommend Pangaea highly enough! This restaurant is on a par with the best. I enjoyed the food here more than I did at Bouley in NYC.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank elevenx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Odd menu with so-so food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Went on Sat. Night for dinner with my husband and 9 year old. Odd place. Menu has no real consistency, and no children's options. I got shrimp with pappardelle. Would have been good except they added balsamic vinegar for no apparent reason, which spoiled the taste. My husband had the Hake special, which looked beautiful, but had odd texture and unclear taste combination. My daughter had little options. Ended up with mushroom risotto, which was too al dente. The mixed drinks were food, but wish we'd tried Kevin's down the street!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank K R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“GREAT!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Great Place with awesome staff! The outdoor seating is beautiful and very relaxing! The spicy thai peanut sauce is delicious and a big favorite.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Trentonendres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pangaea also viewed

Bennington, Green Mountains
Bennington, Green Mountains
 

Been to Pangaea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing